Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Farecast

Farecast reviews

Is this your business?
11 reviews
98052

11 reviews with 2 stars

quentinl19
4 reviews
11 helpful votes
9/28/18

I don't know what exactly is wrong with this website, but it does not seem that appealing to me. That too their competitor being Google, I guess its a long way to go

faed
fae d.
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/12/17

I tried to use bing for awhile because i heard about the rewards points thing and the homepage seemed nice, but i search a lot, and every single time i would compare with google to see if i really couldnt find the stuff i wanted to find. google ALWAYS gave me what i wanted and bing was just super unreliable. having safe search on was too limiting, and then taking it off let in TOO MUCH porn even for things that werent always sex related. the only thing i did thing was cool was if you search for gifs you can just hover over them to see them move without clicking them. but it wasnt worth the fact that google will give me the gif i want faster.

treyb14
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
3/18/17

This may be a good search engine, I`m not really sure, we definitely have better ones, if you know what it mean. But the "download and install everywhere" feature which makes me recheck every installation multiple times now - is quite annoying, the plugins and other additional things are quite hard to delete afterwards

chrissya1
17 reviews
4 helpful votes
7/1/15

I believe google has more searches and links to whatever it is you are looking for.... Bibg is cool but their sea engine meeds more links n answers!

marieat
3 reviews
15 helpful votes
11/4/14

I'm not a fan of it. The main thing that turned me off is their search engine. It makes decisions that I just don't like. Google never did me wrong.

gibbyg
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/1/14

I alternate between Carrot2 and Bing. Carrot2 is amazing. I can find anything I need to. But if I go to Bing and enter the exact same search terms that yield so much on Carrot2, I usually cannot find any of the results Carrot2 generates. If I want a specific page I've located with Carrot2 and I try to find on Bing, it is impossible. It just makes me realize how the big search engines "dumb" down the internet. Pathetic, really. I feel sorry for people who try to accomplish anything using Bing.

xavierm
6 reviews
13 helpful votes
9/4/11

Not really recommended. Don't get me wrong, I am a Microsoft kiddie as my working life depends on it but it is not very good.

The UI is overcompled, and yes I know that Google patented their simple UI so it can't be copied, but still relevancy is not too good.

And I hate the fact that other MS sites include some content on purpose that links directly to searches. If I wanted to run a search, I would Google it instead of opening a list of links that don't really have what I want.

Meh...

waylands
32 reviews
268 helpful votes
8/3/11

I'm not a fan of it. The main thing that turned me off is their search engine. It makes decisions that I just don't like. Google never did me wrong.

privaten
13 reviews
49 helpful votes
10/29/10

It was a good idea... on paper. In all reality (not Microsoft's) it is very disappointing. I do find the home page facts to be interesting and the layout is simple. The main problem I have is with the searches itself. The premise is that it learns from what you search and tries to personalize your searches to more effective things that you can learn. In my time with bing, my searches never changed or adapted,and the results were always less than googles or even yahoo. The searches would sometimes be a little more detailed and in perspective than some google searches, but all in all, the major results were the same, but in a lesser quantity. Overall, its ok. For a search engine, its subpar, but a "Decision engine," it is not. I binged and decided that google is still the safest bet for a good search. Happy Searching!

julianas
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/28/09

Had a problem. Sent lots of emails. They finally straightened it ot. Said company I made puchase from was pushing through the cashback.

sergiom1
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/5/09

This is a review of Bing Travel, which was previously Farecast. Since the Microsoft takeover the site homepage has become cluttered with ads and poor organization of boxes. It also seems that the algorithm used to predict prices is off. I subscribed for daily price updates for a flight from LAX to HNL. It started at $465 and each e-mail had the tip saying "wait." Two weeks and $200 higher it said "buy" since the fare was "predicted to rise." Thanks for the tip.

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the Farecast staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Farecast?
Post Review