SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business

Slimwareutilities reviews

6 reviews
33%
Categories: Computer
chris@slimwareutilities.com
This business is not yet responding to reviews on SiteJabber. If this is your business claim it here.

6 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

4 stars
3 stars
2 stars

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

gregs63
New Reviewer
10/12/14

Hi community members,

I was hoping to find a way to warn potential "Slimware Utilities" customers about a dirty little practice commonly used by this company. I was having a problem with my computer keyboard a few nights ago. I was offering a bit of tech support on a website that I spend a considerable amount of my spare time on when suddenly, my keyboard started misbehaving. The "shift" key, along with the "A" and the "1" were not working and so it became impossible to complete a sentence w/o "copy/pasting" those characters into the space where needed.

I restarted the computer and tried again but got more of the same. Then I had a notion that the problem was a result of a bad/corrupted/outdated software driver. I remembered seeing a product called, "Driver-Update" which claimed to be able to identify defective drivers, download and replace them with the latest version of the necessary driver. So I went online, googled "DriverUpdate.com" and found the link to download the product to bring my computer back up properly.

The price was $29.97 which seemed fine for a product that could save me time, identifying the driver, and then installing it for me. I hit the download button and watched the process carefully, being cautious not to allow/invite any "third party" component bundles on-board along with my new product software. That part went fine but after I paid for the "Registered license key", I noticed that the price had changed! What was supposed to be $29.97, was now $49.87! They had changed our agreement immediately after I submitted my credit card number to them. "HERE WE GO"... I exclaimed! I found a "REFUND REQUEST" chat box for 'Slimware Utilities' on their website and filled out a form. Being furious, I needed to regain my composure so I wouldn't attack the c/s rep on the other end of this support chat line; realizing that they wouldn't own the company... or delegate company policy. "This is what I wrote":

Notes: "Dear csr

I've just purchased your "Driver Update" software from your website for $29.97; or so I thought... When I received the licenses key/order numb, the price changed to $49.87... That's called "The Bait & switch" technique! Honest people/companies don't ever do that because that's exploitative to it's victims; God be
merciful!"

"And here's their reply"...

"Hello,

Thank you for your email. We have processed your refund as per your email request.

Please allow up to 15 days for your credit card issuing bank to post this refund to your credit card statement. Or if you paid with PayPal please allow 24 to 48 hours for the funds to show in your PayPal account. If you are unable to locate your funds, please contact your credit card issuing bank directly for assistance.

If your credit card issuing bank is unable to locate the funds, please initiate a conference call with yourself, your bank, and SafeCart. we can be reached toll-free at 1-855-XXX-XXXX, Monday through Friday from 6AM - 5PM PST.

Thank you for using SafeCart. Sincerely, Lindsay"

My problem with this transaction wasn't the EXTRA $20 that they helped themselves to. My problem was that the reason for the extra money withdrawal was that they were going to automatically extend my agreement w/them into 2016... and all future extensions were to be debited automatically from my checking acct; no accountability there WHAT-SO-EVER! And they weren't even going to tell me that they had INDEPENDENTLY and UNILATERALLY decided to debit my bank account 'in whatever amount, denomination or frequency that they so chose.

So, you have ALL been warned about the company "SLIMWARE UTILITIES" and it's (at very least) shady/illegal business practices! "...So be careful"

GLS (new member)

dedef1
New Reviewer
9/27/13

I should have known better. I paid. I received the serial number that was supposed to let me download the driver update. It is not working. The site is trying to get me to buy more things. I have called the credit card company to dispute the charge. I am demanding a refund. I will not work with this company.

giw1
New Reviewer
8/20/13

This web site should be totally avoided at all costs!!!!!!! They are affiliated with driver update and fix cleaner and the technical support staff are rude, obnoxious and totally unreliable in fixing computer problems and issues. They are famous for taking remote access and leaving a paying Customer out to dry-meaning the
problem you had from the start will only get worse if you allow these so called computer JERKS any access to your computer for any reason!!!!!!! Save your money and find a reputable company which these web sites are not!!!!! You will end up spending more money to fix a problem they create!!!!!!! AVOID support@driverupdate.net and their telephone number of 228 273 1197 as they will never return your calls and the only way to obtain a refund is to raise HELL
with the bank that accepts the payments for these low life cheating and scamming vendors to date!!!!!!!

brucel16
New Reviewer
4/19/13

THIS PROGRAM IS A MESS, IT CAUSED NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS FOR US AND CAUSED OUR COMPUTER TO CRASH.... IT COST ME $200.00 TO FIX....STAY AWAY FROM THIS

staceyd1
New Reviewer
10/6/11

The website is great, as are the products from SlimWare Utilities. I've downloaded and installed them all on multiple systems, and enjoyed the ease of use and friendly atmosphere developed by the team at SWU on socnet sites such as Facebook, where they held a great contest drawing for thumb drives and gave tee shirts out to those that would provide reviews for their new products. It's all provided through cloud technology, making it free and free to everyone. Get with these guys and enjoy the SWU touch on your computer(s). And no... they didn't pay me to write this. I just like to turn good people onto good things. Oh, but I DID get one of those nice tee shirts. Give Slimware Utilities a go and see for yourself!

ianm11
Veteran Reviewer
7/16/11

I found a review on this site on a blog a couple months back, so thought I would give one of their downloads a go. So I installed SlimDrivers - after installing the product, it prompted me to create an account with them (which made me suspicious at first), but it was well worth it in the end. SlimDrivers is free and saves time. It found 26 driver updates for my computer and it gave me a link to click to update my drivers - was that easy. In the end - it really does save you time searching the net to find out if your drivers have updates.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the Slimwareutilities staff and other consumers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • From where do products ship?

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business