SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of LightInTheBox

LightInTheBox reviews

1783 reviews
87%
.
Beijing, China 100015, China
feedback@lightinthebox.com
Halloween Sale! Up to 90% Off & Free Shipping!
Visit Us

1,783 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Review Highlights

enriquev3

Good experience!!!Fast shipping, great customer service!!! (in 167 reviews)

cmrr

I ordered my wedding dress, flower girl, and brides maid dresses from Light in the Box. (in 32 reviews)

bonip

fantastic quality products, arrived on time, very well priced, will use them again (in 21 reviews)

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

meganc18
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/29/15

Twice now (about to be three times) I've ordered from Light in the Box and products have been good. I stick to pieces of jewelry which have been just fine so far (Think Claire's quality if you're in the US, just a few bucks cheaper), some sandals (fit perfectly when I converted the sizes from US to EU), and two shirts. Also ordered purses and have loved them so far. Both have come neatly packaged and undamaged by post.
Here's the kicker, the sizing on clothing seems to get everyone. Tried to order a XXL and that was way too tight. I have another order with two XXXL shirts and I hope it works per the conversion chart that Light in the Box has provided on the site.
The shipping is a nightmare and I don't buy anything that isn't marked "Free Shipping" because it simply isn't worth it. It's going to take a month or more to arrive so might as well get it as cheap as possible.

Tip for consumers: Don't expect quick shipping no matter what option you mark; save your money and give it at least a month to arrive.
Stick to items of clothing that aren't the end of the world. I would never recommend a custom dress because of thin material, sizing issues, etc. but wearing a t-shirt and ordering your wedding gown from here are two different risks.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Ask Megan about LightInTheBox
Advertisement
cherylb27
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/28/15

Can't understand this site , looked at reviews not looking good ordered a pair of shoes , two weeks ago , could not understand why after ordering they didn't email me straight away, try to go and see where my order was , would not take my past word , try to create another one to no avail they kept sending new passwords still can't get intouch , customers service well no number erm just have to wait and see if I get my shoes , they where quick enough to take money , sites don't usually do that till goods are dispatched . won't be dealing with them again .

Tip for consumers: Crap

Service
Value
Ask Cheryl about LightInTheBox
wendyc34
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/28/15

Before you place an order with these fools ask yourself one question, "Do I want to give my money away?"
I am happy for not spending a lot of money on the order otherwise I would be kicking myself. I always test things before spending a lot of money on any products on the internet. After all, you never really know what they are going to send you.

I received an email letting me know they shipped my order, except that the address on the shipping order is going to someone else.

Try getting a hold of a customer service rep and you are out of luck! Nothing but re-routing to the same thing, nothing. Keep your money, we should all just go shopping and support our local small businesses instead. I have learned my lesson and will never use lightinthebox.com again, they should change their name to darkinthebox.com because that's exactly how I feel, in the freaking dark!

Ask Wendy about LightInTheBox
theresar6
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/26/15

I ordered a formal pink dress with a wrap, and the quality of the dress is excellent as is the fit. I have no complaints, thank you for making such a beautiful dress for me for my daughter's Wedding. I will order again from you.

Ask Theresa about LightInTheBox
jok27
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/22/15

This is a scam site they take your money and I am still waiting for my order along with thousands of others according to the complaints on Facebook and tweeter
DO NOT ORDER FROM THIS SITE

Ask Jo about LightInTheBox
susang62
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/21/15

Well worth the 2 months wait.
My daughter ordered a dress for her prom.
Perfect fit
Wedding quality
No complaints
Where do you buy a Grad Dress for $70 custom made brand new
$30 duty

She is very happy with her grad dress
The school ladies at Brockville Collegiate Institute are jealous. lol

We will sell the dress at a consignment store for $300

Happy Mom and daughter

Tip for consumers: Lily order her dress and she was worried it would not come from the bad reviews

So she bought this black one
She is wearing both lol
So here is a great review on The Light in the Box
Take a chill pill when you order
Took 2 months for delivery

Very Happy Daughter- hard to believe lol

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Ask Susan about LightInTheBox
shazneeni
1 review
7 helpful votes
5/20/15

I had ordered online and got a confirmation as my credit card was deducted for the amount of the product. I received an email stating the order date which was 25MARCH'15 and the shipment date which was 26MARCH. Its been almost 2 months now and I haven't received my shipment.

I now believe this is a fraud company. Please donot get carried away by the low prices and products

Ask Shazneen about LightInTheBox
darenm12
1 review
6 helpful votes
5/19/15

I have spent a total of about $200 buying from this site over the past 3 months. This is my experience with them:

- Every single clothing piece was too small
- Ties were nothing like they looked in the pictures.
- To return an item once purchased costs a lot

They are obviously Asian stockists using Asian sizes. My goodness, I got an XL which wouldn't even fit a teenage boy. I would love to get a full refund for all my purchases, but it is just far too hard to even find on their website how to organise this. I would strongly advise that you not purchase clothing from this site.

Ask Daren about LightInTheBox
wingh
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/13/15

I have ordered a coat, the material used is of poor quality.

Ask Wing about LightInTheBox
taniaa6
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/13/15

First and LAST time I order from them, if only I'd taken the time to read these reviews from others. Now I'm still waiting for an order I place early march, first got lost, resent still waiting. Very unprofessional customer service whom all replies are generic based, can't their staff communicate ? NEVER AGAIN !!!

Ask Tania about LightInTheBox
kater46
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/13/15

Have brought some items from them, what aload of rubbish. really bad quality! not responding to any emails about returning the items.

Ask kate about LightInTheBox
emala1
1 review
8 helpful votes
5/11/15

I hate this site for they are deceitful & burglars. After paying the amount of about £200 as price & postage I received something like a kitchen cloth instead of the beautiful night dress they advertise. They left me desperate the day of my son's wedding. Anybody help me sue them to refund my money?
By the way this is the second time I'm writing a review but received no response yet.

Ask Emal about LightInTheBox
rinkus1
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/2/15

Products are not as per shown and very cheap quality as good as road side product

Ask Rinku about LightInTheBox
joeyl15
1 review
11 helpful votes
5/1/15

Not only do they take your money for a cancelled order (within 12 hours) but it appears my card has been used in China, shortly after I handed over my card details to them.

Since there is no way I can even contact Customer Services, no email, no phone, no instant chat, nothing! I just expect they've taken my money without any intention of refunding it. I suppose I should count myself lucky, many others (from what I've read) were more unfortunate and have lost hundreds of dollars.

This site exists to take your money by any means possible! by lying and cheating (sending out rubbish to appear legal) they will make millions by the time the US government catches up with them. PLEASE STAY AWAY!!!

Ask joey about LightInTheBox
jillm25
3 reviews
12 helpful votes
4/30/15

There is NO customer service. It does not exist. Please note the generic response they are giving to all of your complaints, someone just sits there and pushes that response button all day long. If you look at their personal light in the box review page (written by them of course), you will see literally HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS of good reviews from around the world. Think they pay their employees to just sit there and write these made up glowing reviews. I had a bad experience with them and my credit card has flagged them, you should all do so as well. I tried to place a $268 order, free shipping that they wanted to charge me $22 for, only to have my card denied. Tried again a few hours later after checking my perfectly good card, there was my order saved, but when I got to payment page, the amount was well over $500, stating offers had expired...they had not, had another 17 hours to go, the sale prices were RIGHT THERE on the items!!! I canceled the whole darn thing, notified my card to red flag them...this is a sham/scam company, BEWARE!!!! If you get screwed, it's your own fault, the old expression, if it sounds too good to be true applies here a hundred fold. Don't push that payment button until you have quadruple checked your order, and good luck ever receiving it, you will get no confirmation, no other contact from them, ever.

Ask jill about LightInTheBox
mjf1
1 review
7 helpful votes
4/27/15

A very IMPORTANT thing to note which is in their FINE PRINT is that you will have to pay for the customs duty fee - 16% of your total order + $7. My order total was $256 and I had to pay $48.09.The clothes are of extremely poor quality. I donated half of the clothes to Goodwill because the fabric and make were of poor quality, and the fit was even worse. The photos on the website do not represent what you're getting AT ALL. All the reviews they have posted on each item are FAKE. Don't even bother posting anything if it's negative as they will just delete it. I would NEVER recommend buying from this company. They also only ship using DHL, which has the worst customer service. They say you can track your shipment, but you CAN'T. I guess I deserve all of this for being stupid enough to buy anything directly from China.

Ask MJ about LightInTheBox
jessical70
1 review
8 helpful votes
4/21/15

I've placed many orders with lightinthebox.com over the years and I feel that with every order I'm more and more disappointed. On my two most recent orders the order processing time was listed on each item as 1-4 days. They took 9 & 7 days to process the orders. Then when they were shipped I was provided with tracking numbers that don't work. I tried every site and resource I could find to make sure I was tracking on the proper service with no success. I understand that these are coming from china, and the lower price comes with slower shipping. But to provide incorrect/non-existent tracking numbers and to take over twice as to process my order is taking advantage of your customer. You can't even contact them to get any explanation or updates. My first few orders I was so happy with but with each one I've been more disappointed and don't think I'll order from them again.

Tip for consumers: Do not order anything if you need it right away. It will most likely not get there in the first estimated time you were given. Also, sizes are NOT US SIZES. Always order bigger! If you are a small in the US, buy a medium.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Ask Jessica about LightInTheBox
zor38
1 review
7 helpful votes
4/13/15

Finally received my package last week, after ordering it at the end of Feb 2015 (its now April!). Came over on a boat from China and I ended up paying £60 for 2 clocks, then £20 for shipping - OK I knew this would be the cost and went ahead with the order. When it arrived with parcel force I had to pay another £40 customs charges before parcel force would release it for delivery! Absolute rip off, the hands on one of the clocks is bent, but I'm not paying more money out on customs! STAY AWAY FROM THIS SITE if you are ordering from the UK! Cheap tat from China!!!!
If you haven't had your parcel yet, don't worry it will arrive in the next 3 months, I just hope yours is worth waiting for!!

Ask Zo about LightInTheBox
chrisf60
2 reviews
322 helpful votes
4/12/15

I have used a few other sites of similar caliber in the past, Tmart ( never ever will i use them again after they sold products which could kill my family) Banggood, buyincoins, focalprice etc, but i always come back to Light / mini. Some people complain about length of delivery, yet they have not looked at the options saying free super saver can take 10-20 days, or you can pay for a faster delivery, i would rather wait those few more days as its so much cheaper!

I have only given a 4 star due to the complicated way of redeeming vouchers and offers. I pay for my goods in UK pounds, but the coupon has to be used in US $!

Tip for consumers: Remember lightinthebox and miniinthebox are essentially the same company. If you have not ordered in a space of time they sometimes send you money coupons to buy stuff for free. Example, i get a $4 voucher for Lightinthebox, and a $2 for miniinthebox and both can be used at the cheaper mini, but watch the P&P!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Chris about LightInTheBox
divs
1 review
13 helpful votes
4/7/15

I had placed an order on March 9th from light in the box. It was shipped on March 10th and the tracking number is CP0000026449084. When I click the track button, it says error. No such tracking number exists.

Ask Div about LightInTheBox
dodiee
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
4/6/15

Foolishly, I made a few orders from this company over a week.
Two orders say they have been shipped, and have said so for a week, but haven't arrived.
The last order was cancelled because I was asked for a photo of my ID and credit card! What's more, the funds haven't been returned to me yet. Furthermore, I can't reach them about it because it's listed as closed.
Update: Squeeky wheel gets the oil. Trying to get my money back... Just under $200... I sent an email to every email address I came across on the site. Today my funds were returned to me.

Service
Shipping
Returns
Ask Dodie about LightInTheBox
georgeh62
1 review
9 helpful votes
3/30/15

Customer service is taking the mick, Ordered couple of cables (usb to 3.5mm) on the 18feb - in stock delivery at the time of purchase up to a week, a week later changed to 20 days, still waiting for the goods... Customer service declared the "Ticket" to be "Resolved" - still no money nor any interest from Litb...

Tip for consumers: Don't

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask George about LightInTheBox
miguels24
1 review
9 helpful votes
3/25/15

I did an order on 22th. Shipping time frame was 3-5 business days since I paid 21,14€ for Express Delivery and they now say on My Order page:
Received Payment - All Shipped Pending Processing - Estimated shipping date April 01, 2015, which they are 10 days just to send it and then, I guess, another 3-5 business days as they say or maybe more.
I have tried to get a ticket to get in touch with Customer Service but I can't see any link or email or whatever.
This is the only thing I got: http://www.lightinthebox.com/knowledge-base/c1192/a2974.html ; and it is useless because I have read several times what the page says but as I told before there is nothing on there to get a ticket or email to contact them.
I just wanted to ask a couple of things but it is impossible!

Ask Miguel about LightInTheBox
moniquer4
4 reviews
8 helpful votes
3/23/15

I ordered my wedding shoes and jewelry from them, not knowing they were overseas. Had I known that I would not have placed the order. And the agent that I "text" with had very good English grammar so there was no give away that they were overseas. I didn't know that until I read reviews on their site about people who liked their product, but weren't told about the custom fees. Fees? What fees? I wasn't told about this by the agent! I was furious. I chatted with another agent and was told they couldn't tell me if there would be fees or not. I was nervous. I was worried that a $40 order was about to turn into a $100+ order. But I was stuck. Because while they had the same shoes on Ebay it was clear they were in China so there was no point in placing an order there...so I just waited.

I got my order within a month of ordering it and low and behold, I didn't have any custom fees, but then there was the product. I cringed while opening the box and...WOW!! Everything looked good. The shoes were nice and the jewelry was beautiful.

So why 3 stars? For deception and lack of honesty. While I got my product they lied to me and also took an additional amount (only about $2, but none the less they took it) from my credit card. I cancelled that card immediately and got a new one. I didn't like worrying about customs. They know if there will be custom fees and don't tell. I wouldn't order from them again because of that reason and because I've seen way too many poor reviews on places on other than their website, which leads me to believe the website is in house because NO one gets 5 stars across the board on every product that they sell.

Ask Monique about LightInTheBox
saharf
5 reviews
4 helpful votes
3/16/15

i bought too many things from light in the box
they are amazing and have the best customer service, if any thing is defective or you are not satisfy with the product they have solution ,also the flash sale page they have huge discount
many thanks for light in the box

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask sahar about LightInTheBox
sheilac8
1 review
9 helpful votes
3/16/15

LightIn the Box is quick to send advertising emails after receiving your order but incredibly slow to send the actual ordered goods. i ordered a couple of weeks ago and am still waiting. I can't contact customer service because the new password they sent me doesn't work. Now I'm wondering if the site's a scam.

Service
Shipping
Ask Sheila about LightInTheBox
thomasp40
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/16/15

everything was just what it was supposed to e

Ask thomas about LightInTheBox
naivig
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/11/15

EL PRENTE MENSAJE ES PARA NOTIFICARLES SOBRE EL PEDIDO NUMERO 1501251711344043 DE UN MONTO DE MXN $ 6,170.64QUE REALIZE CON USTEDES Light in the Box EN ENERO
EL CUAL ESTUBE SIGUIENDO EN DHL USTEDES ME HICIERON LLEGAR UNA NOTIFICACION QUE ME PUSIERA EN CONTACTO CON DHL , ELLOS ME DIJERON QUE ENVIARA EL COMPROBANTE DEL PEDIDO Y TODOS LOS ARTICULOS COMPRADOS ASI COMO UNA CARTA QUE ESPECIFICARA EL USO DE LOS MISMOS PARA SU LIBERACION EN ADUANA, QUE LO ENVIARA A LA SEÑORITA STEPHANIE HERNANDEZ Y QUE TENIA COMO MAXIMO HASTA EL 23 DE FEBRERO .DICHOS DOCUMENTOS LOS ENVIE EL 16 DE FEBRERO Y ME DIJERON QUE ELLOS ME MANDARIAN UN CORREO PARA SEGUIR CON EL PROCESO LO CUAL NO SUCEDIÓ, EL 23 HABLE A DHL PARA PREGUNTAR Y ME DICEN QUE YA ESTABA CANCELADO Y QUE IBA A RETORNAR A CHINA,PARA LO CUAL LES PEDI UNA EXPLICACION PUESTO QUE YO HABIA MANDADO A TIEMPO LOS REQUISITOS QUE PEDIAN, ME DIJERON QUE IBAN A SER LO POSIBLE POR RETENERLO QUE VOLVIERA A MANDAR LA MISMA DOCUMENTACION Y A LA MISMA SEÑORITA EN ESE INSTANTE LO CUAL HICE , ESTUVE HABLANDO A DHL PARA SABER SI LLEGO EL MENSAJE ME DIJERON QUE SI PERO QUE ESPERARA HASTA LAS 5:15 DE LA TARDE PARA SABER Y QUE VOLVIERA A HABLAR , VOLVI A LLAMAR Y ME DIJERON QUE NO SE PUDO HACER NADA Y ME COMUNICARON A ADUANA CON STEPHANIE HERNANDEZ A LA CUAL LE DIJE QUE ELLA ERA LA RESPONSABLE DE QUE EL PAQUETE SE HUBIERA REGRESADO PORQUE YO LE HABIA MANDADO LA DOCUMENTACION A TIEMPO Y QUE ELLA NUNCA SE COMUNICO CONMIGO PARA LO CUAL ME DIO LA SIGUIENTE EXPLICACION: “ SRA. LO QUE PASA ES QUE SON MUCHAS PRENDAS Y NO SE PUEDEN SACAR TODAS EN UN SOLO BULTO Y ESTOS DIAS DEL 16 AL 23 ESTUBE HABLANDO CON LOS DIRECTIVOS PARA SU LIBERACION Y SE FUERON LOS DIAS Y NO SE PUDO, PERO VOY A PEDIR SU REGRESO HOY MISMO EN EL MISMO ENVIO A CHINA VOY A ENVIAR LA DOCUMENTACION PARA QUE LOS REGRESEN Y VOY A ESTAR MUY AL PENDIENTE DE ESTE CASO ENTIENDO SU MOLESTIA PERO ESTUVO FUERA DE NUETRO ALCANCE Y CUANDO LO REGRESEN LO VAMOS A PEDIR QUE LO DVIDAN EN DOS BULTOS” POR FAVOR QUE EXPLICACION TAN ILOGICA, LA CANTIDAD NO TIENE NADA QUE VER AL MENOS QUE ESTE EQUIVOCADA.
PARA ESTO HOY ME HABLAN DE DHL Y ME INFORMAN QUE DHL CHINA NO PUDE REGRESAR EL PAQUETE QUE SOLO SI USTEDES Light in the Box SE LO PIDEN LO PUDE HACER QUE YO LES MANDARA UN MENSAJE, QUE ELLOS YA LO HICIERON (LO DUDO).
ES POR ESTO QUE LES PIDO DE LA MANERA MAS ATENTA VEAN LA MANERA DE QUE MI PEDIDO SEA DEVUELTO A MEXICO, QUE SE LO PIDAN A DHL CHINA PUESTO QUE YA LES INFORME LA PROBLEMÁTICA Y QUE YO SOY LA AFECTADA, Y EN EL CASO DE DE QUE NO PUEDA SER DEVUELTO QUE ME DEN EL IMPORQUE QUE PAGUE YA QUE NO RECIBI EL PRODUCTO.

LES ENVIO EL NUEVO NÚM. DE GUIA QUE ME PROPORCIONARON DE DHL MEXICO CON EL QUE SE REGRESO A CHINA ESO ES LO QUE ME DIJERON: 4450904776 Y EL NUMERO DE REPORTE ES 286834064
PORFAVOR AYUDENME O MANDENME UN CORREO O NUMERO TELEFONICO AL QUE YO ME PUEDA DIRIGIR POR QUE EN LA PAGINA de Light in the Box NO ENCUENTRO COMO PARA ESTE PROBLEMA
ESPERO QUE SU RESPUESTA SEA FAVORABLE, GRACIAS,

NAIVI GUTIERREZ HUERTA

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask naivi about LightInTheBox
maryb161
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/11/15

I ordered 3 items on January 27th, product was shipped on January 31st supposedly. Shipping time frame was 6-8 business days. Never received shipment as of today, March 11. First contact with company and they said, tracking shows it's in NY. At that time it had already been past the 6-8 business days. They told me they would resend and refund cost of shipping. Next contact, they can't do anything for me as product shows it's been delivered. I STILL DON'T HAVE THE PRODUCT. If nothing else they should refund the shipping costs. I would never buy from this company again.

Tip for consumers: If you are really going to buy from this company, I would not do it unless you use a shipping method that requires signature.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Mary about LightInTheBox
tomh109
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
3/10/15

Hello
What a tedious and long wait for answer - something like Waiting For Godot – after LightInTheBox has closed down my ticket(s) and no possibility for costumer to contact for explanation.
Anyway, with the intention to save some $$$ buying items from LITB, I did make several purchases with the Asia based company LightInThebBox during Black Friday 2014 (including Cyber Monday) and used [to no avail!] some coupons to pay less money prior to checking out and placing the order in the basket.The items bought were of quite good quality for the announced Internet price but the quality in sewing and choice of fabrics is way below poor standard @ the selling price that LITB demands. I am fully aware that when buying clothes over the Internet without even having the possibility to try on the garment(s) for correct sizing puts the buyer at risk of getting the wrong product(s), but the worst is that LITB has measurements for small 5 year old children in their measurement table pertaining to the description of the clothes your placing an order on - instead of the correct size for adults! Also I had the bad luck of receiving all clothes drenched in some suspicious chemical substance (maybe hazardous) that smells terribly awful, causing the blocking of airways and making it impossible to breathe as this activates my asthma.[LightInTheBox has received my written complaint about this and replied me that they are sorry for the inconvenience; but I doubt that the company bothers as it seems that making money on costumers is the prime function of this business]. Furthermore LightInTheBox has very unclear information on additional costs that will be added to the paid price when shipment has left China and must be paid at delivery (even though I chose not to use postal services that costs a lot more for delivering the small parcel at my door) in my country.It is also important to note that this does not include the customs, clearing, postage, handling, fees, insurance, … which at the end makes the entire purchase far more expensive than buying branded high quality goods with warranties over the counter in a store.
I’m not the person who is angry but this experience is not too good as only one part of my return has been received back for refund whereas the other parcel (in the same size and weight) that was sent (also in the same manner as the first smaller parcel) back has not yet arrived at its* differing destination in the UK.The answer LITB sent me is that the items – 2 parcels?- is received; I did send pictures of respective parcel prior to sending the shipment away.
Four months have passed, money has been paid, items received but service in warranties for returning the clothes for refund is up till now non-existent.I’m beginning to feel unsure of this whole business as no clear answer has been given to me because of the impossibility to reopen any of the tickets that LightInTheBox has closed.
Maybe LightInTheBox wants to have non-returning costumers as their service is totally lame due to inadequate information proclaiming that all costumers get 100% service if some problem occurs with any the purchase from LITB?
Important to add is the fact that LightInTheBox have miscalculated the amount of our agreed cost that is to be transferred back to my bank account; prior to paying all the items for shipment I took a copy of the order that later was placed, as a warranty.
In this situation I do not know what to do and indefinitely waiting for answer that most probably does not correspond to the mutual agreement between content and happy costumer and the company LightInTheBox will - then - definitely not be my cup of tea.

Tip for consumers: Watch out for additional costs on any purchased goods if your delivery adress for shipping is outside China; most likely you'll have to pay additional customs along with extra charges.
Communication with LITB is impossible.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Tom about LightInTheBox
mahipaly
1 review
7 helpful votes
3/7/15

Order No: 1502280211941465
Oder Date: 28 Feb 2015
Order Value: $ 348.17
First item was shipped using DHL(waybill no:9660363790). Shipment never left China and was returned to origin within 3 days.
Then it was again shippend via Express Mail Service China(EMS Tracking No: EA051412558CN).
Status has not changed since 4 March 2015. I think yhis website is fraud. I dont know if I will get the items for which I have alreadty paid $ 348.17.

Tip for consumers: This website is a fraud. Dont buy anything from this website.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Mahipal about LightInTheBox
peterr49
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/1/15

Long story short, brought an in car dvd entertainment system $400 it lasted 3 months and the sound has dropped on the left channel, have sent countless emails but no answer. Total crap for the money that I spent!

Peter Russi Brisbane Australia

Tip for consumers: Just hope it breaks down before the paypal claim process time limit expires

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Peter about LightInTheBox
emmat30
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/1/15

I doubt many of the 5 star reviews are genuine

Ask Emma about LightInTheBox
alexanderb45
1 review
7 helpful votes
2/28/15

Did not get my money back for the cancelled order.
Seems there is a robot in helpdesk, no way to resolve the issue after 1.5 months of disputing. Sad.

Service
Ask Alexander about LightInTheBox
meganl18
1 review
7 helpful votes
2/25/15

I ordered back in DECEMBER 3 items (It is now almost March). I hadn't received them over a month later, so I decided to contact them. They told me they were sorry and resent the items to me. It has now been an additional month and I still hadn't received the package. They sent it to the United Arabs rather than United States. They stated that that was the address I had given, needless to say I know I didn't. Miraculously even though I shipped to my billing address, they still received their money. How was my bill charged if I didn't give the proper information? And how did they not receive these items stating that it was an invalid address before the fact? None of which makes sense. It should have been declined in the payment route.

Now they are telling me I have to reorder the items that are more expensive now, and wait for my refund until they get the products back. Awful customer service tactic. I haven't received my items in over two months, they were sent to the wrong place, and now you are telling me I have to reorder for a higher price and wait for a refund?? That has got to be a joke.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Megan about LightInTheBox
enricob1
1 review
6 helpful votes
2/24/15

I ordered around 170$ of goods from lightinthebox.com. An i payd with my card.
I received a mail asking me to send them a picture of the credit card (with numbers and expiration date covered) and a copy of my documents and i replied.
After this i received an e-mail "your order has been canceled. You will receive back your money a.s.a.p." I am ever waiting.
No way to contact customer service: order is closed, so no tickets, e-mail doesnt work and phone number is busy.

UPDATED:
Money received back after around a week. Without any message and information from their side. At least, problem closed.

Tip for consumers: buy from ebay, and possibly from europe. You don't risk this kind of problems.

Service
Returns
Ask Enrico about LightInTheBox
jayw31
5 reviews
24 helpful votes
2/20/15

I was about to place a huge order for my store, when I decided to look up the reviews since I could not find a phone number. Boy am I glad I did, I did not place that order, these company from other counties are not any good. Don't order from them. There are many negative reviews.

Ask jay about LightInTheBox
katherineg6
22 reviews
7 helpful votes
2/16/15

I love that they give me store credit but some of their products are worse quality than what you get at the dollar tree. it doesn't matter how cheap it is if it breaks or falls apart a few days or hours after you et it

Ask Katherine about LightInTheBox
mariea24
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/13/15

I ordered wedding invitations on the 31st January - on the website it states it will be delivered in 8 days and has already been shipped - it has now been 2 weeks and I still haven't received them also the tracking number is incorrect. I have contacted the courier and they could not locate the tracking number either

Ask Marie about LightInTheBox
crystalw14
1 review
4 helpful votes
2/11/15

I ordered my wedding dress on January 20th. It was set to ship on February 7th and it did just that! My dress reached the United States in one day I received my dress via DHL without any extra fee's or problems on January 9th. My dress is GORGEOUS, it looks wayyy better in person than on the website. The only advice I would give to a bride placing an order with light in the box is to have your correct measurements and go up two sizes. I was measured at a size 14 in a local bridal shop but I decided to order my dress two sizes bigger which would be a size 16 and it fits just right! I am one happy Bride!

Ask crystal about LightInTheBox
shellie11
1 review
7 helpful votes
2/4/15

Scam. Picture of the dress I ordered was definitely NOT the dress they shipped to me. It was similar, but a poor quality reproduction (knock off). The dress is meant for a flower girl-for a wedding. Very poor quality and using a picture of a better quality dress with no intention of actually providing the dress pictured is deceptive and unfair business practice.If the actual picture of the actual dress was what I was looking at while shopping I would have never chose to order it. I did however receive the order in a timely manner.

UPDATE: This is their reply. Had they provided picture of the actual dress they sold I never would have chose to order it!! I don't care if it looks similar and they believe the quality compares. It is fraud. It is not the same dress! The material is very cheap and the dress looks like the cheap dress-up dresses you buy in the toy section at Wal-mart. I would not put this on my child for church and absolutely not for a wedding. They should not be allowed to operate in this way.

"We are sorry, but after viewing the provided photos, we are unable to see any quality issues with the items you have received. But please do not worry as your return is still accepted.

Please make sure the return item is in brand-new condition, unused and with original tags and packaging.

We have cooperation with US UPS service and can provide you a pre-paid UPS return label. You don't need to pay to UPS while the return shipping fee $6.40 will be deducted from the refund."

Ask Shelli about LightInTheBox
ca10278
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/27/15

Ordered a ceiling light fixture from them. Same shipping issues as others - took weeks to arrive and then had to pay duties/taxes and brokerage fees. Once it finally arrived it was exactly the look I wanted. HOWEVER, the lamp is impossible to install, therefore, completely useless. Not compatible with, nor approved for any north american type standards for both installation and safety. Unsuitable/incompatible housing and dangerous wiring. Illegal, unsafe and no electrician can or will install. So many products sold in North America are made in China and are approved, therefore, acceptable for use here. This company obviously doesn't bother with any of that!

Tip for consumers: Not worth the hassle and an unusable product. Waisted money!

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Ask C about LightInTheBox
trouscien
1 review
8 helpful votes
1/20/15

POOR POOR POOR SHIPMENT SERVICE!!!! BEEN MORE THAN A MONTH SINCE ITEMS WERE SHIPPED AS STATED ON MY ORDER AND STILL I HAVEN'T RECEIVED ANY OF MY ORDERS WITH NO HELP WHATSOEVER BUT A TEMPLATE RESPONSE FROM CUSTOMER SERVICE.BIG BIG MISTAKE!!!

Tip for consumers: DON'T!!!!

Ask Trouscie about LightInTheBox
glendah7
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/20/15

Every thing I have ordered is not the right size and need to be sent back

Tip for consumers: Order at least two or three sizes to large or will not fit

Ask Glenda about LightInTheBox
trangb
1 review
10 helpful votes
1/20/15

I ordered a scarf on this website on December 31, 2014. I thought it was weird how I didn't receive it yet since it's almost been a month. Turns out, my order was "cancelled" but I never went on the website until today. Even though it was marked as "cancelled", my card was still charged. I want my refund.

Service
Ask Trang about LightInTheBox
michaelt72
1 review
10 helpful votes
1/17/15

I hate this site. They *** me twice. On the coat above I ordered it in November and held it until Christmas and it was way too small even though it was labeled XL. These guys couldn'that help me. Then I ordered some other things from the site and payed extra money to have expedited shipping so we could get it before Christmas. Well expedited shipping doesn't mean expedited PROCESSING so we got it in January. That's **. My next move is to contact Better Business I'll probably find out that they have had many complaints and are rated an "F". They probably won't print this because of the unfavorable review.

Tip for consumers: Don't do it.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Michael about LightInTheBox
denitsap
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/17/15

Good quality, very nice design, not very keen on the fabric

Ask Denitsa about LightInTheBox
not82
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
1/16/15

I ordered 3 items of clothing totalling $56.50 including tax and shipping. The site clearly staed for all 3 items that processing would take no more than 24hrs and that my selected shipping would be 3-5 working days.
on completion of the order I saw "my order" had an estimated shipping (not delivery, SHIPPING) date of 10 days from the order date. I immediately cancelled the order but the transaction had gone through.
When i checked my bnk details online i saw that $57.63 had been taken from my account. I consider this THEFT plain and simple. If i authorise an amount to be taken from my accoutn THAT IS ALL I AUTHORISE. Added to this (after raising a "ticket") they are saying they will take upto 21 business days to refund me $56.50....

I have taken the issue up with my bank and they will be taking it further.

Do NOT ORDER from this site.

THere is no customer support and every turn is designed to take you in circles down an automated response system.

They (obvioulsy and ILLEGALLY) overcharge.

If you need anymore warning than that to NEVER USE THIS SITE then you must enjoy juggling running chainsaws and running in traffic blindfolded.

Tip for consumers: Don't under any circumstances

Service
Shipping
Returns
Ask No about LightInTheBox
jessicar32
1 review
7 helpful votes
1/4/15

I ordered about ten things from this site, mostly nightwear. I spent about $60. When I received all of it, about 3-4 weeks later, the clothes smelled like chemicals. Nearly every single item had something seriously wrong with it, aside from the chemical smell. They looked like they had been made in a hurry and didn't get finished. Some of it was torn and others were stitched together incorrectly. I sent photos and detailed messages regarding each item and tried really hard to get my money back or return them. I had heard that I might not even get a response or they might be rude but they were actually really polite and responded in a timely manner. They did not want me to return them because they said that it would be really expensive so they offered me a $20 refund and $10 store credit. I argued that I spent a whole lot more than that and did not receive anything in the form it should have been. They said they could only refund me for the damaged items. Which apparently excludes chemical smells, things sewn on backwards, rips, tears and incorrect sizing. They offered me an extra $10 refund in the end that I did not receive. By the end I did not want to deal with it anymore. I was perfectly reasonable and polite but I still got screwed. My store credit expired 20 days later, not enough time to even get over my anger and order again. Also, the sizes listed on the website are way off. They do not know how to convert sizes between countries.

Tip for consumers: Don't shop here. Spend the extra bucks to get quality products in America!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Jessica about LightInTheBox
georgeh54
1 review
5 helpful votes
12/30/14

I will not order from Light in the Box Again. Ordered 2 faucets through Light in the Box. First one ordered and then site had no record of the order of my signing up. After 3 weeks, I ordered same faucet again. First faucet showed up 4 weeks after initial order and was defective. Second item took so long that I had to purchase another faucet locally and put aside second one to use at a later date. After trying to use the second one, it is also defective. I am a contractor and can not wait weeks for delivery of defective items.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask George about LightInTheBox

26 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the LightInTheBox staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
Q: i bought a g9220 dual sim cellphone and i only have one sim card how can i make this phone work with one sim card without it saying emergency on the screen?
8/2/12
Answer
josephs88
A: Ask Customer Services. They are there to help. Go to your order page and click on Returns or Refund. This will open a ticket. You can explain your problem and they usually answer within 24 hours. Hope this helps.
1 month ago
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
Q: How is the light products & man's wear?
4/5/15
Answer
josephs88
A: I have bought bulbs from them and they are very good. You have to take into consideration whether your Customs will charge you import or not, so it would be wise to ask first.
1 month ago
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
Questions? Get answers from the LightInTheBox staff and other consumers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • From where do products ship?

34 Coupons for LightInTheBox

×
No coupon code needed
Shop now at LightInTheBox to save!
Go to LightInTheBox
LightInTheBox

22 Photos for LightInTheBox

From reviewers
×
Have a question about
LightInTheBox?
Post Review