Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of BespokeOakDoors

BespokeOakDoors reviews

Is this your business?
13 reviews
bespokeoakdoors@aol.com

13 Reviews From Our Community

4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
1
Returns
0
Quality
1

All Reviews

lottig
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/27/18

I've put my order for an oak door in May. 'Graham' has till October the 3rd 2018 to send me either my order or a full refund. If I get neither - I'm going to the authorities, therefore can any of the disappointed Bespoke Oak Doors' clients please, get in touch with me on Lotti@ymail.com - I'd like to provide Action Fraud, HSBC and Trading Standards with as much information as I can. Thank you!

pauliner29
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/12/18

No door received after four months. We have reported to Online Fraud and Trading Standards. Does not respond to telephone and only responded to emails after reported Mari and Graham to Action Fraud and Trading Standards. No pictures of door and told delivery not possible due to adverse weather (snow) back in March still affecting deliveries mid May!!! Avoid. Action Fraud, Trading Standards and HSBC investigating this company. If you have had the misfortune of dealing with this company, please report them to Action Fraud, Trading Standards and HSBC Fraud team.

mikem864
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/18/18

Great value for what I believe to be the best product on the market. Good delivery as well. I would recommend these guys again

robc88
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/2/17

The business is a scam a one man scrupulous individual who sounds very genuine when you speak to him. Search for a company profile and or proper contact details you won't find any as they are non existent. The material and carpentry is the worst quality. You will never be able to get a reply when you complain; and you will! They have never had a show room as it is probably in a 3rd world country.

danb214
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
9/19/17

You pay up front and then they deliver a plank with knots in it which they call a door. They refuse to answer my calls or respond to e-mails.Going to take them to the small business court

jakeb72
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
8/30/17

I bought an oak door from this company. I wish I had read the reviews before I did so.The workmanship was dreadful, the Oak had cracks and knots and the iron mongery was rubbish. They do not answer calls or respond to e mails. Do not get taken in like I was with their cheap prices.

johand15
1 review
12 helpful votes
7/13/17

I ordered an oak stable door from www.bespoke-oak-doors, also trading under www.bespokeperioddoors in Yorkshire. The web site talks about old fashioned craftsmanship, which attracted me. I also (erroneously as it turned out) thought their price was competitive. When I spoke to Graham, who seems to be in charge, I gained confidence as he sounded knowledgeable and reliable. So much so that I eventually, foolishly, agreed to their demand that I pay the full amount up front, before they would release the door for delivery to my house in the South of England. I was very surprised that the "door" they delivered basically consisted of 4 planks joined together. The hinges and door lock were not fitted. There was no rebate (overlap) between the bottom and top door, so the wind would whistle through the gap between the top and bottom door. They shipped the hinges and door handles separately, but did not include the locking mechanism. To have all this rectified and the door installed was going to cost me £ 800. So much for being competitively priced!

Numerous E-mails and phone calls to discuss this simply went unanswered. As for the missing lock, at one point I was promised that it would be posted, but nothing came of that. Further phone calls and e-mails again simply went unanswered.

To top it all, on their website they boast about their traditional craftsmanship and that they use only the "finest English and French oak "that was "carefully chosen". Well, there was a crack in one of the "carefully selected " door planks. They filled the crack with what looks like Polyfilla, but they did not even bother to sand it down properly to hide the crack. (See the photo) They just applied a primer over the crack and shipped it off.

NOTE: I sent them this review below before I posted it, asking them if any of it was not true. Their response was to post the false 5 star review by john p.

Do not get taken in by the old-school charm as I was. They just want your money and after that you can go to the devil. This company takes absolutely no pride in their craftsmanship. They have no compunction to send you a shoddy, incomplete door. There are reputable companies out there that deliver what they promise, check out their reviews and make sure you order your door from them.

johnp574
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/12/17

Thanks Bespoke Oak Doors for a great service and especially for two super stable doors. Exactly what we asked for.
We will call you again to order our front door once the extension is built
All the best from John and Stacey

jeremyb96
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
6/17/17

They like you to pay up front and then fail to deliver your doors months after the dead line has passed. In the end we had to organise a courier to collect them for us so we paid for delivery twice. I took them to small claims court but they just ignored all that in the same way as they ignore their telephone, answer phone and emails. The doors are of poor quality and the timber has not been properly selected for its use. Knots and shakes that were filled with resin have all opened up so that you can see daylight through an exterior door. Sap wood has been included that should have been selected against. The doors have little strength for their size and have started to drop and warp. I will have to reinforce them myself. The ironmongery supplied with the dooirs is not sufficient for their size. The list of issues we have with these very expensive doors is long. Stay clear of this lot. They are poor craftsmen but worse at business and customer service than you could possibly imagine.

elac
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/4/16

It's been great to find a company that sells quality solid oak doors.
The service I received was also brilliant, thank you again

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
skatescools
1 review
7 helpful votes
9/29/16

Months of delays. Their fitter didnt turn up. A long list of issues, mistakes and omissions from the job still unresolved and a complete inability to contact them. Legal action will begin. A truly horrible experience still ongoing.

billj30
1 review
9 helpful votes
10/12/13

Wish we had seen Victoria's complaint first...we had exactly the same complaints - they offered the wrong glass - single glazed - but we insisted on double-glazed to meet regulations. The panes are undersized based on their own dimensions and the fitting is poor. (By their guy). The beading is split and too small to hide the glass edges.
What a shame they could be a great company but there after sales service lets them down badly

victoriac11
1 review
11 helpful votes
9/23/13

I bought a pair of French doors costing nearly 2,300 with delivery.
They arrived with the wrong glass, so do not meet building regulations and one of glass doors was smashed.
Over 9 weeks later, they will respond regarding this and have not offered to replace, or refund,
They won't even return calls - stay away.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

It's Graham Wright or at least what he says his name is.

By Karin C.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the BespokeOakDoors staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
BespokeOakDoors?
Post Review