SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business

Priceline reviews

331 reviews
8%
Categories: Car Rental, Hotels, Motels
800 Connecticut Avenue
Norwalk, Connecticut 06854, USA
Tel: +1.2032998412
hostmaster@priceline.com
This business is not yet responding to reviews on SiteJabber. If this is your business claim it here.

331 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Review Highlights

michelleh13

This is the exact text of the IM with Priceline Customer Service:
(in 122 reviews)

jesseg

First if you know you need a hotel, always and I mean always use the name your price feature. (in 180 reviews)

jeremyol

I have utilize the chance for booking the rental car for going to door. (in 123 reviews)

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

vanh18
New Reviewer
12/15/14

I have been always buying from Priceline however today I am extremely disappointed with your service.
I bought a one way ticket from Vietnam to Sydney, originally planned to depart on 07/02/2015 for $694.40 USD. However, due to personal reasons, I wanted to take the flight one week earlier, hence I called up Priceline and asked to change my flight date from 07/02/2015 to 31/01/2015. First time calling, the representative insisted on charging me $50 (on top of the $30 agency fee) for changing the flight date even though it was stated clearly on the fare rule that there was NO change fee. I spent 30' explaining to her (even though it was very obvious from the fare rule) and she kept insisting on charging that unjustified $50. Not only that, she insisted that I had to pay extra due to fare price differences, even though the price was exactly the same ! Conversation went nowhere so I hung up and called up Vietnam Airlines and they were able to confirm that there was no change fee at all, however they couldn't help me make adjustment to my flight due to the ticket being purchased through Priceline.
I tried calling Priceline again, the day after, this time the representative insisted on charging me the difference in fare prices (which is around $700 !). However at that moment, it is clearly shown on the Priceline website that the airfare prices are exactly the same at $694.40 for either the date 07/02 or 31/01. I questioned her why there was such the discrepancy which was not featured on the live update website? She explained to me that the prices listed on website were not up to date (which was very irrational as a travel agent does not update prices?). Again, conversation went nowhere. I hung up and I purchased the ticket from the Priceline website for the date 31/01/2015 for exactly the same price of $694.40 and it was a successful purchase which meant that the ticket prices were not different as what was stated by the representative. Now, I will have to call up Priceline again and cancel my flight for the date 07/02/2015 which obviously will incur a cancellation fee of $100.
Aside from the unnecessary fees that I have to bear, there is so much time and effort consumed for such a simple transaction that every agent could have resolved easily! What an absolute disappointment and hassle!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Van about Priceline
tinaf13
New Reviewer
12/14/14

seems like most times I get booked at the same price that the hotels offer on sites like expedia or tripadvisor, so whats the point?

Service
Value
Quality
Ask Tina about Priceline
azzye
New Reviewer
12/14/14

What can I say? Completely disappointed. Booked a ticket from Saigon to Sydney, thinking that this place would be reliable, and actually offer some proper customer service if need be.

Well like they always say - you never know until an issue arises. Want to change the date of the flight, but turns out that on top of the $30 agency fee (okay fine, no problem with that, it was stated clearly), I had to pay a non-existent $50! The fare rules clearly stated that post-April 2014, changes are permitted, without listing a fee.

Customer service quoted the fee required for pre-April 2014, and when I alerted her of that fact, repeatedly told me I was wrong until finally I could get through that it doesn't apply, because it is post-April!

Well she finally said that because it doesn't list a fee, there may or may not be a fee and that it depends on the airline. And she kept on insisting that it is $50. Alright, fair enough, so maybe it does depend on the airline (though it doesn't). Called up the airlines, and sure enough, there was no fee!

Where the heck are you pulling these fees out from?

And on top of that, I was going to be charged a further amount due to 'price differences'. Which is bull, because I had the prices up right in front of my very face, and it was the exact same price. The EXACT same price. Not even a cent difference.

Thought I finally found a reliable place. Hah. You people are even worse than all the other 'dodgy' places. At least they even try to pretend to have arbitrary agency fees. You guys make them up and blame it on the airlines.

Gutless!

Tip for consumers: Stay away obviously. I assume if you book a flight and there are no changes, it is fine. But otherwise, they'll find ways to rip you off.

Service
Ask Azzy about Priceline
michelleg44
New Reviewer
12/8/14

You may as well save your money and book your hotel through the hotels website! I booked through priceline ASSuming it would be cheaper but ended up costing $30 more than if I would have just booked it through the hotel.

Tip for consumers: Don't book through Priceline!!!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Michelle about Priceline
donh48
New Reviewer
12/2/14

If I could give lower than 1 star I would. Booked a room, fine. Arrived, checked in and later that day found my plans had changed and I was leaving two days esrly. No refund! Yup, they are forcing me to pay the whole bill. I am a small business and cannot ask my customer to eat three nights when I only stayed one. So this trip I loose everything I was hoping to make. Lousy customer service, lousy early departure policy, lousy company. My first and last experience with them.

Tip for consumers: DON'T

Service
Value
Returns
Ask Don about Priceline
andyn11
New Reviewer
11/26/14

We booked a car and read all the details, only to arrive on Thanksgiving eve for our family get together, to find that the rental car agency would not honor Priceline's confirmed rental agreement. I was upset at the car rental agency, but thended called Priceline support only to find that their confirmation is not binding and th ey could do nothing to help. They left me high and dry right before Thanksgiving. No recourse, no guarantee, no help, just sorry. I can't trust them again because they are a 3rd party administrator that can't honor their commitments, and they don't charge directly, so if things don't work out, it's no skin off their back, just leave you hanging.

Tip for consumers: Beware!

Ask Andy about Priceline
jasmina6
New Reviewer
11/26/14

Purchased travelers insurance only to discover that only death, severe injury or serious illness documented by a doctor are covered by the insurance which must be filled out in an extensive claim. This was not explicitly mentioned on the website. Even worse, the best price guaranteed is only applicable within the first 24 hours, I looked at the airline 36 hours after just out of curiosity and they were were cheaper than price line! All their commercials are false advertisement as well as their website! Never trust them they are bamboozlers. I spent half an hour with a customer service agent who was rude and not useful at all!

Tip for consumers: Go to the actual airline to purchase your plane ticket do not use priceline, it will be cheaper and they are way nicer!

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
Ask Jasmin about Priceline
gm41
New Reviewer
11/26/14

I'm so disappointed about a ticket sold by priceline for a flight leaving Montego bay Jamaica to Philadelphia on Air Canada. Bought the 2 ways tickets, and on the day scheduled to fly was informed by attendant, at the airport, I need to have a Canadian visa To board.If This was something with stipulations, why wasn't a disclaimer there? Try on numerous occasion to speak to someone and they kept giving me a run around or cutting me off how would I have know that this flight would require a Canadian visa if there's no notice to prevent the purchase. Air Canada and priceline is together in scamming people of the team money.they are telling me I can not get a flight exchange or my money back..and the Rude ASSOCIATE That HANDLED On Of The Call Kept Laughing As If it's funny. .telling me there's nothing we can do from our end..really I want others to be aware of this scam between Priceline and air canada. .The attendant at airport say daily people come and get sent home because they bought the same ticket connecting flight through air Canada from priceline. .can someone tell me what can be done to get some form of justice.

howardp16
New Reviewer
11/24/14

Priceline - think twice before you think it is a great price. Here is what could have been a real nightmare. I tried to check in online with the info provided by Priceline the day before our flight to no avail. It seems they did not issue a valid ticket when the airline changed flights; however, they did send the email indicating the change and provided invalid ticket information.

I called their phone support twice which was so poor that the second support person just transferred me to the airline reservation number. The online support track is below for your "enjoyment".

Hindsight being 20/20 I should have passed up Priceline and just booked with the airlines. I will never use them again. Overall I would rate my support experience range from (0 (lowest) - 5 (great) ):

Having to do Priceline's job of getting a valid ticket issued - 0
Priceline phone support knowledge - 1
Priceline phone support effectiveness - 1
Priceline chat helpfulness - 3

Average 1.25 = F



------- Online chat with price line ------

Please wait while we find an agent to assist you...
You have been connected to Sky.
Sky: Hi, Howard! Thanks for choosing to chat with us today, how may I help you?
Sky: Hi, Howard, I have not received a message from you in a while, are you still available to chat?
howard: First do not send me any priceline marketing materials to my email address. Somehow priceline is unable to connect to the airline and validate my ticket. I have spent all evening trying to get a valid ticket so I can check in. Your phone support is awful. I am now on hold with the airline trying to untangle this mess. It seems that the airline changed the flights, I got an update from price line that indicated the new flights. From what I could figure out the agent at price line did not update my reservation with the airline. If the airline cannot fix this mess I will need help from someone at price line who can. My trip number is xxx-xxx-xxx-xx. Note, if I had taken this to the airport tomorrow I would have missed my flight.
Sky: I'm sorry to hear that. I'd be happy to look into that, Howard. Please bear with me while I review your reservation.
howard: The airline is reviewing it now. Please review the notes, if any were taken on previous calls.
howard: To priceline.
Sky: Howard, I appreciate your patience. I have reviewed your information and I unsubscribe your e-mail. Please note that you will still receive emails from Priceline that are related to any reservations made on our website. The changes made will take effect within 24 hours. With regards to your airline concern, I determined that you will need to speak to a customer service agent to get the further assistance. I am going to send you a link that will provide you with instructions on how to be contacted by a customer service agent via the phone. When you open the link, all you need to do is to provide a U.S. or Canadian phone number and you will be connected to a phone service agent.
Click here to escalate to a phone call.
Sky: Howard, are you now connected to our phone customer service?
howard: I am on hold with the airline. I hope I do not have to speak with your customer service folks again.
howard plemmons: What service can be provided through the chat or is it just a channel to funnel calls to phone support?
Sky: I understand, the airline has also the ability to assist you with your airline reservation call our Travel Services team for further assistance.
Sky: I understand that you are anxious to have this resolved and I truly wish I was able to sort this out for you. However, the best department that can assist you further regarding your airline ticket changes is our Air Travel Services Specialist via phone service. They have direct access to the airlines reservations systems. Rest assured that I have documented your concern in your case.
howard: What exactly will that do?
howard: Thanks for your help.
Your session has ended. You may now close this window.

susanj34
New Reviewer
11/18/14

Never again. I was at airport, boarding pass in hand, checked luggage and could not get though gate. I had been "taken off" plane according to British Airways. No explanation as to why. I paid £172 to get flight back to U.S. Not my local airport but one further away, doubling my taxi fare to $132. When I got home I found email from Priceline. Sent two and a quarter hours before an international flight i.e. when already at airport and checked in. Tried to contact you..... Now when I take up issue as to why I was bumped from flight, the insufficient notice, Priceline tell me I accepted to pay £172 and to fly to different airport than the one closest to my house. I did not accept. I am a senior citizen and had nowhwere to stay, and anyway that day, the following day to my airport, all the same price and far too old to sleep in airport. I was FORCED to pay £172 to get back to the U.S. And other than email where are messages on cell phone and/or home land line. Difficult to post a complaint on their site too, very clever Priceline.

Stay away. And customer service made me wait on the phone for five minutes while they investigated. Call me back or is that wait time designed to make you give up?

stephaniem45
New Reviewer
11/13/14

I was considering using Priceline's name your own price for an international flight. I emailed them to ask a very simple question regarding adding infant on lap tickets, since Priceline does not offer this I wanted to get clarifiation as to if this could be done directly with any of the airlines they purchase tickets through....so I asked them do all the airlines they purchase the tickets through allow customers to call after receiving a winning bid to add/ purchase an infant on lap ticket? I kept getting run around answers, and finally after the 3rd reply back on the original email one person said no they could not gaurantee it; however on a separate email I sent, another rep said you surely can call them to add an infant ticket (like it wouldn't be a problem). Basically what Im trying to say is if you plan on bidding for a flight DO NOT expect for the airline to allow you to add/purchase an infant on lap ticket. And if they won't let you, then you are either out the money for the winning bid tickets or you have to try and purchase a separate ticket directly through the airline to have a ticket on the same flight as yours, I was very disappointed when I realized this could possibly happen. I figured that Priceline would gaurantee that the companies they purchase the tickets through would indeed add infant on lap tickets with a fee if applicable.

Tip for consumers: I've have never had any problems with using the site for bidding on car rentals.

Service
Ask Stephanie about Priceline
peggyh13
New Reviewer
11/7/14

Do not get a express deal! They will not do any changes what so ever and are very unaccommodating. I even offered to pay the difference if there was any and was turned down flat. I was traveling out of town to see a concert that got cancelled and they told me to call the hotel to see if the hotel was willing to do anything knowing the hotel would not. Just wasted more of my time along with my money.

Service
Value
Quality
Ask peggy about Priceline
jd82
New Reviewer
11/2/14

I booked a hotel through pricelines name your own price deal and was thoroughly disappointed. The hotel we bid on was 3.5 stars, with the only amenity included being a pool. However when we arrived at the hotel we were advised that there was an additional $10 mandatory resort fee which covered the cost of the pool. The unhelpful representative at Priceline, Louis, confirmed that per their terms and conditions, the hotel may charge an additional resort fee which we are required to pay and would not comment on how the pool was a guaranteed amenity in the price we had already paid. He emailed me the terms and conditions and directed me to read them for any questions. As a first time Priceline user, I feel tremendously taken advantage of and will no longer use this service. Beware of any purchases and know that any guaranteed amenities may come at an additional cost.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask J about Priceline
michelles66
New Reviewer
10/23/14

I have used priceline 3 times using name your price, all were very nice and I cannot complain. So I tried it a 4th time this week, book a room 3.5 star in Tucson, I was sold a room at the Sheraton Hotel Suites at 5151 Grant. The place is a dive, the BED BUG exterminator was fumigating rooms right above the room they assigned us. Mattress was covered in blood stains, room was old and run down. Complained was moved to what was considered upgrade, again blood but this time on the Sheets! Dog hair shed all over the white duvet cover. I called they said non refundable .. I will never use price line again. The hotel is pet friendly I think they gave us the DOG room because we used Priceline .. curtains were stained and filthy, bedding was not clean this place is a disaster.

Tip for consumers: Beware. Dont use name your price, you cant see where you will be staying until you make the purchase non refundable purchase.

Service
Value
Quality
Ask michelle about Priceline
jaid9
New Reviewer
10/22/14

My priceline experience was horrible....I do not feel as if the representative took time or ownership in my issue. I have dealt with 3 different reps since I made my first purchase with Priceline yesterday and have not been pleased with any of them. I will not recommend this site to anyone nor will I use it again. I have also advised priceline that I will be posting negative reviews anywhere I can. I am very displeased with the service I received. I lost money because of a mistake on the sites end and have yet to receive a portion of my funds back into my account. If a potion of my first purchase was not kept as a 'cancellation fee' then I would not have used this site at all to purchase my airline tickets. Horrible service

renw2
New Reviewer
10/16/14

DISASTER!!!!! Consider this a bait & switch site. Spent the last few days trying to book a flight but everytime I picked my outbound & my return & went to finalize it would say the fare just went up. The first couple of times I let it slide because I know this does sometimes happen but, it happened EVERY time. It finally left me no choices on a decent rate so I actually had to change my itinerary. Guess what...happened all over again, & again, & again, & again. How stupid was I to let all the decent fares available on the other internet sites go while I kept trying on priceline! The bottom line was when I contacted their chat site and complained that it was impossible that this happened repeatedly time after time over the couple of days. To add insult to injury the customer service agent was totally not helpful (must hear the same thing all day) and I had to go elsewhere where I got the first airfare I put in for....NO BAIT & SWITCH attempts. For a company that spends so much money on good customer relations what a horror....doesn't bode well for customer satisfaction does it????
P.S. just for fun spent the next several hours putting in for other airfares and guess what each time the rates mysteriously just "went up"
Think we should let priceline know we aren't going to deal with this type of deviousness.

Service
Value
Quality
Ask ren about Priceline
danielm129
New Reviewer
10/14/14

We recently booked a vacation package through Priceline.com: Hotel, Airline, and Rental Car. You see the price for the package and you think it is a superb deal well but there are some small hidden fees and other additional charges that are not even exposé though booking. Unluckily, you will find out about the extra charges the hard way after you have already paid/booked the deal.

eunp1
New Reviewer
10/12/14

Priceline is so full of crap!!! I made my deal/ offer for a 4 star or up and after making the deal...the hotel that they gave me was anything but a 4 star. AT MOST...it could be 3.5 stars. PRICELINE!!!! Don't B.S. your customers by adding that extra .5 star!!! It makes a huge difference!!!! I would rather pay the extra money to actually get a 4 star hotel!!!!! Now you morons left me with this crappy hotel. 4 star is 4 star!!!! NOT 3.5!!!! Also, customer service for priceline...that's another story!!! They are so rude and pure idiots. They speak from whatever appears on the computer screen...like robots and they don't realize they make no sense...except repeat themselves in difference wording. Hope Priceline goes out of business!!!! Scam scam scam!!!! The Star Trek guy who represents this idiot site should be embarrassed!!!!

BE CAREFUL WITH WHAT PRICELINE CONSIDERS A 4 STAR HOTEL. IT WILL MOST LIKELY BE 3.5 STARS. SPEND THAT LITTLE EXTRA MONEY TO ACTUALLY GET WHAT YOU PAID FOR!!!

Tip for consumers: careful with what they consider a 4 star hotel...it will most likely be 3.5 star. Spend that little extra $$$ to actually get what you paid for.

Ask eun about Priceline
alexi306
New Reviewer
10/8/14

terrible customer service!! After speaking with customer service for a long while they weren't able to provide me with the booking class of my ticket, so I will not be able to claim my miles... Never again I'll book with them, even if i's the best price, I prefer to have a team of proper professionals supporting me and giving me peace of mind.

Tip for consumers: Avoid

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Alex about Priceline
tshombaj
New Reviewer
10/6/14

The only reason I gave 1 star is because you had to give something. This Company is a RIP OFF. They lie about the hotel choices and there ratings. Customer service is the poorest customer service I ever had. Please check the companies web site or call them directly before booking on here. The prices are around the same if not cheaper. Third party companies SUCK!!!!

brianm98
New Reviewer
10/1/14

Bordering on Fraud - They have very deceptive business practices. I tried to book a hotel and found out it was not represented equally on the priceline site as it was in 3rd party ratings - they obviously edit their ratings. They refused to cancel blaming the hotel - when I spoke to the hotel they said they could cancel - if Priceline authorized it. They lost the lifetime value of my business over $60 bucks.

Tip for consumers: DONT USE PRICELINE FOR HOTELS

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Ask Brian about Priceline
nicolell
New Reviewer
9/27/14

It is my favorite travel company. They are providing good services and online ordered and any emergency reason if you cancelled the ordered the company owners and supervisors arrange facilities for this. You can use this site for booking for your travel. So I really thank full to their service.

jeremyol
New Reviewer
9/23/14

Priceline's most notable feature is the Name Your Own Price feature for booking hotels, flights and rental cars. I have utilize the chance for booking the rental car for going to door. It is more useful to booking fraction of second. And it gives more convenient to booking that. This site has to provide more instruction for getting the wonderful journey .

torio2
New Reviewer
9/22/14

I made a reservation and before I knew that they made a reservation for tonight and not two nights from now they had already processed the room. I have to drive 2 hrs to take my 4 yr old daughter in for mouth surgery. They asked I be there by 630 am. With 3 children we planned since I was going alone it would be best. When I called in and told them this they refused to change the dates. They said they'd discount the cancelation 50% if I rebooked the rooms. Fine but that's still $90 I have to pay in the end of they refund me. If not I pay $120 plus travel costs.
I asked for if I rebooked if they'd somehow put my daughters name and insurance number on it so I could submit it to insurance. (My insurance would refund one night due to the mix up and Priceline not working with us). They refused to put any of her information on the receipt so I could send it in. And wanted me to pay for insurance on the room.

I understand it's their policy. But most places would allow to change dates if you still pay them. And the fact it's a health related thing this is upsetting. So in return I get to pay double for a room or wake my 5 yr old, 3 yr old, and 3 month old baby up at 330 am and drive 2 hrs

Tip for consumers: Make sure you check everything. I will never again do service with Priceline. Been a 3 yr long client.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Tori about Priceline
frankiey
New Reviewer
9/20/14

I have used Priceline.com three times in the past three weeks. We are on a tour and all three times have done the convey deal. Each hotel we got was incredible and manner better than anything we would have booked in our price range. At the last hotel we were at, we had a difficulty with the reservation in the hotels system a Priceline immediately fixed the matter and were great to deal with.

clytiec
New Reviewer
9/19/14

I booked a trip on Priceline on August and required to cancel this month. They told me I can't cancel it due to non-refundable of the ticket. I didn't find out any "non-refundable" on my itinerary. I called them many times by oversea phone and spent a lot of time and money to find out the solution for cancel. BUT they always repeated the same words and re-sent the useless same email to me. I don't use priceline any more...

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Clytie about Priceline
brendan123
New Reviewer
8/29/14

horrible pricelines name should be. They flat out lied about my reservation, and said they tried to call; back to verify, and my phone did not ring, so after moms death I used them , when I got to airport, there were no reservations/ Had to pay 1000 for a 300 ticket and after the death, its not like I could wait for another reservation, time was important, what a rippoff site

Tip for consumers: dont

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Brenda about Priceline
jeannet27
New Reviewer
8/18/14

Priceline SUCKS. Deceptive business practices that don't conform to the industry standard for flexibility in making, changing or cancelling a car rental. Ridiculous foreign robots in their 'customer service' center did nothing to help--no other humans could intervene to establish good will. The price you 'bid' is not only binding--you don't get a change to accept or reject their offer, they don't show or tell you the hefty amount in fees you will pay that make their final 'offer' worse than going to other car rental search engines. Never will do business with them again! If I was allowed by this site to give ZERO stars, I would have.

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
Ask Jeanne about Priceline
meganm16
New Reviewer
8/15/14

I WILL NEVER IN MY LIFE BOOK WITH PRICELINE AGAIN!!!!

My name is Megan, I am writing you today to let you know how FRUSTRATED I am with Priceline and how you handle your customers!!!!!!
I was in San Diego for a get away and tried to book a room with your company but in the process I didn’t realize what time it was and just wanted to go to sleep because I had been up very early at a blood drive prior to going to California.. So my intention was to get a room for that instant but they did it for later that day and check in was @ 3! That’s NOT what I needed and asked for!!! So Immediately I called to let them know there was a MISTAKE, but it took 30 min on hold to EVEN SPEAK to someone!!!!!! By the time I had reached an agent I had drove to the Hotel to see if I could explain the situation to them but it said NO VANCANCY on the door so I explained what had happened and to your agent in which they explained that their was nothing they could do this reservation was non changeable or refundable! So as exhausted as I was I got angry because all I wanted to do was GO TO SLEEP!!! So I asked to speak to a supervisor and they sent me to customer escalation department and YES I got mad again because she would NOT help me!!!!! All I wanted to do was lay my head down and go to bed so yes I was LIVID when I couldn’t get HELP from anyone!!! So do you know that I had to SLEEP in my car for a few hours because I was exhausted and I couldn’t afford to get another room, Then drive 5 hours at 4am back to my house to go to sleep when this whole thing started at around MIDNIGHT!!!!!!!!! I have NEVER been treated so unfairly with a company as I had with PRICELINE!!! It is beyond unfair for anyone going threw this situation and hope this is NOT how you do business!!!

Sad to say I wrote this letter to priceline Because they would not let me speak to a Supervisor and when they responded to my letter they apologized but there was nothing they could do once I agreed to the booking….. This is the Biggest BS and I refuse to be treated like this. So EVERYONE beware of PRICELINE because they are the biggest A- HOLES I’ve dealt with……. Also I’m out $100 that they GLADLY kept!!!!!

Tip for consumers: PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THIS SITE!!!!

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
Ask Megan about Priceline
josw
New Reviewer
8/15/14

If I could give it negative one, I totally would. Priceline SUCKS!! I mistakenly scheduled my stay on the wrong day and asked to change the day (it was an entire month ahead of time), and they said they would, but that I had to pay a CANCELLATION FEE (the price of the room) and then pay for the room again on the other night. HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE.

Tip for consumers: DON'T.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Jos about Priceline
finleyw11
New Reviewer
8/9/14

Booked me in a poor quality hotel under renovation, bugs in room, no internet, poor tv quality, broken chairs, unfriendly staff and to top it off priceline overcharged me $30 a night over the hotels rate. Had to leave hotel after 5 days and spend the last 5 days of my trip somewhere else. Don't use priceline, they will not refund your money and overcharge you!!! They should be closed down by the government and sued by consumers for false advertising and price gouging!

stevenk41
New Reviewer
8/7/14

I had reserved on priceline.com then needed to change my reservation because of a death in the family. I spent five hours on the phone on hold - then passed back and forth from priceline's call center folks to Korean Airlines agents to try and get my flight changed without major expenses incurred. I appealed to these organizations to make the change without changing the price of our return tickets from the US to Thailand. Instead, we were charged $550 for each ticket. Seems bereavement is not a reason to serve the customer in this practical way.

angelm31
New Reviewer
8/4/14

Don't use them!!I booked a hotel with priceline and was called at 1120pm the night of check in. They informed me the hotel had no room available to me and there was no other rooms within a 40 mile radius. They did nothing to help me and only refunded amount paid.

miket71
New Reviewer
8/3/14

My wife and i were going to Hawaii, I paid $392.25 for a rent a car. Now we can't go and there is no refund of any kind.
So I called Hertz and they told me to go back to Priceline.
Where does the money go, I paid to rent a car, I paid $142.25 for taxes and fees.
Some how I feel these is illegal, I wish that I could take them to court, maybe I will talk to my attorney.
These money somewhere

lonnieh21
New Reviewer
7/31/14

Worst customer service. DONT USE THEM EVER. they booked my room 15miles from the area i selected and would not change it and will not receive a refund. THEY GET YOUR MONEY THATS ALL THEY WANT AND WILL DECEIVE YOU TO GET IT.

zb10
New Reviewer
7/29/14

Absolutely the worst customer service I have ever had! They lied and said the hotel I was booking had a pool, then when I called because it didn't. The customer service rep who isn't in the country had the arrogance the tell me that even though the pool icon was on the hotel I booked. The fine print that the had me initial actually says it doesn't actually have to have one. So they refused to help in any way!! Then they sent me a copy of their $#*!ty agreement just to prove they were right?! Screw you Priceline.com´╗┐!!! This is the second time in 4 days you have absolutely refused to help other than charge me the entire cost of my hotel to cancel so you can re-sell it to another person?? I promise you I will take my 100 days a year of hotel use anywhere else!!!! But just like the people I talked to on the phone and the comments below. You do not care about your customers not even a little..

billiem12
New Reviewer
7/21/14

DON'T USE THEM THEY WILL SCAM YOU OUT OF YOUR MONEY. Not happy with Price line I booked a motel and I have a pet and the motel isn't pet friendly and they will not change my hotel. I don't know what I'm going to do with my dog who is like my child and I don't send my dog to a boarding house. This will be my last time using price line.
They said I did not check a pet friendly motel and YES I did!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

kelleyw4
New Reviewer
7/18/14

Complete MONSTERS! Because of them I am missing my grandfathers funeral tomorrow!!! If me votive stars were allowed I would rate them that!!!!
I had to make and emergency flight to visit my grandfather who fell ill. I bought the flight and rental car package for $1200. Sadly my grand father passed away while I was visiting him. First I called the airline telling then my situation. They were more than willing to help me change my flight and at a very low price due to the circumstances. They however could not change the booking due to priceline being the "travel agent." I called priceline to ask if I could change my flight for only 3 days later told them that the airline was alright with it. Pricelines answer was "NO, it is against our policy to change a "non-refundable/changeable ticket" usually I would understand but this was a death in the family, not an extended vacation.
I kept asking to speak to someone higher up and was told that managers don't speak with customers over the phone but that I could mail them...not email, Snail mail!!! Eventually I got them to fold and give me a corporate number and called them. Shockingly I had to leave a message. No call back but a email explaining that it was the airlines fault!! Which it was not. It could not be changed unless priceline would allow it.
At one point I asked one of the awful customer service agents if it was her grandfather's funeral would price line change it for her?!?!? Her answer was that my question was irrelevant. How dare she!!
I was eventually told I could have a "partial" refund, which from what I've read here I most likely would never see and that I could purchase another ticket home. The only one I could find was $1000. I don't have another grand to throw around!
Unfortunately I could be just stuck in Iowa with out a flight home to Hawaii. I had to get on the original fight home. Horrible company and I will make sure to bad mouth them as much as I can!!

robertw101
New Reviewer
7/15/14

This company is nothing but a big scam I mean nothing.they made mistake when booking my vacation which cost me more than I bargain for in the wrong hotel and destinations of my vacation and when called they say can't change to original hotel or destination for my vacation so in other word it was their vacation not mine and no refund either .the hotel was run down and nasty.

robertd89
New Reviewer
7/11/14

Kayak sent me to priceline. Often I book on the airline itself but I said "why not just do it on priceline." I found out why. Virgin Australia has various levels of tickets ... saver light, saver, etc. Priceline did NOT distinguish or give me a choice, they just put one of my legs on saver light and one on saver. Thing is, the saver light has no baggage option (and carry on is a max of 15 pounds ... I am traveling from the U.S. I need clothes, etc.). Neither priceline or the airline would do anything ... well for a $80 x 2 fee they would. So instead of paying $10 for saver with baggage I am paying $35 x2 to be able to take luggage.

marya132
New Reviewer
6/29/14

We used priceline.com to book one of their "make a bid" hotels. We entered the dates and found out where we'd be staying. However, due to an emergency, we had to change our dates of travel, but priceline.com was not very helpful with this situation. We were allowed a one time only partial refund on our original booking, but this will never be allowed again, we were told. We were also charged a penalty fee which could be applied to a future booking. However, we will be using Hotels.com or a different booking site from now on. No more priceline.com for our family!

kimc53
New Reviewer
6/26/14

I booked a flight and hotel though Priceline. The hotel was awful. I tried to get a refund from the hotel and was told that they couldn't do it because I paid Priceline. I called Priceline about getting compensation and was told that it had to be approved by the hotel. I' m stuck in the middle. Nobody will step up and address the issue.

km53
New Reviewer
6/25/14

PRICELINE IS RUNNING A SCAM. I BOOKED A MOTEL WITH THE UNDERSTANDING THE 4TH NIGHT WOULD BE FREE. THAT ACCORDING TO PRICELINE CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS NOT TRUE EVEN THOUGH IT WAS PRINTED ON MY RECEIPT. IF THIS HAPPENED TO ME ITS HAPPENING TO ALOT MORE PEOPLE. WE WERE ON VACATION WHEN THE MOTEL ADVISED US OF WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THE 4TH NIGHT. NOT THE MOTEL FAULT ITS PRICELINE RUNNING A SCAM. DO NOT USE PRICELINE FOR ANYTHING.

ericb64
New Reviewer
6/20/14

If I could give priceline a no star or negative 5 rating, I would. I named my own price on a mini-van for a week about a month ago for $324 and some change for 8 nights. Basically $30 a day and some tax. Pretty good deal. I went tonight to pick it up from the airport and remember I had paid for it a month ago with my debit card. I knew I would probably have to give some money for a refundable deposit. When I get there(Avis), they don't accept debit cards. I don't use credit cards. I clearly filled that our on my booking of the van and it said nothing about needing a credit card. Avis guy was real sorry that he couldn't do the deal. Really not Avis' fault. So I called priceline and they said they could do nothing to help. I lost it! I went back and forth with them, finally got them to refund my money, I might get it back in a couple of weeks. Who knows????!!!!! STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!!!

micheller30
New Reviewer
6/15/14

I have used other "Travel Sites", and now, I'm a Priceliner. I see no need to "check 'em all". Priceline's site, and my overall travel experience using Priceline, was four stars plus.

oral184
New Reviewer
6/9/14

I booked a hotel and while it was given a 3 star rating, this hotel is old and does not compare with the hotels they mentioned in their ad. They refused to change eventhough I offered to pay more. i was mislead about the level of the hotel.

jamesb154
New Reviewer
6/3/14

I had to cancel a ticket booked through them. There was a clearly stated cancellation policy that I followed with some fees. However, once the ticket was cancelled, no one could help me re-book the ticket. All kinds of claims were made and people handed me around without helping me. Extremely poor service.

noahw11
New Reviewer
5/29/14

No customer service after the sale. Once they had my money they refused to give me an itemized receipt for reimbursement from the research hospital handling the cancer treatment. They just said tough luck while we lost money we could use in paying for treatment.

I'll never use them again.

jessicaw31
New Reviewer
5/27/14

I like Priceline when hotels iare booked and I need fast help. However, I am not a big fan of being part of a loyalty program, b/c it makes it harder to cancel or re-book hotel rooms/flights when you run it through an external sites. Overall great experience, but not 5 stars.

mattb69
New Reviewer
5/24/14

i visit this site a lot when i book rental cars. it always shows me good deals, but booking with the rental place directly is even cheaper most of the times. anywho, it does provide a good overview over prices and the rental places there are at my chosen location. i always check which rentals are present first and then check directly with them.

1 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Priceline staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
Q: How reliable is is name your own price air ticket with price line? How long is their lay overs? Is the time they book me guaranteed and not to change?
1/24/13
solb1
A: This post relates to "Name Your Own Price" transactions only.

READ THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS!!!

Are there refunds? No, there are no refunds on "Name your price" transactions - so be sure before you buy.

Can I find a better price somewhere else? Yes, you may find a better price somewhere - so check before you buy

Do they charge fees? Yes, they charge fees for the service - but they are fully disclosed before you buy.

Can I pick my exact hotel? No, you pick a minimum diamond level - descriptions of Priceline's rating system is on the website.

Will they finally give in and issue you a refund if you email them 100 times or more (or 1,000)? No. They stick to their rules - if not, then they would defeat the purpose and business model of the "Name Your Own Price" program.

Will the hotel charge you additional fees? Possibly, but the same as if you would have made the reservation through the hotel itself or through another travel site.

Are there refunds? Sorry, the answer still hasn't changed.

I think the vast majority of complaints and negative reviews on this site are due to people not reading or understanding what they were doing. And yes, I have lost hotel rooms that wer epaid for because my plans changed at the last minute but that was understood when I clicked on the "Buy my hotel room" button so would not result in a bad review.

Are there refunds? Keep trying - still none.

How about now? Nope!
9/8/11
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
Questions? Get answers from the Priceline staff and other consumers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • From where do products ship?

2 Coupons for Priceline

No coupon code needed
Shop now at Priceline to save!
Go to Priceline
Priceline.com

7 Photos for Priceline

From reviewers

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business