SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of LightInTheBox

LightInTheBox reviews

1801 reviews
86%
.
Beijing, China 100015, China
feedback@lightinthebox.com
Halloween Sale! Up to 90% Off & Free Shipping!
Visit Us

1,801 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Review Highlights

enriquev3

Good experience!!!Fast shipping, great customer service!!! (in 175 reviews)

cmrr

I ordered my wedding dress, flower girl, and brides maid dresses from Light in the Box. (in 33 reviews)

bonip

fantastic quality products, arrived on time, very well priced, will use them again (in 21 reviews)

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

wendyh43
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/2/15

If your thinking of ordering from light in the box don't bother...... I only received half of the ordered solar lights and despite taking out their insurance in case this should happen I was never able to contact the company as I had forgotten my password and despite emailing them on several occasions never got a reply. I tried for a refund sending back the three light at my cost via registered post, they were never received at the address given and I have not seen a penny back. Dreadful, awful and no customer service is being very polite. Please save yourself time and money and look elsewhere for your items. ( I am £80 out of pocket with no items.......appalling )

Ask Wendy about LightInTheBox
Advertisement
carolh47
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/2/15

If the price seems too good to be true ...it is! I was happy at first with the jewelry I ordered, (well most of it) I felt it was a good buy at the flash sale. However I had so very much trouble with the site, prices changing at check out etc. Then I ordered two dresses, but what came was way, way to small EVEN THOUGH I CHECKED WITH THE SIZE CHART) also the material was unbelievably flimsy, cheap to the feel and look and not at all what I ordered. (also color wrong) They said cotton, but it is not. I think if I got any where near a flame I'd go up in smoke! To make matters worse, I am now being charged for items I did not order, electronic parts I have no idea even what they are. I have spent hours at my computer to try and straighten this matter out, but the customer support is a joke it just takes you around and around and you end up with no information as to what to do to return items. I called DHL (who delivered it locally) and I have them working on it. Also called my bank to refuse payment for anything they send. This is a sneaky site. I feel the first purchase with the "flash sale" was to suck you in and they get your credit card numbers and it's all down hill from there. I still haven't got this worked out

Ask CAROL about LightInTheBox
dorothyh18
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/1/15

I live in Australia. I don't want the email newsletters. I have used the UNSUBSCRIBE button 3 times. I cannot work out how to contact a person in this company. There is too much to read on Customer Service. I DON'T WANT EMAILS!!!!!!!!

Ask Dorothy about LightInTheBox
jackb130
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/1/15

I ordered a pair of shoes 9.5-10 size. I received a shoe made of cheap plastic that you can buy in a Flee Market for 15 dollars, and the size was more like a 7 narrow. Pure garbage. I paid 52 dollars for the shoe including for delivery, 27 for taxes and local delivery.
They show nice pictures of the merchandize which is made in China of poor quality. Dont waste you money, dont buy for this site.
Return policy: you pay all the expenses and in the end you lost the item and your money.
STAY AWAY!!

Ask Jack about LightInTheBox
vivw1
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
6/30/15

Hidden costs.Poor quality. Tricky calculations on costs. Absolutely hate our experience with this company and am warning all to stay away. If I could return the so-called "artwork" (which looks like a 5 year old smeared finger paints all over a canvas...absolutely awful!), I would do so but I'm not spending another penny on this terrible experience.

Ask Viv about LightInTheBox
michl6
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/28/15

I bought a size small dress to them, but to my surprise what they gave me is just a large oversized top. The color and fabric is horrible. It's too rough just like a rug. Now I don't know what to do with the item as returning to them will cost me the same as the item's price. DON'T BUY ON THIS WEBSITE, THEIR POSTS ARE FAR DIFFERENT FROM REALITY. I JUST DON'T HAVE CHOICE BUT TO GIVE THEM 1 STAR BUT TO BE HONEST THEY DESERVE NO STAR AT ALL!!!!!

Ask Mich about LightInTheBox
kayg17
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/26/15

I ordered a Maternity Style Bridesmaid's dress and, not knowing how big I would be by the wedding, I waited until June 11th to order (the wedding is on July 11th). I paid extra to have expedited shipping in hopes the dress would come well before the wedding.
Not until June 26th did I receive an e-mail stating that they believed the measurements I sent them were wrong. They asked me to send new measurements and then the process would take 8 - 10 more business days and another 3 - 5 days to ship. This means there is NO WAY the dress will arrive before the wedding.
Why did they wait so long to look at the measurements when I submitted them on June 11th? And how do they know the measurements I submitted are wrong? I'm pregnant, my numbers are going to be strange anyway. If the dress doesn't fit that's my problem, not theirs, and I could get it altered. Now I have no dress at all and have two weeks to get another from somewhere else.

Ask Kay about LightInTheBox
coryo5
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/22/15

They remove all negative reviews. And omit information from the description of items, like whether it's new or used or a knockoff. You have to read the Q&A section or reviews to find that information. If you don't mind taking a risk with them to save some money, then I guess there's worse gambles you could make.

Ask Cory about LightInTheBox
martinew
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
6/22/15

This is the 2nd order I had placed with these guys, the 1st one was already bogus due to the length of time with delivery and me chasing them up on why it was taking so long! This order was a simple eyeliner set and a pkt of false eyelashes, which I ordered May 31st, for it then to show that it was shipped on the 16th June (16 days later!!!!).... to it now being the 2nd July (another 16 days later!!!) and I've still not received it! Getting really tired of these overseas companies that take ages but expect payment upfront, and also make it so damn difficult to deal with customer service! 2nd time is now the charm, and its another company I wont be ordering from again.

Ask martine about LightInTheBox
amat8
1 review
6 helpful votes
6/19/15

I'm still waiting for my stuff please i need my money back

Ask Luvly about LightInTheBox
jennar7
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/16/15

This dress is a joke! I ordered a cute dress for my daughter for a pageant. The dress didn't get here on time, I kept track of it with the tracking number they finally gave me....the dress came all the way to the shipment store in my city and then went back out to Aruba and Venezuela then back to the USA. I finally get this dress I have been waiting on and my daughter puts it on and it's two different sizes!!!! It fits on one side and is HUGE on the other side! There's places coming unraveled and there is stains on the back! To make it even better.....there is no customer service to talk to from this company! Awful experience and will NEVER buy from here again!

Ask Jenna about LightInTheBox
lorrainem15
2 reviews
13 helpful votes
6/15/15

I have bought lots of things from Light In The Box, some happy buys, some not so happy. But this one really disappoints. Two metal art wall hangings, ordered about 4 weeks ago, finally arrived. So badly packaged that, in their handling from China, bent and bashed, the items were damaged - not a lot but enough. The metal flower shapes were bent forward so that when I bent them back into place, the gold paint cracked. A couple of pearl type beads were dislodged from the flower shapes, and had to be re-glued. The bubble wrap used to very lightly pack the pieces was dirty and minimal. Each one should have been protected with heavy cardboard....the outer packaging was squashed - no wonder the pieces were damaged. Very expensive items (for what they were) and incredibly slow, expensive shipping. I won't be recommending Light in The Box in future.

Tip for consumers: Ask questions....be mindful that items are shipped weeks after you order, and packaging might not be appropriate.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Lorraine about LightInTheBox
janies9
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/14/15

I ordered several pairs of earrings & necklaces for gifts. Thinking three weeks was enough time for a timely delivery. Boy, I was wrong. Ordered on May 5, 2015 ~ delivery was June 12, 2015. Could not track so I was nervous but was very satisfied with the products. Needless to say family & friends did not receive gifts so I was disappointed . I am unsure if I will purchase again.........

Ask Janie about LightInTheBox
michelr13
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/13/15

I have bought 3 shirts XXL and they were all way too small. Their XXL is equivalent to Medium size in North America. The cost of return is from Canada to China is about the price I paid for the shirts.

Customer service told me that they cater to over 200 countries and that is the average size other countries have. I guess the average world population height is less than 5 foot tall. They say there is a local return depot in Europe and USA. I was directed to return the goods to China. I all feels like a scam to me.

Ask Michel about LightInTheBox
elisax
1 review
8 helpful votes
6/11/15

I have been waiting for my stuff for three weeks now. I purchased a dress and a top. Any ways , a week and a half after my purchase, I asked customer service why I had not received a receipt . I also inquired why there was no evidence of my purchase being made. Any ways useless customer service replies and informs me that they have had difficulties processing my purchase because they have limited stock of one of the items I purchased. Ok that was fine, I thought to myself maybe I will wait a week , it should come in. Any ways it has been a month now, I still have not received a receipt, I have not received my items and the status is still displaying "processing". The same status since I first purchased my items. I don't think I will receive my items. I WISH I CAN RANK THEM 0.5, THAT IS HOW BAD THIS SITE IS!!!!!!! READ THE NEGATIVE COMMENTS, IT PORTRAYS THE TRUTH!

Ask Elisa about LightInTheBox
verv1
1 review
8 helpful votes
6/4/15

Products:
I only bought stuff that was 90% off and still it is too expensive for the quality you get.
The jewelry looks cheap and you can get the same or better quality in any store for that price.
The quality of the clothes is really bad: the fit, the fabric - everything.
Fabric: They often write "Cotton" in the descriptions of the dress. I ordered more than 10 dresses and 1 had cotton in it. Most dresses did not even have a tag with the fabric description in it; I guess this makes it harder for you to proof that the description was wrong. (Oh, and most of the descriptions online of the things I bought were taken down by the time the stuff was delivered. Better take a screenshot of each garment you order so that afterwards you have proof that they sent the wrong quality.)
Fit: The garments probably look good on an Asian girl. If you have curves or are taller than an average Asian girl, the proportions of the dress will look odd on you. Also: the dresses are tailored for women with little curves. If you have medium to big bust or a medium to full derriere, think again if you want to buy something made for bodies that have little curves.
For me this was a trial to see if I like their clothes because I thought about buying my wedding dress here. I am glad I saved myself that disappointment.
The fit of the clothes has nothing to do with the pictures you see online. They often just try to emulate a style on a picture, but the style of what you get is not recognizable if you compare it with the picture.

Service:
1. If you ask something, the customer service only replies to the question they want to reply to.
2. When they were late in delivery, I asked them to not deliver at a certain date but they did not care.
3. Help: when you look online at the help site, you get answers in a lot of languages, but not yours. Could not find RMA codes…

Returns:
I asked them where to return to. They told me to England and that it is so expensive to ship there for me that I might want to rethink my decision about sending anything back.
The return process is not that easy either. The just send you something to print out and put in RMA codes. It just does not say where to find these codes and there are NO codes online (there are some weird codes with Chinese signs on each of the clothing packages.. I am not sure which could be the one)
I have to send everything back and do not know yet if I really get a refund. My trust in that company is not too high at this point…

Summary
I usually do not write reviews because it takes so much time. This time I did it because I hope I can warn others. I will never ever buy here again. The hassle and extra cost for return is too high and the quality unbelievably bad.

Ask VER about LightInTheBox
shannenb
4 reviews
3 helpful votes
6/1/15

I ordered a Lolita dress for a dress up party last year and when it came it was excellent quality not shoddily made or cheap at all it was just like the picture , the delivery time was vwey long and actually arrived on the day of the party so i guess i was lucky, but i did pay £66.00 for it so its a good deal :)

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Ask Shannen about LightInTheBox
sarahc112
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/1/15

I ordered online at light in the box, and paid for express delivery, it cost about $13 for express if i remember correctly. When I did this i was informed this would mean my parcel would arrive in 3 days.

It arrived 3 weeks later.

When it did arrive the clothing quality was really terrible. Im not fussy but there is no way i could wear this cheap clothing!

Avoid!

Ask Sarah about LightInTheBox
meganc18
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/29/15

Twice now (about to be three times) I've ordered from Light in the Box and products have been good. I stick to pieces of jewelry which have been just fine so far (Think Claire's quality if you're in the US, just a few bucks cheaper), some sandals (fit perfectly when I converted the sizes from US to EU), and two shirts. Also ordered purses and have loved them so far. Both have come neatly packaged and undamaged by post.
Here's the kicker, the sizing on clothing seems to get everyone. Tried to order a XXL and that was way too tight. I have another order with two XXXL shirts and I hope it works per the conversion chart that Light in the Box has provided on the site.
The shipping is a nightmare and I don't buy anything that isn't marked "Free Shipping" because it simply isn't worth it. It's going to take a month or more to arrive so might as well get it as cheap as possible.

Tip for consumers: Don't expect quick shipping no matter what option you mark; save your money and give it at least a month to arrive.
Stick to items of clothing that aren't the end of the world. I would never recommend a custom dress because of thin material, sizing issues, etc. but wearing a t-shirt and ordering your wedding gown from here are two different risks.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Ask Megan about LightInTheBox
cherylb27
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/28/15

Waited two months for shoes , wrong colour one shoe slightly bigger than other, really cheap and nasty give them the dog to chew in bin now total waste money you learn never again .

Ask Cheryl about LightInTheBox
wendyc34
1 review
5 helpful votes
5/28/15

Before you place an order with these fools ask yourself one question, "Do I want to give my money away?"
I am happy for not spending a lot of money on the order otherwise I would be kicking myself. I always test things before spending a lot of money on any products on the internet. After all, you never really know what they are going to send you.

I received an email letting me know they shipped my order, except that the address on the shipping order is going to someone else.

Try getting a hold of a customer service rep and you are out of luck! Nothing but re-routing to the same thing, nothing. Keep your money, we should all just go shopping and support our local small businesses instead. I have learned my lesson and will never use lightinthebox.com again, they should change their name to darkinthebox.com because that's exactly how I feel, in the freaking dark!

Ask Wendy about LightInTheBox
theresar6
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/26/15

I ordered a formal pink dress with a wrap, and the quality of the dress is excellent as is the fit. I have no complaints, thank you for making such a beautiful dress for me for my daughter's Wedding. I will order again from you.

Ask Theresa about LightInTheBox
jok27
1 review
9 helpful votes
5/22/15

This is a scam site they take your money and I am still waiting for my order along with thousands of others according to the complaints on Facebook and tweeter
DO NOT ORDER FROM THIS SITE

Ask Jo about LightInTheBox
susang62
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/21/15

Well worth the 2 months wait.
My daughter ordered a dress for her prom.
Perfect fit
Wedding quality
No complaints
Where do you buy a Grad Dress for $70 custom made brand new
$30 duty

She is very happy with her grad dress
The school ladies at Brockville Collegiate Institute are jealous. lol

We will sell the dress at a consignment store for $300

Happy Mom and daughter

Tip for consumers: Lily order her dress and she was worried it would not come from the bad reviews

So she bought this black one
She is wearing both lol
So here is a great review on The Light in the Box
Take a chill pill when you order
Took 2 months for delivery

Very Happy Daughter- hard to believe lol

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Ask Susan about LightInTheBox
shazneeni
1 review
11 helpful votes
5/20/15

I had ordered online and got a confirmation as my credit card was deducted for the amount of the product. I received an email stating the order date which was 25MARCH'15 and the shipment date which was 26MARCH. Its been almost 2 months now and I haven't received my shipment.

I now believe this is a fraud company. Please donot get carried away by the low prices and products

Ask Shazneen about LightInTheBox
darenm12
1 review
12 helpful votes
5/19/15

I have spent a total of about $200 buying from this site over the past 3 months. This is my experience with them:

- Every single clothing piece was too small
- Ties were nothing like they looked in the pictures.
- To return an item once purchased costs a lot

They are obviously Asian stockists using Asian sizes. My goodness, I got an XL which wouldn't even fit a teenage boy. I would love to get a full refund for all my purchases, but it is just far too hard to even find on their website how to organise this. I would strongly advise that you not purchase clothing from this site.

Ask Daren about LightInTheBox
wingh
1 review
6 helpful votes
5/13/15

I have ordered a coat, the material used is of poor quality.

Ask Wing about LightInTheBox
taniaa6
1 review
6 helpful votes
5/13/15

First and LAST time I order from them, if only I'd taken the time to read these reviews from others. Now I'm still waiting for an order I place early march, first got lost, resent still waiting. Very unprofessional customer service whom all replies are generic based, can't their staff communicate ? NEVER AGAIN !!!

Ask Tania about LightInTheBox
kater46
1 review
5 helpful votes
5/13/15

Have brought some items from them, what aload of rubbish. really bad quality! not responding to any emails about returning the items.

Ask kate about LightInTheBox
emala1
1 review
10 helpful votes
5/11/15

I hate this site for they are deceitful & burglars. After paying the amount of about £200 as price & postage I received something like a kitchen cloth instead of the beautiful night dress they advertise. They left me desperate the day of my son's wedding. Anybody help me sue them to refund my money?
By the way this is the second time I'm writing a review but received no response yet.

Ask Emal about LightInTheBox
rinkus1
1 review
5 helpful votes
5/2/15

Products are not as per shown and very cheap quality as good as road side product

Ask Rinku about LightInTheBox
joeyl15
1 review
13 helpful votes
5/1/15

Not only do they take your money for a cancelled order (within 12 hours) but it appears my card has been used in China, shortly after I handed over my card details to them.

Since there is no way I can even contact Customer Services, no email, no phone, no instant chat, nothing! I just expect they've taken my money without any intention of refunding it. I suppose I should count myself lucky, many others (from what I've read) were more unfortunate and have lost hundreds of dollars.

This site exists to take your money by any means possible! by lying and cheating (sending out rubbish to appear legal) they will make millions by the time the US government catches up with them. PLEASE STAY AWAY!!!

Ask joey about LightInTheBox
jillm25
3 reviews
15 helpful votes
4/30/15

There is NO customer service. It does not exist. Please note the generic response they are giving to all of your complaints, someone just sits there and pushes that response button all day long. If you look at their personal light in the box review page (written by them of course), you will see literally HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS of good reviews from around the world. Think they pay their employees to just sit there and write these made up glowing reviews. I had a bad experience with them and my credit card has flagged them, you should all do so as well. I tried to place a $268 order, free shipping that they wanted to charge me $22 for, only to have my card denied. Tried again a few hours later after checking my perfectly good card, there was my order saved, but when I got to payment page, the amount was well over $500, stating offers had expired...they had not, had another 17 hours to go, the sale prices were RIGHT THERE on the items!!! I canceled the whole darn thing, notified my card to red flag them...this is a sham/scam company, BEWARE!!!! If you get screwed, it's your own fault, the old expression, if it sounds too good to be true applies here a hundred fold. Don't push that payment button until you have quadruple checked your order, and good luck ever receiving it, you will get no confirmation, no other contact from them, ever.

Ask jill about LightInTheBox
mjf1
1 review
10 helpful votes
4/27/15

A very IMPORTANT thing to note which is in their FINE PRINT is that you will have to pay for the customs duty fee - 16% of your total order + $7. My order total was $256 and I had to pay $48.09.The clothes are of extremely poor quality. I donated half of the clothes to Goodwill because the fabric and make were of poor quality, and the fit was even worse. The photos on the website do not represent what you're getting AT ALL. All the reviews they have posted on each item are FAKE. Don't even bother posting anything if it's negative as they will just delete it. I would NEVER recommend buying from this company. They also only ship using DHL, which has the worst customer service. They say you can track your shipment, but you CAN'T. I guess I deserve all of this for being stupid enough to buy anything directly from China.

Ask MJ about LightInTheBox
jessical70
1 review
9 helpful votes
4/21/15

I've placed many orders with lightinthebox.com over the years and I feel that with every order I'm more and more disappointed. On my two most recent orders the order processing time was listed on each item as 1-4 days. They took 9 & 7 days to process the orders. Then when they were shipped I was provided with tracking numbers that don't work. I tried every site and resource I could find to make sure I was tracking on the proper service with no success. I understand that these are coming from china, and the lower price comes with slower shipping. But to provide incorrect/non-existent tracking numbers and to take over twice as to process my order is taking advantage of your customer. You can't even contact them to get any explanation or updates. My first few orders I was so happy with but with each one I've been more disappointed and don't think I'll order from them again.

Tip for consumers: Do not order anything if you need it right away. It will most likely not get there in the first estimated time you were given. Also, sizes are NOT US SIZES. Always order bigger! If you are a small in the US, buy a medium.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Ask Jessica about LightInTheBox
zor38
1 review
9 helpful votes
4/13/15

Finally received my package last week, after ordering it at the end of Feb 2015 (its now April!). Came over on a boat from China and I ended up paying £60 for 2 clocks, then £20 for shipping - OK I knew this would be the cost and went ahead with the order. When it arrived with parcel force I had to pay another £40 customs charges before parcel force would release it for delivery! Absolute rip off, the hands on one of the clocks is bent, but I'm not paying more money out on customs! STAY AWAY FROM THIS SITE if you are ordering from the UK! Cheap tat from China!!!!
If you haven't had your parcel yet, don't worry it will arrive in the next 3 months, I just hope yours is worth waiting for!!

Ask Zo about LightInTheBox
chrisf60
2 reviews
325 helpful votes
4/12/15

I have used a few other sites of similar caliber in the past, Tmart ( never ever will i use them again after they sold products which could kill my family) Banggood, buyincoins, focalprice etc, but i always come back to Light / mini. Some people complain about length of delivery, yet they have not looked at the options saying free super saver can take 10-20 days, or you can pay for a faster delivery, i would rather wait those few more days as its so much cheaper!

I have only given a 4 star due to the complicated way of redeeming vouchers and offers. I pay for my goods in UK pounds, but the coupon has to be used in US $!

Tip for consumers: Remember lightinthebox and miniinthebox are essentially the same company. If you have not ordered in a space of time they sometimes send you money coupons to buy stuff for free. Example, i get a $4 voucher for Lightinthebox, and a $2 for miniinthebox and both can be used at the cheaper mini, but watch the P&P!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Chris about LightInTheBox
divs
1 review
14 helpful votes
4/7/15

I had placed an order on March 9th from light in the box. It was shipped on March 10th and the tracking number is CP0000026449084. When I click the track button, it says error. No such tracking number exists.

Ask Div about LightInTheBox
dodiee
2 reviews
10 helpful votes
4/6/15

Foolishly, I made a few orders from this company over a week.
Two orders say they have been shipped, and have said so for a week, but haven't arrived.
The last order was cancelled because I was asked for a photo of my ID and credit card! What's more, the funds haven't been returned to me yet. Furthermore, I can't reach them about it because it's listed as closed.
Update: Squeeky wheel gets the oil. Trying to get my money back... Just under $200... I sent an email to every email address I came across on the site. Today my funds were returned to me.

Service
Shipping
Returns
Ask Dodie about LightInTheBox
georgeh62
1 review
11 helpful votes
3/30/15

Customer service is taking the mick, Ordered couple of cables (usb to 3.5mm) on the 18feb - in stock delivery at the time of purchase up to a week, a week later changed to 20 days, still waiting for the goods... Customer service declared the "Ticket" to be "Resolved" - still no money nor any interest from Litb...

Tip for consumers: Don't

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask George about LightInTheBox
miguels24
1 review
11 helpful votes
3/25/15

I did an order on 22th. Shipping time frame was 3-5 business days since I paid 21,14€ for Express Delivery and they now say on My Order page:
Received Payment - All Shipped Pending Processing - Estimated shipping date April 01, 2015, which they are 10 days just to send it and then, I guess, another 3-5 business days as they say or maybe more.
I have tried to get a ticket to get in touch with Customer Service but I can't see any link or email or whatever.
This is the only thing I got: http://www.lightinthebox.com/knowledge-base/c1192/a2974.html ; and it is useless because I have read several times what the page says but as I told before there is nothing on there to get a ticket or email to contact them.
I just wanted to ask a couple of things but it is impossible!

Ask Miguel about LightInTheBox
moniquer4
4 reviews
10 helpful votes
3/23/15

I ordered my wedding shoes and jewelry from them, not knowing they were overseas. Had I known that I would not have placed the order. And the agent that I "text" with had very good English grammar so there was no give away that they were overseas. I didn't know that until I read reviews on their site about people who liked their product, but weren't told about the custom fees. Fees? What fees? I wasn't told about this by the agent! I was furious. I chatted with another agent and was told they couldn't tell me if there would be fees or not. I was nervous. I was worried that a $40 order was about to turn into a $100+ order. But I was stuck. Because while they had the same shoes on Ebay it was clear they were in China so there was no point in placing an order there...so I just waited.

I got my order within a month of ordering it and low and behold, I didn't have any custom fees, but then there was the product. I cringed while opening the box and...WOW!! Everything looked good. The shoes were nice and the jewelry was beautiful.

So why 3 stars? For deception and lack of honesty. While I got my product they lied to me and also took an additional amount (only about $2, but none the less they took it) from my credit card. I cancelled that card immediately and got a new one. I didn't like worrying about customs. They know if there will be custom fees and don't tell. I wouldn't order from them again because of that reason and because I've seen way too many poor reviews on places on other than their website, which leads me to believe the website is in house because NO one gets 5 stars across the board on every product that they sell.

Ask Monique about LightInTheBox
saharf
6 reviews
5 helpful votes
3/16/15

i bought too many things from light in the box
they are amazing and have the best customer service, if any thing is defective or you are not satisfy with the product they have solution ,also the flash sale page they have huge discount
many thanks for light in the box

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask sahar about LightInTheBox
sheilac8
1 review
9 helpful votes
3/16/15

LightIn the Box is quick to send advertising emails after receiving your order but incredibly slow to send the actual ordered goods. i ordered a couple of weeks ago and am still waiting. I can't contact customer service because the new password they sent me doesn't work. Now I'm wondering if the site's a scam.

Service
Shipping
Ask Sheila about LightInTheBox
thomasp40
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/16/15

everything was just what it was supposed to e

Ask thomas about LightInTheBox
naivig
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/11/15

EL PRENTE MENSAJE ES PARA NOTIFICARLES SOBRE EL PEDIDO NUMERO 1501251711344043 DE UN MONTO DE MXN $ 6,170.64QUE REALIZE CON USTEDES Light in the Box EN ENERO
EL CUAL ESTUBE SIGUIENDO EN DHL USTEDES ME HICIERON LLEGAR UNA NOTIFICACION QUE ME PUSIERA EN CONTACTO CON DHL , ELLOS ME DIJERON QUE ENVIARA EL COMPROBANTE DEL PEDIDO Y TODOS LOS ARTICULOS COMPRADOS ASI COMO UNA CARTA QUE ESPECIFICARA EL USO DE LOS MISMOS PARA SU LIBERACION EN ADUANA, QUE LO ENVIARA A LA SEÑORITA STEPHANIE HERNANDEZ Y QUE TENIA COMO MAXIMO HASTA EL 23 DE FEBRERO .DICHOS DOCUMENTOS LOS ENVIE EL 16 DE FEBRERO Y ME DIJERON QUE ELLOS ME MANDARIAN UN CORREO PARA SEGUIR CON EL PROCESO LO CUAL NO SUCEDIÓ, EL 23 HABLE A DHL PARA PREGUNTAR Y ME DICEN QUE YA ESTABA CANCELADO Y QUE IBA A RETORNAR A CHINA,PARA LO CUAL LES PEDI UNA EXPLICACION PUESTO QUE YO HABIA MANDADO A TIEMPO LOS REQUISITOS QUE PEDIAN, ME DIJERON QUE IBAN A SER LO POSIBLE POR RETENERLO QUE VOLVIERA A MANDAR LA MISMA DOCUMENTACION Y A LA MISMA SEÑORITA EN ESE INSTANTE LO CUAL HICE , ESTUVE HABLANDO A DHL PARA SABER SI LLEGO EL MENSAJE ME DIJERON QUE SI PERO QUE ESPERARA HASTA LAS 5:15 DE LA TARDE PARA SABER Y QUE VOLVIERA A HABLAR , VOLVI A LLAMAR Y ME DIJERON QUE NO SE PUDO HACER NADA Y ME COMUNICARON A ADUANA CON STEPHANIE HERNANDEZ A LA CUAL LE DIJE QUE ELLA ERA LA RESPONSABLE DE QUE EL PAQUETE SE HUBIERA REGRESADO PORQUE YO LE HABIA MANDADO LA DOCUMENTACION A TIEMPO Y QUE ELLA NUNCA SE COMUNICO CONMIGO PARA LO CUAL ME DIO LA SIGUIENTE EXPLICACION: “ SRA. LO QUE PASA ES QUE SON MUCHAS PRENDAS Y NO SE PUEDEN SACAR TODAS EN UN SOLO BULTO Y ESTOS DIAS DEL 16 AL 23 ESTUBE HABLANDO CON LOS DIRECTIVOS PARA SU LIBERACION Y SE FUERON LOS DIAS Y NO SE PUDO, PERO VOY A PEDIR SU REGRESO HOY MISMO EN EL MISMO ENVIO A CHINA VOY A ENVIAR LA DOCUMENTACION PARA QUE LOS REGRESEN Y VOY A ESTAR MUY AL PENDIENTE DE ESTE CASO ENTIENDO SU MOLESTIA PERO ESTUVO FUERA DE NUETRO ALCANCE Y CUANDO LO REGRESEN LO VAMOS A PEDIR QUE LO DVIDAN EN DOS BULTOS” POR FAVOR QUE EXPLICACION TAN ILOGICA, LA CANTIDAD NO TIENE NADA QUE VER AL MENOS QUE ESTE EQUIVOCADA.
PARA ESTO HOY ME HABLAN DE DHL Y ME INFORMAN QUE DHL CHINA NO PUDE REGRESAR EL PAQUETE QUE SOLO SI USTEDES Light in the Box SE LO PIDEN LO PUDE HACER QUE YO LES MANDARA UN MENSAJE, QUE ELLOS YA LO HICIERON (LO DUDO).
ES POR ESTO QUE LES PIDO DE LA MANERA MAS ATENTA VEAN LA MANERA DE QUE MI PEDIDO SEA DEVUELTO A MEXICO, QUE SE LO PIDAN A DHL CHINA PUESTO QUE YA LES INFORME LA PROBLEMÁTICA Y QUE YO SOY LA AFECTADA, Y EN EL CASO DE DE QUE NO PUEDA SER DEVUELTO QUE ME DEN EL IMPORQUE QUE PAGUE YA QUE NO RECIBI EL PRODUCTO.

LES ENVIO EL NUEVO NÚM. DE GUIA QUE ME PROPORCIONARON DE DHL MEXICO CON EL QUE SE REGRESO A CHINA ESO ES LO QUE ME DIJERON: 4450904776 Y EL NUMERO DE REPORTE ES 286834064
PORFAVOR AYUDENME O MANDENME UN CORREO O NUMERO TELEFONICO AL QUE YO ME PUEDA DIRIGIR POR QUE EN LA PAGINA de Light in the Box NO ENCUENTRO COMO PARA ESTE PROBLEMA
ESPERO QUE SU RESPUESTA SEA FAVORABLE, GRACIAS,

NAIVI GUTIERREZ HUERTA

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask naivi about LightInTheBox
maryb161
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/11/15

I ordered 3 items on January 27th, product was shipped on January 31st supposedly. Shipping time frame was 6-8 business days. Never received shipment as of today, March 11. First contact with company and they said, tracking shows it's in NY. At that time it had already been past the 6-8 business days. They told me they would resend and refund cost of shipping. Next contact, they can't do anything for me as product shows it's been delivered. I STILL DON'T HAVE THE PRODUCT. If nothing else they should refund the shipping costs. I would never buy from this company again.

Tip for consumers: If you are really going to buy from this company, I would not do it unless you use a shipping method that requires signature.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Mary about LightInTheBox
tomh109
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
3/10/15

Bonus codes valid but ...?
LightInTheBox has given me bonus codes valid for one year and as a returning customer with registered Email and address even give me rebates and additional money (or is it?) to my account My Rewaeds & Credit to use for future order(s), which seems fair.However, my last experience with this company is not too good as I have indeed received bonus codes through customer service after a complaint but during the last period of more than four months I have been mysteriously expelled from LITB site [my passwords, Email, correspondence on questions pertaining to products for buying, and all of my earned bonuses have been erased from this company altogether with no possibility to reinstate the value of money that I did earn from LITB].Yes, the bonus codes are valid for one (1) year from agreed date (I am not complaining for this), but LightInTheBox has sent me additional money to use in future purchase from their Internet site, and due to extremely slow answer back to me (prior to placing order) these new coupons that are time blocked with a countdown timer that makes it nearly impossible to use when answer on required information from LITB is neglected [my experience] and the products’ rebate (also adopted with same countdown timer) become 100% more expensive [at market price for brand names - often at better quality], that then run out of stock.
My pending order with valid coupons and additional rebates with “countdown timer blockings” (or use by the end of …) have all been wiped out from LightInTheBox due to their incredible lack of feedback service to the customer (buyer) in excusing the company for having a lot of work [this means that I am not their concern for priority?] with shipment of parcels to other customers.Adding to this is their excuse of the time difference for them in Eastern China and my address in northern Europe for inadequate communication, is purely an evasive explanation informing me that “hey, we don’t have time for you”.In this time and age it is unacceptable as an answer for a customer which expects service and decency - this is their policy - in return instead of some automated answer from a computer.Anyway, I want LITB to use the 80:-SEK from May 31, + 190:-SEK from May 31, + 40:-SEK from April 22 + 2:-SEK from order id number 1504250912851953 + 10:-SEK and add the USD$ 50 to the following for pending order id number 24730679 with all of items in basket priced at USD$ 191.19 + Shipping Charges & Insurance [this LITB informs me I get back after checking out preorder and actually will see that after paying (?) for order id number 24730679].Shipping can either be as promised delivery to my doorstep (with online tracking of the order from China to northern Europe) at no extra cost or for free (slightly longer delivery) also at no extra cost.
I have written to this Chinese company far too many times now in the above concern, but their “helping” answer is not very satisfactory as a - very - lot of money has been paid for goods (some of quite good quality) that are not well described on their products page for the specific item(s) the customer is about to place an order for; you can return this once checking the quality and purpose of item(s) if it meets the standards specified by LightInTheBox to be applied for your own use.[LITB will take back the product if description from customer is according to what is allowed as a return for exchange (in some cases a refund) for a new item.This is good.]
Help me as received information from LightInThebox is inadequate.
Thank you

Tip for consumers: Beware of too many extra hidden costs if not receiveing your orders in China: VAT, customs, charges, fees. priority mail, insurances and long delivery times.
Prior to placing order(s) check for specific information of item(s) to be bought.
Carefully place order quickly because deals will very rapidly dissapear and then price is 100% more expensive!
Some clothes are of very bad quality!!!
Watch out for countdown timer system on received coupons,
Some items might be drenched in undefineable

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
Ask Tom about LightInTheBox
mahipaly
1 review
7 helpful votes
3/7/15

Order No: 1502280211941465
Oder Date: 28 Feb 2015
Order Value: $ 348.17
First item was shipped using DHL(waybill no:9660363790). Shipment never left China and was returned to origin within 3 days.
Then it was again shippend via Express Mail Service China(EMS Tracking No: EA051412558CN).
Status has not changed since 4 March 2015. I think yhis website is fraud. I dont know if I will get the items for which I have alreadty paid $ 348.17.

Tip for consumers: This website is a fraud. Dont buy anything from this website.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Mahipal about LightInTheBox
peterr49
1 review
5 helpful votes
3/1/15

Long story short, brought an in car dvd entertainment system $400 it lasted 3 months and the sound has dropped on the left channel, have sent countless emails but no answer. Total crap for the money that I spent!

Peter Russi Brisbane Australia

Tip for consumers: Just hope it breaks down before the paypal claim process time limit expires

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Peter about LightInTheBox

47 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the LightInTheBox staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
Q: i bought a g9220 dual sim cellphone and i only have one sim card how can i make this phone work with one sim card without it saying emergency on the screen?
8/2/12
Answer
wendyc34
A: Buy from someone else is my advice, I'm still waiting on my order from last month. No answers or response from the awesome customer service team @ lightinthebox.com.
2 weeks ago
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
Q: How is the light products & man's wear?
4/5/15
Answer
josephs88
A: I have bought bulbs from them and they are very good. You have to take into consideration whether your Customs will charge you import or not, so it would be wise to ask first.
4/30/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
Questions? Get answers from the LightInTheBox staff and other consumers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • From where do products ship?

9 Coupons for LightInTheBox

×
No coupon code needed
Shop now at LightInTheBox to save!
Go to LightInTheBox
LightInTheBox

22 Photos for LightInTheBox

From reviewers
×
Have a question about
LightInTheBox?
Post Review