Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of BoxHop

BoxHop reviews

20 reviews
SITE CLOSED
292 Madison Avenue, 5th Floor
New York, NY 10017, US
Tel: +1-415-520-3420
help@boxhop.com

20 Reviews From Our Community

Service
4
Value
4
Shipping
4
Returns
4
Quality
4

All Reviews

khalidi1
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/21/16

I did over 10 shipments with BoxHop and they were fantastic, they were responsive and quick, and their prices were absolutely unbeatable.
I have enjoyed my time with BoxHop, but my last shipment with them, which is the most expensive, worth up to $230, is still stuck at their warehouse (or lost, God forbid). The website was glitchy, then fixed but soon closed with a thanks, goodbye letter.
They gave me a DHL tracking number for this shipment 9 days ago, but after contacting DHL, today I found out that they did not even handover the shipment to DHL yet, which is suspicious if you ask me...
Moreover, I'm considering legal action but recalling all the good service I received from them, I wouldn't mind allowing a more couple of days.

katiet20
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/2/16

My item was delivered by UPS to my BoxHop address on 11 January 2016. I received an email from BoxHop confirming this, asking for payment to ship to the UK and then told the item was on it's way. It's now 2 February, I have contacted BoxHop many times, received a 'we're looking into it email' and now nothing. Today I go on to the website and it's just a message saying as in the email we sent we have ceased trading. I didn't receive an email!!!! I've got a package worth over $100 for my God-daughter's birthday out there somewhere and no way of knowing what they did with it! It's a disgrace that they can do this.

ahmadf8
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/24/16

Okay, so I see a lot of negative reviews here for BoxHop. But in all honesty, I would like to give this company credit for being fantastic when I first joined them about 8 months ago. My items were shipped promptly and packaged very well. More importantly, using a VIP membership, their rates were fantastic and could not be beat by any other competitor.

Most of the times I made an order, I found it was charged basis the actual weight of product rather than dimensional weight which, in most cases, gives double or triple the weight of the original product, thus incurring a much higher shipping cost.

I have found most other package forwarding services charge basis dimensional weight rather than actual weight, and I have found their prices to be much higher than BoxHop's.

I've only had two incidents with Boxhop, where I shipped something with very large dimensions, thus incurred a much higher cost than expected, and one of my shipments was lost, but then they found it like 2-3 weeks later. These two incidents were pretty recent and I attribute this to the fact the company is closing its doors by end of Jan 2016. I assume incidents of this type would occur given that they are in the process of closing down.
Of course, the fact that they are closing down probably would be an indicator that there were problems, maybe financial, administrative, etc. Their website did have a lot of glitches and at many times was unresponsive. But I must say I did thoroughly benefit from their service.
Question now is, I would like to use another provider with good service and competitive rates. I've checked Stackry's, used their calculator tool to provide an example shipment, but was discouraged by the cost result.
Does anyone know of a provider that uses actual weight for calculations rather than dimensional weight?

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
hinoz
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/21/16

At first, the company worked really well. My packages got to me undamaged and well wrapped. However, the last shipment was unorganized, and the books contained within it were damaged because they were left without packaging. Lately, they lost one of my items - I even checked the tracking # on USPS which showed that it was delivered and received by BoxHop - and they have been ignoring my emails and requests to find it for a month now. Even when I requested to release my shipment, they haven't processed it for a week now. I'm not sure if they are running a sham, but the way they went radio-silent is very unnerving and concerning, I'm seriously afraid all the items I bought and all the money I put into this was gone to waste.

ahmede19
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/10/15

Unfortunately I shipped 3 packages from AMAZON; two packages processed; and third not till now for more than 7 days. And When I communicate with them no response and once they replied ; they said we'll update you shortly, I told them to give me estimated time with no response at all.

Also They deducted the two packages fees twice, I don't know if it's bank issue or their problem. With my experience with them; they can do it.

Don't even try to use them .. They are the worst company I see

To: help@boxhop.com
Subject: RE: A New Package Has Arrived! [ ref:_00D309tI._50060uaNt8:ref ]
Date: Wed, 9 Dec 2015 08:51:07 +0000

HI team;

Please let me know if you missed last package or how much time my last package process will take? I need to ship the other packages.

Your response is strange for me really

> Date: Tue, 8 Dec 2015 15:42:31 +0000
> From: help@boxhop.com

> Subject: RE: A New Package Has Arrived! [ ref:_00D309tI._50060uaNt8:ref ]
>
> Hi Ahmed,
> Thank you for contacting BoxHop.
> Thank you for your patience. We are working with our warehouse team to process your package. We will provide you with an update shortly.
>
> Best Regards,
> The BoxHop Team
> --------------- Original Message ---------------

> Sent: 12/8/2015 10:24 AM
> To: help@boxhop.com
> Subject: RE: A New Package Has Arrived! [ ]
>
> This is not acceptable at all ignoring our mails and package not released yet .. Release or say it's missed
>
> ________________________________
>
> To: help@boxhop.com
> Subject: RE: A New Package Has Arrived! [ ]
> Date: Tue, 8 Dec 2015 06:14:26 +0000
>
> Team;
>
> Any update here?
>
>

>
>
>
> ________________________________

> To: help@boxhop.com
> Subject: RE: A New Package Has Arrived! [ ]
> Date: Mon, 7 Dec 2015 09:04:52 +0000
>
> Hi Team;
>
> I know that package reached since 5 days; but not processed. Anyway check attached invoices. The strange thing that my account is premium; so what about other account classes?
>

>
>
>
> > Date: Mon, 7 Dec 2015 08:05:31 +0000
> > From: help@boxhop.com

> > Subject: RE: FW: A New Package Has Arrived! [ ]
> >
> > Hi Ahmed,
> >
> > Thank you for contacting BoxHop.
> >
> > We have reviewed your account and can confirm that your package tracking number was delivered at the warehouse. We have reached out to our warehouse team to confirm the status of your package. Can you please reply back directly to this email and provide a copy of the order confirmation for package tracking number 1Z1384770302235950 which shows more details for the items in your package, (merchant, items, colors...etc.) to help us match it to your Suite.
> >
> > Best Regards,
> >
> > The BoxHop Team
> >
> > --------------- Original Message ---------------

> > Sent: 12/5/2015 7:45 AM
> > To: help@boxhop.com
> > Subject: FW: A New Package Has Arrived!
> >
> > Hi team,
> >
> > 3 days and till now my package not processed, can I know what is the estimated time?
> >
> > My previous packages proceed on the same day but this now not yet, I don't like this delay really ...
> >
> > ________________________________
> > Date: Thu, 3 Dec 2015 17:36:52 +0000
> > From: noreply@boxhop.com

> > Subject: A New Package Has Arrived!
> >
> > [BoxHop] <http://www.boxhop.com>
> > You Have a New Package!
> > Dear Ahmed,
> >
> > Great news! We have received a package for you via UPS (tracking number 1Z1384770302235950).
> >
> > We will notify you when your package has been processed. You can then log in to your BoxHop account and set up your international shipment.
> >
> > Log in to BoxHop<https://www.boxhop.com/login>
> >
> > Thank you for using BoxHop! If you have any questions, please email help@boxhop.com<mailto:help@boxhop.com>
> >
> > Regards,
> > The BoxHop Team

laurar69
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/8/15

I signed up for a free account last year in order to obtain a US mailing address and have my purchases shipped internationally. Only used their services once. And now, a year later I was surprised to find a charge on my credit card for $50 USD for a supposed "premium membership". I immediately contacted their customer service and was told their "terms and conditions" specified I would be charged for renewal. No refunds. Period. Very abusive practice. I trusted them with my credit card info and with no warning I was charged for a service I don't even use or need. An email to "remind" me of this dubious charge a few days before would have been appreciated so I would have had a chance to cancel. BE WARNED BEFORE SIGNING UP AND HANDING OVER YOUR CREDIT CARD INFO

alexandrus1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
11/19/15

If you ever consider using their services please do yourself a service and multiply by two whatever estimate they show you... That's what they will charge you! If you don't like it... they will charge you more cause now they "handled" your box...

ireneg18
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
11/11/15

Do not trust their shipping estimate!

My parcel was estimated at USD47 but my shocking final bill came to USD 102!!! As they had my charge card details at checkout so they just happily charged it without asking me, the customer, if I am willing to pay a shipping amount that an increase of 117% from the original estimate. No courtesy emails when they noticed such a huge difference.

They are so impersonal that throughout our communications via emails their standard reply is 'please refer to section 6 of our terms and conditions', I feel like I am writing to a robot.

Well final conclusion, this company do not value customers they are just money grabbers so beware all present & future BoxHop users, use them at your own risk as they will always back themselves up with their 'terms and conditions'.

ahmeds44
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/4/15

I've used this site only for one time and it was the last, they are very slow in registering the shipments and in replying to my requests.

jc163
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/23/15

I wish I had read the reviews before jumping into using Boxhop. The site looked impressive, easy to use and shipping estimates seemed reasonable. However when the products actually arrived on their end, the shipping charges suddenly became ridiculous - most of the time worked out to more than the actual items itself. My first shipment arrived in a totally shocking state - I bought a coat stand from CB2 and one of the legs was completely protruding out of the box (the box was actually smaller than the item so it wasn't like the box broke, but they just packed the box around this leg which was sticking out!! completely ridiclous). Needless to say the metal leg was so badly scratched by the time it arrived.

I'm now trying to get them to return the outstanding items that's sitting with them to the merchant but even just getting this returned to CB2 which is in California costs more or less the same as getting the items shipped to me in Hong Kong! Infuriating. Never using them again and I suggest anyone who is considering using a freight forwarder to stay away from these guys.

ahmadk5
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/5/15

When i first checked BoxHop website it was pretty impressive, which made me signup and pay the monthly fees for the first month just to try them.

On the next day I shipped some items just to try how it will go. Unfortunately, right after the shipment dispatched from the seller i wanted to login into my account but it wouldn't let me, asking me to "finish the registration" which i had no option but to click on the confirmation link again and i found that they charged another $7 and still no access to my suite.

I contacted them several times via email and online contact form. two days later i received this foolish reply: We apologize for any confusion over the recent charge of $7.00 to your account. Our records indicate that these charges are your monthly membership fees.

I replied them with the transaction IDs from PayPal and explained to them that i have a shipment arriving to my suite, so far two days and no reply from them!!

Right not i'm just waiting for their customer service reply to re-open my account to avoid the loss of my shipment.

I'm so over them and would never recommend them to anyone. will file a complain to PayPal too.

If anyone has their contact number, please share it with me.

Thanks everyone.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
bobm99
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
7/17/15

Their website looks nice.
If only there was a functioning operation behind it.
Having gone through more than five shippers, I would say this one is the worst.

Response from Kimberly M., BoxHop Representative
Hello Bob M., We appreciate your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience caused. We would like to look into any issues that you may have had with our services. So that we are able to better assist you and improve the customer experience please email us at boxhopfeedback@gmail.com. A member of our management team will review your inquiry and get back to you. Thank you, Kimberly M.
alvinc25
1 review
7 helpful votes
7/14/15

Got attracted to reasonable price. I even forgive their dumb interfaces and snail pace customer response - perhaps this push the cost down but when they decide to flex their so called expertise in shipping censorship, it really makes your blood boils.

Baby monitor with night vision function was classified as tactical equipment so they refused shipment. At the end of the day, they charge me for the slow domestic shipping to another freight forwarder who will ship it.

Their customer representative cannot take criticism of any sort, all in all this site is destined to fail and why an earth does Mastercard still doing promotion for them.

zahrah1
4 reviews
18 helpful votes
6/3/15

Pros:
- very cool looking website
- low shipping cost
- quick delivery

Cons:
- Extremely slow customer response
- dumb and stupid customer reps
- lousy dashboard (too many buttons that do nothing!)
- No contact number - I had to investigate into this and then found one thank fully
- No way to mark an item as gift or do away with packaging... (Hence have to pay very hefty customs duty)
- Mistakenly Adds packages more than once in the system
- Charged my card twice for a payment (thankfully reimbursed it too)

Verdict:
Dont even think about testing them! Park your items elsewhere... but not with them or Viabox
-

Tip for consumers: Never ship from them... if you do and are stuck, ask me for their contact number.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
gerryc11
1 review
9 helpful votes
5/17/15

BoxHop went out of business as of 1st Jan 2016

erfanas
7 reviews
6 helpful votes
2/20/15

Hi,
This is an updated post to share my experience with Boxhop after using their service 6 times .I use Boxhop to ship around 20lb(volumetric) items together . At first when I started working with them their rate and service was ok. But as time passes they started charging me a lot more than expected by overweighing my items .
Last time my volumetric weight was 22 lb but they showed that my actual weight is 44 lb which is higher than volumetric weight and charged me 258usd for 44lb .But according to my experience it's not possible unless I ship heavyweight small stones , as the volumetric weight is just half of the actual weight. Generally volumetric weight is higher than actual weight.
They took 17 days(on the site they claim 24 to 48 hours !! In my case I started calling them every day after 10th day is passed and at the end they could make it on 17th day) to do a shipment after I place the order and they used some lousy DHL plan to reduce their cost which took 10 days to reach me + 5 days for customs clearance(which is not their responsibility I know) so it took me 32 days to get my products after I placed order !!
In many of my shipments a large number of products were lost , some products were broken and few times the liquid bottle was broken hence ruining many other products.
The website provides worst user experience . If for any reason the credit card transaction fails , there is no way to retry , you have to call them(it's a rare case they will receive the phone after u try 10 times ) then they will do the transaction and being in different time zones, another day is wasted!
They restrict almost all the items I guess !! I can understand they can't ship perfume that's fine , but eyelash , makeup brush , small perfume sample ,moisturizer , cream etc are also restricted .You will only find it when u buy the item and it reach them then they will mention it's restricted and u have no other way except discarding it. Because returning the item will be charged 20usd+ return by them. According to them the items like moisturizer/cream which contains slightest amount of witch hazel/ alcohol are prohibited by DHL , though I have shipped the same items by DHL through other forwarding services. You can ask them beforehand if the item is allowed , but they will take so long to reply that ull lose interest to buy the item :p
They are extremely slow in replying any message therefore have to make international phone calls more than 10 times a month and it takes around 20-30 mins each time to resolve the issues.
They don't allow you to declare value , therefore I started bringing items as gift , suddenly they started putting value for the items that I brought as gift .They removed the values they put only when I called them and had a long chat regarding it!! You have to put price for all the items even if it's free sample. I don't have any problem to admit that yes I would like to lower the value of the item that I buy , that's none of anyone's business(as long as I can resolve the customs issue in my country) and they should not have any problem as they will only pay me the declared value in case of insurance claim. Oh another point they have extra insurance charge on top of shipping cost depending on declared value.
So I have calculated the entire process and found out that though the price seems low at first it is almost same as any other shipping forwarding agency who charges higher.

clairem19
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
1/30/15

The positives are that you can purchase from some sites that won't ship to Australia. Also the first time I used it the parcel arrived promptly and in good condition. The second time I ordered two separate items. When the first item arrived in my BoxHop suite I went on their website to check how I could consolidate both orders. It clearly stated that I had to crate a shipping order and then send their email confirmation to them with a note saying I wanted to consolidate. I did this and clearly stated I had a separate order yet to arrive which I wanted to consolidate. Instead they shipped the first order and charged me. I am now up for much more in postal costs to send the second order separately. Not happy with their inaccurate/confusing website instructions.

walterp18
1 review
9 helpful votes
1/8/15

Total disaster that costed me a lot of money.
Everything seemed fine until I tried to ship items that arrived to BoxHop. This suppose to be done via web, but the page where you create a shipping order doesn't work.
It took days for the help-desk to respond. The response was never complete (or it claimed that the page is now fixed), and it required follow up so the communication was literary dragged back and forth for few weeks. There is no published customer service phone number, so you can't call them. In the end, I had to abandon my items worth over 3000 USD. This business won't survive long, as after this shopping season negative reviews about them are all over the web.

Tip for consumers: Stay away

youssefj2
1 review
8 helpful votes
12/22/14

Not one of the worst companies; it is the one and only worst company in this world.

Plz do not let them deceive you. the company is really bad.

abdulaziza3
1 review
13 helpful votes
12/13/14

Hi ,

For these who didn't know what is this website about, I tell you it is a freight forwarder company.

Firstly ,It's my first time and the last time to ship with this company, I got so excited at the first because their discount,services and the most is their offer of getting 1 year platinum plane for free, if you already one of the ADSLgate member, but when I try them I instantly got disappointed .

So, let me tell you how many problems I found with this company .

I have order a three items from Amazon :
1- Galaxy Note 4
2- Battery recharge for Note 4
3- Battery for Note

All these items came to My BoxHop suite in Dec.03

The mobile and the battery came in a package and the charger in other package but its all in the same day !. In Dec.05 they set one item in my suite and told me that it's need a declare value, I immediately go to my suite and put the price and I upload a picture of the invoice from my account in Amazon . And this take a full day to for conformation ( Until now I can't do anything till they complete their conformation for the price ) .

After that, they send me an E-mail say's that my shipment need even a review because I have a prohibit item - the battery - the review take about 2 days( Still I can't do anything till they complete their research ) . After that they give me two options for the shipment :
1- Send it to another US address .
2- Discard the prohibit item .

I said no problem I will send it to another address, when I choose that option I found the fees like that : Domestic shipping fee = $15 , Domestic handling fee = $15

That's really make me laugh, because the prohibit item cost all $29.99 that means it's shipping cost it's price !, I said no problem discard the item but please give the phone as hurry as you can ! .

Finally, When I discard the prohibit item I see " Create My Shipment" button and I have complete all the steps carefully and in the last step their website hang on the loading page ( Oh God help me ) , don't tell me that is may be the some problems on your browser or something, I have try more than 4 browsers and computers and there is nothing may done I haven't do it .

For that, I have E-mail them again more than 10 times and opening more than 5 complain cases and they still don't want to understand my problem , all their replays was talking about solutions that not solve my problems like " do discard for the prohibit item then create your ..." .

In Dec.08 , They send me an E-mail of arriving my second package ( the charger ) which is arrive them in real in Dec.03 , they take 5 days only to set the package in my suite !!. and sure until now Dec.18 it's in the their researching :( .

I have E-mail them more and more again , finally they said " We are sorry about the problem that happen to you and we will go a head and ship it for you manually, send us the information" I was really happy they finally figure out my problem but my happiness didn't last long, I have reply on their e-mail and 5 days without answer !!, After that I have warning them that I am going to find a way to complain on their company, but they still saying you have a problems!! and this time they said " your address wrong " and the thing which make me laugh that I have already dealing with 5 fright forward company with the same address without any problems .

As always there is no way to reply on them because they will not reply on an opened cases !.
I really lost my hope on them , until now Dec.18, I still I can't do anything for my shipment .

#UPDATE
They finally admit the problem and they turned all my shipment into prohibited items , I don't know why they do that , But I have take the advantege and ship it all domestically . In there program , it's take from me $60 , ($15 for handling + $15 for shipping) x2 because two shipments .Seriously , that too high for a domestical shipping , but I am so tried of them and pay it .

The shipment take around 5-7 days to arrive my second forwarder company , after that I finally ship it to my country .

Afterward, I try to contacting them about the $60, I say that you ship to me as a one shipment and take from me price as a two shipments ???

The unexpected they reply on me after two days and say " we are sorry we will refund you a $30 " . Actually this thing reduce my anger .

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the BoxHop staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

2 Photos for BoxHop

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
BoxHop?
Post Review