Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Dave's Garden

Dave's Garden reviews

Is this your business?
14 reviews
909 N. Sepulveda Blvd., 11th Floor
El Segundo, CA 90245, US
melody@davesgarden.com

14 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

maryt409
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/11/19

Unfriendly, combative and discriminatory community. Gee, I thought plant people are nice people! You can't delete your account. Watch *carefully* what type info you provide, it may stay there forever.

keithj93
1 review
8 helpful votes
5/23/18

Ordered product on Monday and paid $ 22.95 to get it by Wednesday AM. Got tracking from Fed-Ex and anticipated delivery was for Thursday by 8:00 PM. I passed up other companies for dollars less that I could have got product 30% less by Thursday. I should have researched and found out that this company is notorious for this scam. BUYER BEWARE. There are better deals out there for way less and you can get it in the same time frame. Take a few minutes of research and save more than a few bucks. Trust me.

paulaf66
1 review
7 helpful votes
5/23/18

Dave's Garden was my go-to website for info, plant info and availability,articles and nursery reviews.
It's almost impossible to navigate since the recent reformatting. Ads block content and pop-ups are annoying. Are they trying to lose followers?

tonyh109
1 review
7 helpful votes
9/27/17

Won't let me sign up for plants trading
.Won't let me email
Mobile unfriendly. If they get their act together please email mr @ luxifertruxgreyhound@gmail.com

bonsaiboyb
1 review
18 helpful votes
6/28/17

What a subscription hungry grumpy old Lady's club (male and female) this site has been become. Nothing like it used to be. Smartassy, unwelcoming comments by the mostly clueless self important and power-tipping admins. The database is still somewhat valid and usable, but a subscription is way more trouble than it's worth.
Once you sign up, account can't be deleted. Kind of creepy for modern days.

micheleb53
2 reviews
16 helpful votes
3/23/17

Site uses robots hooked to competitor commercial account enrollees. Never sign up- there's no way out. Site is considered "blacklisted" for user friendliness due to lack of facilities for editing one's own account.

ravenh4
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/29/17

Got my order promptly..but they didnt even get my name right!! It came to Anita HARVEY..my last name is HARDY!!!! As I ordered from them last year, and recieve catalogs, with the correct name.
You would think this wouldnt be a problem

peterj69
2 reviews
12 helpful votes
6/6/15

This is primarily a website for Americans and Canadians. This is important to remember if you come from the UK, because some plants which thrive in the US don't like our dull wet climate.
But it's great to write about your gardening experiences and get it published, upload photos etc It's very well organised and the people who run it are very helpful.

aarone12
1 review
16 helpful votes
1/28/15

STAY AWAY!!! MANY OF THE REVIEWS ARE FAKE/BOUGHT ON FIVERR. THE SITE ADMINISTRATORS DO NOT KNOW HOW TO MONITOR THEIR REVIEWERS SO JUST ABOUT EVERYTHING YOU READ IS BOGUS.

donnya4
1 review
19 helpful votes
1/24/14

Back in the day, this was the cat's pajamas for plant info, with their extensive database. That's still there, but the wind has gone out of the sails for this website. The site administrators have an adversarial relationship with their subscribers for some reason, and people are leaving for greener pastures. You have to be careful what you post there - if they decide they don't like it, they will remove your post or kick you off the site entirely. (I am not talking about inappropriate postings, just something that they perceive as critical to their administration.) There are other sites that are a lot more dynamic and friendly to choose from. I will probably continue to consult their database, but no longer as a paid subscriber.

debm8
3 reviews
22 helpful votes
1/6/14

This used to be a very friendly and informative website. Not so anymore. The current management rules the site with an iron fist, banning those who disagree or question policies with no advance notice or recourse. Whether you are looking for a regional or plant-specific gardening website, there are plenty others that allow respectful discussions in an adult fashion. Stay away from this one.

milesc14
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
7/12/13

I've been an avid gardener for years and always use David's Garden when ever there is something I can't figure out. There are a ton of resources available and friendly ears to listen to my plant problems.

maryw34
9 reviews
8 helpful votes
11/29/12

Daves Garden is an excellent gardening forum for beginners and advanced people looking for information. Reviewed by http://www.tropicalrareseeds.com

cs5
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/18/10

On of My Favorite Sites!
Dave's Garden, affectionately known as DG to members, originally carried the label "by gardeners, for gardeners". It has a wealth of information about gardening and a host of other topics. Member benefits include: an expansive plant database, insect database, 100's of discussion forums, member led plant purchasing co-ops, plant and seed trading, the Garden Watchdog (member ratings and comments on nurseries and plant suppliers), garden journals, garden blogs, and much, much more. It's a friendly site where members can talk one on one with admins to ask questions and resolve problems. Site members are among the friendliest and most helpful you will find anywhere.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Click on each of the categories at this link - https://davesgarden.com/contest/2017-dg-photo-contest/index.php The administrators of this website don't seem to have much interest in administering and promoting their photo contest. Entries have dropped from 1,550 in 2014, down to only 460 for the 2017 contest, and emails and queries to the site don't seem to generate any replies.

By Bud S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Dave's Garden staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Dave's Garden?
Post Review