SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business

Hound reviews

23 reviews
9%
Categories: Business, Job
This business is not yet responding to reviews on SiteJabber. If this is your business claim it here.

23 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

3 stars
2 stars

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

abel287
New Reviewer
8/28/13

Theft is illegal. Therefore, Harrison Barnes should be in jail. He's ripping off the most vulnerable among us, those looking for a job. Yikes, hate to see what level of Hell he ends up in. Probably close to Hitler. Ok, a little much with the last comment, but you get my drift.

monicab2
New Reviewer
7/17/13

Horrible company! You have to call and cancel your membership: you can't cancel on their website even though they are a website company. I sent an e-mail to customer service asking to cancel my membership, and I later received a response that you must cancel by calling the company, during business hours, and by calling a long distance number for security reasons. I asked for a courtesy refund since I had not used the website after the first initial two days, but they refused. Website was not helpful and customer service is terrible. I would rate it zero, but the lowest rating that you can give is one star.

mariar17
New Reviewer
9/24/12

Horrible! I was desperate so I tried the 72 hour free trial. I called to cancel, they still charged me $25 and I didn't even get a job. Their job listings are scarce. I live in Miami and in my field (paralegal) there were only 3 listings! Don't waste your time or your money when you can get the same thing for free from Craigslist or Monster.

davek20
New Reviewer
9/10/12

BEWARE -- THESE GUYS MAKE MONEY BY NOT CANCELLING YOUR ACCOUNT.

First of all the the service is CRAP. Webiste doesn't offer any exclusive oppourtunities.

I sent them an email within 72 hours to cancel the account, and still didn't cancel the account, and charged me for 30 dollars for two months.

maggiew2
New Reviewer
6/6/12

These people are CROOKS! They did teach me to beware online. I wish there were a few more ways to trash them. I hate that they take advantage of people who are already in a bad situation. It's low and slimy and someone should shut them down.

mathisj
New Reviewer
4/23/12

Hound.com is a complete HOAX. DON"T EVER ENROLL FOR IT'S FREE SERVICE FOR 72 HRS as its a trap. I got into that trap and it took me 2 months and 2 charges of $39.95 to cancel it.....after 3 attempts to contact someone on phone and one message in their website. It seems they built their business on ripping off people than on providing good product / service. Finally, the guy on the phone had the temerity to tell me that they did not cancel the service on receiving the message as they cancel only on phone??? (Why they accept registration online???)....Bottomline, Stay away from hound.com

ek8
New Reviewer
9/16/11

BEWARE!

This company is a ripoff. Once you sign up it is difficult to sign off. They have on their website that you are signed up for a "1 month" subscription, but they will charge you automatically every month. When I called them to contest the extra $40 I was being charged, they say "oh well, we were not sure if you had a job yet, so we continued your service." They would not refund my money. What a waste.

I also never found their site useful. Just apply through the company website.

johnl35
New Reviewer
6/18/11

Double charged me. Took them forever to even pretend to give me a refund. Then, they said they gave me a refund, but they money was not actually refunded. By the time I got around to tell the credit card company, it was too late to initiate a charge-back.

Don't sign up for hound. The jobs are no better than what you can easily find on a free job search engine like indeed.com or on actual company websites.

elizabethd3
New Reviewer
1/26/11

Better Business Bureau gives it a grade "F"

http://www.la.bbb.org/Business-Report/Houndcom-100070812

enough said!

barbaraf5
New Reviewer
12/13/10

Many of the jobs on this site are irrelevant or can easily be found on other websites such as Careerbuilder. Hound has their system set up to siphon money from your PayPal account on a "recurring basis," while leading you to believe that the service will only last three months. They refuse to issue a refund when you cancel, even if they have taken three months' worth of payments in advance. If you have been scammed by them as I have, I urge you to reverse the charge via PayPal. Hopefully then PayPal will know that Hound.com is a scam, and will stop doing business with them.

nickyw
New Reviewer
10/29/10

This site is an absolute, complete, total ripoff. As other posters have observed, the "job" listings are almost all expired. The legitimate ones can all can be found for free on other sites. I have been unable to cancel despite several tries on the phone. What WEB-based "service"
insists that one CALL to cancel. The only other one I can think of is LawCrossing . . . wait, that one is also owned by T. Harrison Barnes, who in my opinion prey on the unemployed and desperate. Avoid this site!

ratheeshs
New Reviewer
9/21/10

Its really amazing to have a website like www.hound.com. It really helps job seekers to a great extend. My search for a job ended with www.hound.com. I have been wasting my precious time in search of a job by browsing through many other job sites. My search ended in vain and Hound.com showed me the right path to get my dream job. I was searching for a bank careers jobs and I reached my aim through this site.
http://www.hound.com/gjsearchresult.php?q=bank+category%3A%28Financial+Services%29&l=&country=&js_radius=0&js_fromage=
Just click the above link and gain the details about the job. I found my dream job through this site. Thank you very much hound.com and all the best for everyone who are trying for jobs.

lolok
New Reviewer
7/13/10

Nikki, I think you work for Hound.com, what a bunch of baloney you wrote. I wasted 29.95 on a service that I cannot use. I got no answer to my request to cancel and when I called I got some guy that basically kept repeating "we will be happy to cancel the service" but nothing, even the supervisor would inspire them to refund the next month's charges. They all kept saying things like "it's just not possible" "this is a business" etc. So they're insulting too. Yeah this is a crap business that is unwilling to help out an unemployed person who made a mistake that was due to their deceitful tactics. No notification of billing, just a charge that I noticed 4 days after it posted. If Hound.com wanted to be reasonable and respectable they would offer the free trial ALONE and they notify the person with an offer to continue, but NO, they are not respectable they are desperately seeking funds through whatever means possible. Hound.com is in dire need of 30 bucks? Obviously I am not 100% satisfied (they have a guarantee but won't honor it) Just another crap employment company, taking advantage of people, offering nothing unique and treating the employee like meat. Thanks for nothing Hound.com, I will be telling my friends and anyone else who cares to listen. I am astounded that this is how they chose to do business. The charge is currently in dispute with my bank.

patricko2
New Reviewer
7/7/10

This site is an absolute scam. I emailed them in an attempt to cancel and never received a response. I assumed the situation to be resolved considering their website had not customer service info other than the email address I had contacted. I was wrong. I was charged for service despite my attempt to cancel service to a website that provided out dated postings, and jobs that didn't actually exist. I had to google their phone number to contact them. The customer service supervisor told me they emailed me back to tell me I had to call to cancel my account. I assured him I never saw that email. He then explained that their emails usually went to your spam box or were filtered by a spam filter. I explained that they had to intentionally do that because i received an account confirmation email from them so there is no reason why any other emails from them should be filed as spam. Its a scam do not register with this company.

tonyl6
New Reviewer
6/26/10

Began charging $49.00 per month without notification. When I called to complain, they refused to cancel the charges, and said that it was my fault for not receiving the e-mail. You have to call during California business hours, but it redirects you to HORRIBLE customer service out of India. The rep that I spoke with said that he would cancel my account and refund only the last months charge. However, he did not refund any charges whatsoever. I will be writing to their corporate headquarters, and or tracking down their CEO Harrison Barnes (If that is even his real name).

BTW, their customer service number is difficult to find on their site, it is 626-243-1810

jessican
New Reviewer
6/10/10

This website is a complete scam. DO NOT sign up for the free trial. If you do, note that you have to CALL to cancel, the phone number is not toll free and extremely hard to find on their site, but here it is: 626-243-1810

nikkid
New Reviewer
4/25/10

I think this site is great for job seekers and ideal if you are looking for jobs in the retail jobs section or healthcare jobs industry. I found the search feature on this site very useful and was able to browse through sales jobs and finance jobs. The site has a vast amount of jobs and claims to show you jobs that are not shown on employer's websites. It's very easy to use and simple just type in the keyword you require for example engineering jobs and the location which you live.
The site offers a great service by contacting the employers directly on your behalf. This saves you researching and sending your CV out individually. Just upload all your contact details and your CV and get posting. Hound.com directly contacts the employers so you won't be waiting for weeks on end for a response.
Hound.com provides a free trial option so you can try all the great features before you decide to sign up. It's defiantly worth doing the free trial and you can experience the benefits of this site over other job sites.
The only disadvantage of this site is that after your free trial you will have to pay to join the site. It's not bad though and you should receive quick results when job hunting compared to other free options online.
I would recommend this site to anyone who is looking for work or a job in any sector. The site is straightforward, easy, and guaranteed to bring you great results. You will save time with this site because it posts thousands of jobs and is updated on a regular basis. Unlike many other sites online this site is sure to be your best option.

benp1
New Reviewer
4/19/10

Billed me $50 a month without notifying me in any way, shape, or form, ever. Just noticed it after a year and a half. Didn't even remember signing up for it. Called them up (because you can't cancel online!) and got some rude kid at a call center (in India, judging by the kid's accent). The kid refused to refund my money. A total scam. Beware!

jilliank
New Reviewer
2/26/10

Stay away.. even if you are desperately seeking a job. None of the jobs they post are real and they simply want your monthly fee. Almost impossible to cancel as well. Stick with the well known boards like Monster.com and Careerbuilder.com and even better, use LinkeIN to network.

ericw1
New Reviewer
2/26/10

An utter scam. The jobs listed can be found on indeed.com with less effort. Their main source of income is that they 1) automatically re-bill you $75/month, 2) do not notify you that you are about to be billed or have been billed, 3) don't cancel subscriptions via the website but instead insist you call during business hours, and 4) never issue refunds. Avoid, and use your head instead of Hound.

cindym1
New Reviewer
2/19/10

Ripoff! No jobs ever came up within basic search criteria. Would not refund money even though I called to complain within 30 days of signup. No such thing as their 100% satisfaction guarantee.

mattm1
New Reviewer
9/8/09

Jobs are never available, customer service is terrible. You have to call to cancel the service (can't cancel online), service reps don't pick up the calls and do not respond to email requests to cancel service. After 3 billing cycles I was finally able to get someone on the phone and they refused to refund the previous billing.

kathleenr
New Reviewer
4/29/09

Beware of this job search site - Desparate , need a job. Hound.com promises these exclusive employment opportunities  that other search engines do not have for a small fee of $29.95  not posted anywhere...  yeah because they do not exists. 
They have this nice message that you can click on to report a closed job posting , however they never removed any of them . Almost every job  I clicked on was "no longer available"  but yet they claim just came out a day ago.  
After reporting to them that the jobs (and I mean several) were not even open  , they still never removed it  .  The few that were open I contacted the hospital directly & they new of NO such posting. 
They refuse to take cancel orders via e mail & make you call  & speak to someone .... who when answered the phone said hello  like I called my buddy not a business.  This is a big time scam !!  Everyone needs to know what a rip off they are !  

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the Hound staff and other consumers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • From where do products ship?

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business