Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of AVOV Technology

AVOV Technology reviews

43 reviews
Toronto, Canada
Tel: 1-855-449-AVOV (2868)
avov@avov.tv

18 reviews with 1 star

mickeys17
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/4/17

Its really great box. but not for watching tv or anything. I use it to stretch some bakery dough due to its shape. just a couple of months after I got totally fooled by the salesman BS and purchased that, I took it off!

Advertisement
marsleyd
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/12/17

i emailed 4 times and called. they said they would replace my box because the power did not come in since i purchase it only in march. i was then told to ship it which cost me 17$. i ship it and then they tell me i have no warranty and they send box back. i told them keep it no use to me and i hang up. but no good customer service means i not come back it is sad the don care aboot the customer

monicar59
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/8/17

I bought a Avov fuse. They don't keep up on the apps. only 8 gb hardrive. Cant load hardly any apps once kodi is loaded. no file explorer.
teamviewer app doesn't let you dial in to set up box. live tv constantly freezing. buy a cheap android tv box is better.

lydial24
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/7/17

do your research ppls. i bought one blindly on amazon and regre it ever since. even check website www.avovtech.com shows so much about this stupid cheating company.

ailiak
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/25/17

HELP! Cant watch anything on this box. I boight two AVOV TVonline boxes back in May 2017 anf ive nothing but problems. Channels, movies, Live TV, VOD constanly freeze. Freezes every 2 mins for long periods of time. Cant watch anything. Ive swtiched over to two different server thinking it maybe the server that its running on. But again same issue. I have high-speed internet with 60mbps and i dont think the internet is the issue. This sort of issue never occured until I hooked up the AVOV 5. If anyone know how to fi x the issue please let me know.

dj447
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/12/17

AVOV TVOnline ver2 is great when it's working. Unfortunately since day one the stupid remote rarely works..What good is this piece of junk remote? AVOV is just a huge ripoff..Stay away..far far away from them..Support? What support....All they want is your hard earned cash!!!!!!

mikeb344
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
2/7/17

Stay away from these boxes. They don't support them. I have a box that no longer plays anything. It's now an expensive paper weight. Sure, they come out with new boxes, but forget about the first generation models. Imagine owning a IPhone 5s, and when they released the IPhone 7, the 5s was no longer functional. Brutal box. Save your money and do research. There are many more out there worth the money.

coling20
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/5/17

?????does anybody...i read a lot on here but done see any feedback to the questions is this run by AVOV technology staff

saeedn1
1 review
6 helpful votes
10/16/16

I got an AVOV 4 & it freezes most of time. I contact AVOV, but nobody cared about the issue. Instead of sending a new box they tried to give me a remote!!!
So disappointed

bobd97
1 review
4 helpful votes
4/24/16

Its unstable box it constlatly refresh lack of memorey durig a move stopes evefy 4 s and continues after 10 s its junk waisting money and time

murrayf14
Murray F.
1 review
6 helpful votes
4/3/16

I received the Avov's fuse for Christmas 2015, and immediately noticed that the box has subtitles locked on English. Whenever I watch a movie regardless of which one there are English subtitles. On top of that the subtitles don't line up with the movie. I emailed Avov immediately as the box was purchased directly from them about sending it in for a replacement or exchange for another box (the fuse also freezes/closes out of apps on its own). It's now April and I have yet to get anything from this company. They are telling me that it's an app issue and not covered under warranty but I have the Avov VIX01 and have no problems turning off/changing subtitles on the exact same apps. I think my next step is reporting them to the better business bureau because they don't seem interested in resolving this issue. I will email them and won't hear back for 2 weeks then they said they would do an exchange but then they won't. My family has purchased 4 Avov boxes (vix01, 2 tv online & now fuse) and this company couldn't care less about customers. Murray

fucky39
1 review
7 helpful votes
3/7/16

If u r thinking of buying avov android don't it is a piece of junk money grab

joannag17
1 review
6 helpful votes
3/3/16

bought 3 avov online+ in 2 months one is only flashing the logo nothing else keeps rebooting contacted seller ground control tv they never answered me back guess since it is out of the 14 days and never did avov answer me back so discouraged with the money i spent for the item and service i am getting and to think 2 weeks ago i was ready to buy a 4th for my mother thank god i did not with this service i be really in a mess so costly and no service or care from them

robh49
1 review
6 helpful votes
1/3/16

When it does work it's good. But I have problems with above box it reboots by itself. I will reset the box load all English repos then try to configure kodi or tvaddons and I will get booted out and box reboots. Turn back on and screen size is smaller. Can we say frustrating! Only thing that works when it doesn't freeze is the online tv. This box got me wishing I did a lot of research before I spent my hard earned 140$ plus the 6 months free for the online tv. Tech who I purchased box from tried to help came to my house and said "something in your house is interfering with the signal causing the box to reboot. I have to reset the box every month sometimes twice a month just so it can run smooth for the online tv. This box gets 0 stars from me and gets a big thumbs up for being a pain in the ass.

Response from Jake K., AVOV Technology Representative
Hello,
We are sorry to hear you feel this way. We would love to help you resolve your issue. You can kindly open a ticket at http://help.avov.tv and one of our gurus can try to come to a resolution with your device and try to see whats wrong. Please let them know you were referring from Jake so they can follow up with me also.

Thank you,
Jake.
virenderk1
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/25/15

I bought two Avov TV Online Version 2 from kijiji last week and one died next day. Only Avov logo come up when I turned it on and nothing after that, reset the box but no luck. The person I bought it from is not picking up the phone anymore. Another one is working but the picture quality is very dull as compare to MAG 254.
I prefer MAG over AVOV with my experience.

Response from Jake K., AVOV Technology Representative
It's still under warranty. You can open a ticket at http://help.avov.tv and we can have that device replaced for you.
johnp286
1 review
16 helpful votes
10/18/15

I bought this about three months ago and withing 2 days was complaining to the distributor, who pretty much refused to do anything. The box is awful.

- The picture quality is only 720 at best, pretty bad on a 60" tv
- It freezes - from day one and continues to date (I have a high speed 50 cable connection so it's not my end)
- The volume varies so much channel to chanel that if you forget to turn it down when changing it blows out your eardrums.
- Every time I turn it on, I have to re-connect to the server.
- 5 times out of 10, the channel I pick to watch doesn't load, I just end up eith a "Technical Difficulties" message.
- I only try using it for about 15 min for the morning news now - and still just get frustrated with the same results.
- I'm so frustrated trying to use this thing I don't even bother anymore.

I had such high hopes, but am overall super diappointed. When anyone asks, I tell them to stay far away from this.

haroldf8
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/20/15

bought this avov junk box. box worked for a couple of weeks on movie 25, not even good now I get nothing. it is a wast of money. can't get any help form anyone to solve this problem. people I bought it from in Canada will not respond to my e-mail.

Response from Jake K., AVOV Technology Representative
Hello Harold,

I am sorry to hear you feel this way about our product and spending your money. I have looked into the records and could not find any support ticket or email from "Harold". I would love to resolve this issue for you, if you can kindly open a ticket at http://help.avov.tv and we will do our up most to help you. As for the apps, they are constantly being updated and pushed from the server. Perhaps there was an interruption app update? If you have recently checked movie25 and any other apps, they are up and working. I hope we can hear from you soon.
louj8
1 review
5 helpful votes
11/4/14

A huge pile of crap. This system does not work and has not worked in months. The owner does not respond to emails OR complaints. Others are also saying the same thing. It's like this company has taken our money and run.

Don't bother with this junk. Stick with Roku, or something that works. Overpriced junk. Complaining about this company to BBB.

Response from Jake K., AVOV Technology Representative
Hello,

I am sorry you feel this way. Please give us a call at toll free: 1-855-449-AVOV (2868) and go to support and someone will certainly help with your issue. We try to reply to all inquires and complaints to ensure we can offer the best customer service.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I'm having the same issue. constantly freezing. My internet is high speed with 60mbps. Never had any issues with the internet until I hooked up the Avov 5 box. I even swtiched two different servers thinking it could be the server I was on orginally. Any response to fix the issue would be valued. Im completely frustrated as I cant watch anything.

By Ailia k.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

We only use one LED light source for the devices. This means, its only powered on to show the device is on. No Red/Green. We are coming with those features on our new devices! Check our site, www.avov.tv

By Jake K. [AVOV Technology Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

USA

By David A.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

They went out of business on July 7. You can also, check their Facebook page. You can find info on it.

By Carmen R.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

so a week later and no support SMH

By jay t.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

There is no way to adjust the buffering on any of the AVOV line of boxes which has extremely limited settings and applications. Seems everyone wants to control their Android products and they do that by not allowing anyone to configure their boxes. You may have bought it but owning it is totally dependent on your point of view. Mickeyhop has no manual installers, very limited applications, some out of date, some don't appear to be of any real use and the rest are related to games of which I don't need this box for games or game playing.

By Paul i.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You have to go into settings on your tv and change the links that allow the tv to shut off connected devices. The freezing issues have been attributed to the servers which are constantly being worked on and improving. Keep in mind, older modems and routers were not designed for streaming or handling bandwidth although your internet provider may also have bandwidth restrictions depending on bandwidth caps or service you have. The latest modems have Docsis 3.0 technology and are backwards compatible but you must find out from your provider which models they use or which brand, models they use. As for routers, some providers don't want you using your own router as they like to control things with remote management software. However, older routers were not made with providing several devices with streaming that take up a lot of bandwidth. Buffering issues start up, freezing begins and even lock ups occur so upgrade your modems, routers and read up on how to configure your buffer settings on your devices. Note some android devices, like AVOV do not have any way to configure buffer settings.

By Paul i.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No sorry, the platform works on our STB.

By Jake K. [AVOV Technology Rep]
Questions? Get answers from the AVOV Technology staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

4 Photos for AVOV Technology

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
AVOV Technology?
Post Review