Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of B&H Photo Video

B&H Photo Video reviews

1,289 reviews
420 9th Ave.
New York, NY 10001
Tel: 1-800-606-6969
2017 Customer choice award

34 reviews with 1 star

barryh50
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/6/17

I live in Australia and I have tried to return a Western Digital Hard drive that was faulty from day one. The UPS service employed by B&H will not take the drive and return it to B&H because of a UPS policy, thus rendering B&H returns policy useless. I have made B&H aware but they have taken no action. OVERSEAS PURCHASERS LOOK ELSEWHERE.

Advertisement
williamr178
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/1/17

Website always easy to navigate and simple to use. Easy checkout. Products live up to expectations.

stevel164
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/2/17

Two weeks ago I loved B&H and spent thousands of dollars a year at the online store, but a single order has flipped my opinion. In essence, customer service is lazy and apathetic. In this case, an order for a single item was placed before 11AM and overnight shipping was requested and paid for. It was critical for my business to have it the next day. I had a feeling the item did not ship because I received notice a few minutes before 7PM that the shipping label had just been printed. The next morning I tried to stop the order because the item was of no use to me if it was a day late, and I was sure the item was still in their building. Instead of the rep simply checking with the shipping department to stop the shipment, he told me to wait and see if it showed up on time. A few hours later, after noticing that UPS tracking showed no activity on this shipment I called back and that rep told me the same thing in spite of my pleas. Unless someone got on a supersonic plane with the item there was no way it was going to make it to my business on time. There is more to add here, but let's move to today... I am 15 days and 6 phone calls deep into this one, and each phone rep seems to not care anything about me as a customer. Therefore, I am no longer a customer. The final insult was that my refund on this item did not include the shipping charges. In other words, I am paying for their failure to ship on time. I emailed customer service yesterday and as of 6PM today have not received a reply. Lazy, apathetic, and not concerned about losing a decent customer is a tough way to do business, but I suppose if you do the volume that B&H does you can get away with it. I am just posting here to warn others of the frustration they might face if they have an issue with an order. As for me, I would much rather do business with someone who appreciates their customers, lets the customer know if there is an issue with receiving an item on time, at least pretends to want to resolve an issue over the phone, and who does not expect the customer to pay for their failures. Is that too much to ask from a business? If the business is called B&H Photo the answer is probably yes, way too much ask for.

Service
Shipping
Returns
hakank4
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/30/17

This is the worst company I have ever dealt with. I purchased brand new Evga 1300 G2, They came with the following cables. They are scammers! They sell used items as NEW! I lost more than 2 weeks of my mining business, and hours of labor because of them. Stay Away from these company! I am getting replacement from the manufacturer that I will lose more weeks. I wish I paid $10-$20 more and purchase from a decent company. Do not fool with tons of fake reviews here. Check out other review sites to learn more about this company!

Tip for consumers: Stay away from this company. They have very competitive price because of their used defective items. Check out the pictures I attached.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
tome105
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/26/17

Bought Thinoptics package from them. Thinoptics is always sold with 2 pairs. B&H package only contained one, yet charged me the same price as the Thinoptics site for 2. Reached out to B&H. They sent me a return label that cost $11 to use. Outrageous customer service.

bernardd25
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/26/17

I NEED Purolator for Canada shipping. UPS is overcharging duty fees a lot compare to Purolator. It make purchasing for Canadian a lot less interesting. Although I am a customer of BH since many years, I will have to find another store with cheaper shipping process.

jamest237
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/5/17

Ordered a keyboard for a birthday via Expedited shipping that was supposed to be 2-3 business days. Received product 7 business days later. Wasn't shipped until 4 days after order! Called customer support (what a joke) and received a gift card for their website (another joke). DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THESE PEOPLE! Not even with a free gift card.

Tip for consumers: Use caution when buying from these people. NOT a reliable company. I have made many purchases on the internet and have never had an experience like this!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
stevem331
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/17/17

The website said free expedited shipping over $50. Then they sent via UPS ground instead. That's not expedited!

cindyg65
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/3/17

I purchase all my camera equipment thru B&H. There customer service is great when buying but beware when you need something. They are not honest. I purchased a D750 Nikon at full price. It was marked down $400.00 10 pass my 30 day return and you also got a free hand grip. They told me they could not help me as my 30 days was out by 10. Keep in mind I am looking to buy another lens over 2000.00 and just bought one for that amount and a new flash. Told me to contact Nikon they would be the only ones to help me. Well that was an epic fail. Their a billion dollar company they cant help me they said. B&H lied. They could have issued me a credit or refunded something Nikon said. Instead they decided to loose a lifetime customer and many more because one word speaks a thousand

mikel188
17 reviews
66 helpful votes
2/20/17

3 months after the one year cutoff, a Windows 10 auto update crashed the machine. The machine would only boot to an error message, showing a critical missing driver (thanks Windoze 10). Acer technical support, automated, will only pass you to 3rd party fee-based support -$99 minimum. B&H, where we bought it, says not there problem -- go to Acer sales. Acer sales gives you one option: even though they embed the OS in the machine when you buy it for $521, you have no way of restoring, so you have to pay $48 to get a Flash recovery USB. Years ago, you had the OS on a disk and could just insert and boot up the machine. Now you go through hell. This is progress? This is my wife's PC -- I have Mac and am convincing her to go the same. Send Acer, B&H, and Windoze to hell where they can cause great pain for each other.

matthewl64
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/7/17

These are the objective facts of my recent experience with B&H. I leave it to you to decide on whether you should trust them to supply equipment, taking into account the possibility that the equipment might need returning or replacing.
· Ordered NEW equipment from B&H and paid $795 + $82 delivery charge online. Straightforward ordering and fast delivery.

· Received goods. Paid additional $97 in tax. Goods found to be defective as a number of the suction cups did not hold suction for more than two minutes.

· Returned goods. Straightforward procedure and good support from B&H in issuing return labels etc.

· Received replacement equipment. Paid additional $110 delivery charge and a further $104 tax on delivery. This equipment found to be WELL USED stock, with numerous marks, dents, scratches and a vital attachment ¼ thread stripped rendering it unusable.

· Contacted B&H to advise them that I was not satisfied. B&H refused to accept the goods were used and asked for photographs. Photos were supplied showing clearly the signs of use this equipment was WELL used, perhaps 1-2 years old and used heavily in that time. Verified by manufacturer (Digital Juice) that the condition as seen in the photos was not the condition of the item when supplied NEW.

· B&H continued to maintain that the items had been supplied as new condition, refusing to acknowledge even the possibility that a mistake might have been made and that a used unit might have been dispatched by mistake. I pointed out that they had two USED units for sale on their website priced at $500.

· B&H offered $75 refund. I refused.

· B&H continued to maintain that the item supplied was NEW.

· After considerable time and inconvenience I received notification from B&H that a refund of $226 had been made as a final offer. They did not ask if this was acceptable to me, nor did give me an opportunity to respond.

· By this time I had paid $513 more than I should have for a USED item that was unusable. Understandably I was not happy with the refund of $226.

· I then advised B&H that I would not accept their offer and that I would like to return the item for a full refund.

· B&H responded by stating they would not accept the return of the item as it was now used!

jinaisp
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/16/16

(Copying my review and their response as it appears on Google reviews)

All it takes is one bad(really bad) experience to lose years of patronage to the store. In my case, it was a really really rude guy at the returns section.

I have shopped at the store in Manhattan, many times over the years. But for the first time ever, I had to return a camera, only to buy something better. But when I went there, there was this big white(jewish i think) guy who started making, remarkably rude but subtle innuendos which it took some time for me to digest. First thing was, there was a memory card that came free with the camera. I left it inside the camera when I returned it. After glancing at the contents, he asked "So you kept the card?" (Subtle, but yes, he did mean if I tried to steal it.) But I gave him the benefit of a doubt. Then after looking inside the camera and finding the card, he says "Yeah, it was not here. So!". Then he proceeded to open a box which was tightly packed, but not that badly either. The second he opened it, there came another canned response. "You don't have to squeeze everything in, just because you are returning it!" I was in shock! I asked him to repeat what he said 2-3 times, after which he dismissed me by waving his hand.

I don't know if it is B&H's strategy to dissuade people from returning stuff, by placing such people at the returns section. Because the canned nature of his remarks came so naturally to him that I am sure he must have been doing this for a while, to a lot of customers now. I did consult a lawyer about this and am considering my options because even after trying to let it go for some time now, I can't. Someone has to stop these people.

Response from the owner in the last week

"Thank you for your order and this feedback. We regret your dissatisfaction and regret this entirely innocuous conversation was open to any misinterpretation. B&H does not have a strategy to dissuade people from returning stuff people return stuff every day and were happy to accommodate them. Its part of being a retailer. I presume the return was processed uneventfully and you received the exchange item or refund you wanted."

Edit after reply from owner(As shown on Google reviews):

"this entirely innocuous conversation was open to any misinterpretation" -

So so according to B&H, it is acceptable behaviour for their employee at the returns section to say "You don't have to squeeze everything in, just because you are returning it!". And they say it is a "misinterpretation" on my side. I don't know how else to interpret it but to think he is blaming me of "Squeezing everything in" just because I was "returning it". I will let other readers be the judge.

"people from returning stuff people return stuff every day and were happy to accommodate them"

Obviously, the store has no choice but to accept stuff returned within the return period without any damage since the store has a return policy. And stores get more sales because they have a return policy. But this guy certainly wasn't "happy to accommodate it".

Your employee needs more training on how to behave with customers. The customer is not your sink to vent out frustrations and complexes.

andrewa58
1 review
4 helpful votes
10/13/16

Stay away from this horrible company. I purchased (2) Focal CMS 65 speakers (over $1500)
and they send me one new one and one open box used one with missing parts. There customer service is horrible. I will never buy from B&H Photo again. Stay away before they screw you!

tamery1
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/24/16

I ordered a small telescope(USD87) from B&H and arrived to the customs in a reasonably time. I paid USD 46 for the delivery cost which is also nothing to complain about. However the item stuck in the customs because of missing digits in HS Code. It was impossible to clear and get the items with these codes. So I contacted B&H for a return actually a recall as I dont physically have them with myself. They quoted me some USD 255 for the return ! This was rediculous. This means my return right is usurped, this is that simple.
As a customer I don't care about company's third party relations or agreements with logistic partners but what I will definitely expect is a trusty and fair manner in each part of the service; this is selling and returning practices.
In short don't expect this from this company once they sell, they finish the service. This is what they understand from a online customer shopping experience.

chadm29
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/8/16

I ordered a 40" TV through B&H Photo and it came damaged. I contacted them and i had to pay for another television to get a replacement sent out to me. I then received the second TV and it was damaged as well. The box the TVs were delivered in were very thin and offered no protection to the TVs. They made zero effort on the second TV to ensure it would reach me undamaged. Both TVs were sent back and i have received my refund for both. Even after two damaged TVs i was going to try for a third time. Looking through their products i came across a TV that i was very interested in. It was on sale and a size 50". So i called them up and explained the past issues i had and the trouble i had been through and wanted to see if i could get the 50" sale price on the smaller 40", which one would think would be a better deal for them. The guy was rude and basically told me to go pound sand. I urge people to approach this company with caution.

kinetico
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/27/16

As a beginning photographer, I contacted BH for advice on a softbox umbrella I can only buy in the US.
There was a lot of doubt which out of two models you need when using it on Elinchrom ELB 400s.
So I chatted with their sales support, asking for advice for the specific goal. He took his time and came back with a clear answer, stating the 8mm model was what I needed.
So I ordered it, paid shipping to Europe, extra taxes etc.
Now I was ready, but a few weeks later when I could finally test it on the elinchrom flash set I noticed the 8mm was too thick.

This week, I contacted BH and they said I couldnt rely on return, because their 30d return was past.
Seriously, the modifier had been in the box, it is up until today unused, since I dont have any device to fit it on, and they hide behind a return policy.
In all honesty, I tried to explain that the thing was still new, but it was like I was talking to a robot 30 days, can I help you with something else.
As if I wouldnt have done this earlier if I could!

BH, should know better: instead of each time steering the conversation towards some document rules, they should really try to focus on the real problem, they were the ones who gave bad advice in the first place.

They choose policy rules above reason even when the mistake is theirs. So in contrast to praising them like I did years before, with the same persistence, I will tell my story to warn other customers. Its sad to see that today, customer satisfaction is hardly to be found anymore.

To me its simple. If this outcome doesnt change, I will think of other places to invest for my profession and repost this story for as long as I like.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
tatianas11
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/22/15

My name is Tatiana.
November 4, 2015 I issued an order number Orders Invoice # 1036115479
By tracking code my package is lost in Germany on November 12, and to the Republic of Moldova did not go.
I live in Moldova, in the order is specified the correct address - 2068 Moldova, but the postal service DHL sent my parcel on the island Maldives.
I wrote a letter asking to give me back the money under the order number # 1036115479 more December 2, 2015.
From the 2nd of December, I wrote many letters asking me to return the money.
I receive all the time only promise that I will soon get my money back., but the money is not returned.
I have not received my order, no money.

Response from Henry P., B&H Photo Video Representative
Thank you for your order and this feedback. We regret your dissatisfaction and apologize for the shipper's error. A refund has been entered into our system and transmitted to your bank earlier this month. For additional information please contact cs[at]bhphoto.com ^hp
bryanb48
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/10/15

I ordered a new 4K monitor and it arrived defective. The menu would not even come up on the screen when you press the hardeward buttons. I called Dell customer support and got a third world country (one of many reasons why I despise Dell). They confirmed the monitor is defective. I call B&H and they tell me to ship it back and then they'll send me a new one. I say that will take 10 days and AMAZON and other retailers would ship a new one immediately and then send you a prepaid label that would start a credit immediately at drop off at a UPS location. B&H said in order for me to get a new monitor that is not broken more quickly, I would need to purchase a second one. I did that. Two day shipping was included. They had to adjust the price because the monitor had already gone up in price. Monday (the third day after the order) the unit had not even shipped. I emailed B&H they said that I had ordered too late on Friday. but I had ordered before noon (pac time). Regarding returns: I looked at my RMA and label. They had issues a label that said I had to pay for return shipping. Aggravated I emailed them. Two days later they changed it to a prepaid UPS label. I dropped it off withing a few hours to Staples (a UPS location) and send photos of the proof of drop off to them. I still must wait for it to be returned by ground delivery to them for a refund. Compared to the flawless service of AMAZON, I would recommend them over and over and over again compared to B&H audio. All I got B&H was I'm sorry 10 times. Finally they threw in one day overnight shipping but at this point that is little consolation to me given the aggravation with this order

jimb154
1 review
7 helpful votes
3/23/15

Bought a TV from B&H on Cyber Monday. FOUR MONTHS LATER the TV has not shipped. They charged me the day I bought it. Hey B&H, Cyber Monday deals are supposed to be for Christmas. Christmas is not in April! They wouldn't offer a comparable model for the same price either as a replacement even 4 months later. Just terrible customer service that made my Christmas TV gift disappear!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
richards125
10 reviews
17 helpful votes
2/2/15

I bought a Nikon camera and it had a problem and they were happy to send another one which was also defective and I returned it and purchased one direct from Nikon. The serial number on the camera from Nikon was in the high 5,xxx,xxx but both cameras purchased through B&H had serial numbers in the low 3,xxx,xxx and both defective leading me to the conclusion that these were returned defective and repackaged without repair as these very popular cameras had oddly been in the retail stream for well over a year and were not new though they were sold as new or they were grey market as B&H are notorious for. Always buy cameras factory direct or you will get defective clearinghouse items or grey market items with no warranty.

Tip for consumers: Buy camera factory direct and pay the extra few % in price for guaranteed quality and warranty.

jeffreyw21
5 reviews
14 helpful votes
12/18/14

Before buying a new Galaxy S4 cellphone and batteries from B&H, I called Customer Service to verify that the batteries I was considering to buy (spare batteries - B&H #SAEBB600BUBE) would be authentic Samsung OEM product: made in Korea, assembled in Korea. The reason is that product made or assembled in China has a reputation for not holding a charge, "bloating" soon after first use, and/or burning up. "Joel" stated in our telecom at 2:15 pm on 12/16/2014 that the products were authentic Samsung OEM product: made in Korea, assembled in Korea. He even directed me to the B&H website to see the statement on the picture of the battery shown as proof that the batteries are authentic Samsung OEM product. So, what did I actually get? Two batteries that state "made in Korea, assembled in China". See the digipics of these two unopened batteries. If I wanted knockoff batteries from China, I could have paid less than $5.00 each on Amazon. Instead, I believed B&H would not be so dishonest as to pull a "bait & switch." So, it's clear their company should actually be called "B&S". Please be aware that B&H is a dishonest company and will cheat buyers if at all possible.

Tip for consumers: 1. Be sure to check that you can return something if you buy it and it does NOT match what is advertised (and you do not open the item).
2. Consider that, whenever the price for something from a retailer (ie: profit-oriented seller) seems too good (low) to be true, it probably is!

hellenk1
1 review
8 helpful votes
11/30/14

Horrible experience. I place an order and they decide that I didn't meet their verification qualifications a day after they ship the package and reverse the delivery before it reached me. A week from my order, i still have not been refunded. I open a paypal dispute and they RESPOND WITH THE REVERSED TRACKING INFO instead of refunding my money WTF ARE THEY TRYING TO PROVE. The best part of this in my opinion is that they are now selling the same product for $30 more! Do yourself a favor and order from a competing site which I have to say, any would be better than this one. Missed black friday sales already, going to miss cyber monday as well.In the end I still haven't been refunded.

Tip for consumers: avoid it

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
patricioc
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/13/14

The products and prices look reasonable. I purchased an item from Canada by mail and I had a lot of difficulties getting information about tax from sell and customer services departments. After that, B&H never concluded the delivery. They never tried to precise the address or communicate with me in any way. I had been waiting for the never delivered product . I just received a mail 10 days after, saying me UPS couldn´t deliver and they only returned the item. Every time I tried to communicate with customer service, I didn´t get any appropiate answer. So, I wasted my time, B&H took my money for a delivering they never did. It seem B&H to be a great corporation, but the service is like a bad supervised mechanical response that finally cause damage to the customer

igorp3
1 review
4 helpful votes
9/23/14

Today I got my Canon 400mm F/5.6 L lens. But I am not happy at all, because they sent me a USED lens for the price of the brand new ones. Interesting, this #$% happened second time for me. First time they sent me used 50mm lens while I paid for the brand new lens. Then, I thought it was just a mistake, but now I start thinking this is their business model. Buyer, beware!

connien6
1 review
5 helpful votes
7/27/14

Don't order a PC from these guys, they are just a reseller and should probably stick to photo equipment. They will not refund a PC unless the manufacturer seal is unbroken. I bought a new Samsung 9 lite and it is the worse performing PC I have ever owned. I have had Dell, Toshiba, Sony and Acer. Hands down the worst and I can't return it. Oh well, stick with Amazon on this type of stuff. I went with B&H because they were highly rated with Amazon.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Robert: Email me - henryp[at]bhphoto.com - and include the original B&H order number if possible. Eddy: We have a 40+ year sterling reputation. We're owned by a New Yorker, not someone in any other country. We offer free shipping on thousands of items. Arvin: We have a 30-day no-questions-asked return policy on almost everything we sell. -- Henry Posner / B&H Photo-Video

By Henry P. [B&H Photo Video Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

ANy refurbished item we sell has been refurbished by the manufacturer or official US distributor, Nikon USA or Canon USA etc. Other used items are each rated on a numeric scale and we tend to be conservative so customers are not disappointed.

By Henry P. [B&H Photo Video Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1127271-REG/nikon_1554_d7200_dslr_camera_body.html

By mike j.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You can email henryp[at]bhphoto.com and either I will address your question or forward it to whoever here is best suited to do so.. -- Henry Posner / B&H Photo-Video

By Henry P. [B&H Photo Video Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

When you put an item into a shopping cart on the B&H site. after you provide the destination our site will calculate shipping fees for any available shipping vendors so you can decide which to use before processing your purchase. ^hp

By Henry P. [B&H Photo Video Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Used items are listed in a separate section of our site. All of these - bhpho.to/1TQamPr - are brand new.

By Henry P. [B&H Photo Video Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Online we're at www.bandh.com. Our store is 420 9th Ave in Manhattan.

By Henry P. [B&H Photo Video Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Unless the US government or a manufacturer has a restriction we ship almost ecveryting we sell to Australia.

By Henry P. [B&H Photo Video Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Order cutoff times for all domestic orders shipping via UPS, FedEx Economy, or FedEx Priority: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm ET Friday: 11:00am ET or 12:00pm DST Domestic orders shipping via USPS, FedEx Saver, or Truck (non-rush), received before 7:00am ET will be shipped same day Order cutoff times for White Glove next day delivery (domestic): Monday - Thursday: 2:30pm ET Friday: 11:00am ET or 12:00pm DST International orders received before 7:00am local New York time will be shipped same day.

By Henry P. [B&H Photo Video Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Questions? Get answers from the B&H Photo Video staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

13 Photos for B&H Photo Video

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
B&H Photo Video?
Post Review