Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Bbv

Bbv reviews

Is this your business?
9 reviews

9 Reviews From Our Community

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

lindaw8
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/3/13

I'm ashamed to admit it. I just did not pay enough attention to my bank statement. BBV charged me $160 @ 19.95 per month. They refunded $19.95 (and they did). But I got stuck for $140. Shame on me. But BBV is a fraud--criminals. Don't get involved. "Membership" is a red flag for me. I never heard that word.

nancys7
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/2/11

I purchased a $5.00 paperback from them in Jan. 2010, and without realizing it, "joined their club" and they have been charging my card $19.95 per month. I did not check my credit card bills carefully - my mistake!- and have now paid them $239.00 for a $5.00 book. I am going to complain to the local Better Business Bureau. THIS IS A TOTAL SCCM! DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THEM!!!

paulp2
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/6/10

I AM F**KING APPAULLED THAT I HAVE BEEN BAMBOOZLED FOR OVER A 100.00. I BOUGHT A BOOK FOR $12.00. I CALLED BBV AND THEY CLAIMED I AGREED TO A MEMBERSHIP. I NEVER CONSENTED THIS COMPANY TO TAKE MONEY FROM MY ACCOUNT. I FEEL LIKE SOMEONE HAS RAPED ME WITH NO LUBRICATION. IT HURTS SO BAD ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU KNOW THAT THIS IS NOT WHAT YOU ORDERED!!! I HAVE GONE POSTAL ON THE PHONE AND EVEN THE SUPERVISOR THAT I TALKED TO THOUGHT IT WAS A JOKE. STEALING FROM INNOCENT CONSUMERS IS NOT A WAY TO MAKE HARD EARNED MONEY. I HOPE THAT BBV GET SHUT DOWN BY THE BETTER BUISNESS BUREAU. HORRIBLE TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

carlr
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
8/11/10

I kept on getting charges to my card on a monthly basis from this company and didn't realize what it was until I did a search and found out about this scam! THIS IS A CRIMINAL ENTERPRISE!!! I am so outraged. I never signed up for any club. I called them and demanded a refund of EVERY SINGLE CHARGE. They said that I would get it. We will see what happens. If this happened to you then I suggest you call the number on your statement and do not take no for an answer with these crooks!

earlg
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/16/10

Criminal is the only word I can use to discribe BBV discount books they got me for $60.00 before I realized it. They claim they will be refunding $19.95 of it. we'll see.... I will be disputing these charges with my credit card company & using all of the bad press they are getting on line. I think one of these days someone will go postal on them.

jamesb11
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
5/18/10

STAY AWAY. As soon as you see a bill for unrequested membership on your credit card statement, cancel by calling 1-866-7075858.

carolyns1
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/4/10

There are not words to describe this website. Buyers beware. Unless you return the book within three days (which is not disclosed at the time of purchase) you will continue to be billed $9.95 per month for perpetuity or until you call the 800 number and complain. Even then I have my doubts -- it will be interesting to see if this "subscription" is cancelled. I will post further when I learn the results of my phone call.

timh3
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/19/10

It appears on your bank statement as Bbv discountbooks, but The actual web address is - www.discountbooksale.com
I am very disappointed in their unscrupulous business tactics. I ordered books through my ministry to provide to people who had attended my free seminar. I thought I was doing them a service. Several months passed before I noticed this reoccuring charge of 19.95. When I called them, Bbv cancelled the membership I never knew I had and reimbursed me two of the nine months dues. The two paperback books I bought for a $5.00 savings cost the ministry $139.65 after the reimbursed fees. IS THAT A DISCOUNT BOOK SALE? I will let you be the judge. I can buy that paperback at any retail book store for $12.00 Ea. I will NOT do business with Bvd anytime soon If ever again. I have appealed my case to thier corporate offices for the remaining $139 +. The response will determine their integrity. The automatic membership & withdrawl tactic that is not at first clearly apparent already places them in the light of suspicion. I hope they step up and do what is right. As it stands, I have to return the funds to the ministry's account I am not happy. NO paperback is worth the price I have paid. LET THE BUYER BEWARE - of Bbv "discount" books.
Stay AWAY!!! - www.discountbooksale.com - Stay AWAY!!!!

tonic
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/20/10

Do not use this website no matter how tempted you may be by the discount. I purchased a book in December but did not notice that I had been charged for a membership of 9.95. The following month I did notice the charge and complained to my credit card company that I had not signed on for any membership. The credit card rep got them on the phone and I told them that they fraudulently signed me up for a membership. I asked him why would I willing pay for a book membership for $120.00/ year, for which he had no answer. After standing my ground and taking NO! for answer they agreed to refund the two charges applied to my account. I wished i had gone first to the site jabber to read of all the other customers that had been duped. STAY AWAY from BBV!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the Bbv staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Bbv?
Post Review