SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business

Filmous reviews

21 reviews
This business is not yet responding to reviews on SiteJabber. If this is your business claim it here.

21 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Review Highlights

dougc2

After about 3 month I finally bit the bullet and Joined with my Credit Card. (in 7 reviews)

tomg3

For those of you who have trouble downloading from the site, try a good download manager. (in 3 reviews)

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

robm14
New Reviewer
7/17/13

Beware!! Someone I know signed up for this website, lost all her credit without downloading anything and then 'someone' started spending on her credit card, even though it's new and she has only used it once elsewhere! Sure it's just coincidence .......

yoyof1
New Reviewer
7/12/13

I have been using this site for several years now and I have had a very good experience with them. All my payments have posted without a problem. Movies are all high quality, unless otherwise stated, and those are offered at a reduced rate. I have on occasion had technical issues and have emailed them and every single time, I've received a response within 24 hours. One time (ONLY once) I downloaded a movie that had some technical issues, when I wrote to let them know the movie had errors, they refunded my money for the download. That was a very nice surprise considering I didn't request the refund, I was just letting them know about the errors.

markd41
New Reviewer
1/11/13

I have been a user of this site for a couple of years. Deposit money when needed by CC, they top it up with freebies and I download movies and TV series regularly. Admittedly it's a bit tricky at first to get the right software sorted - I use Firefox with the plugin DownThemAll and it works fine. The selection of movies available is not totally comprehensive, but they have most of what I want at between $0-$2.00. I say go for it.

bradh16
New Reviewer
1/3/13

This site SUCKS!!!! most of the movies I have downloaded will not play all the way through. I have wasted $30 because that is the min that they will allow you to invest. I only put money into it because a friend recommended it to me. Most of the movies will not play all the way through because after 30 min the sound stops working. Then some of the movies will not download at all!!!! save your money. This is a hack!

os304
New Reviewer
9/28/12

This site is hosting movies they do not have a license for. It is illegal! If you join this website you can get into trouble. The same is true about movieberry.com

dianam11
New Reviewer
9/16/12

I have NEVER had a movie download completely!! Yet a friend has had no trouble. Very frustrating!!! Sit and watch a movie for 1 hour and 47 minutes only to have it stop. I've watched about 6 movies now never seeing the last 30 to 60 minutes!!
Seems to be no support as no one has ever responded to my emails to help,

jim354
New Reviewer
10/26/11

Used them for almost two years. Never had trouble with payments or downloading BUT sometimes it takes a while to download a full movie (1.4gig). Also note that "new" releases may be cam-corder versions but those are only .75 cents to download. When released the cost goes up to $1.50 or $2.00 Contrary to reviews, you can burn to DVD but you need to buy second party converters like convertXto dvd. simply a drag and drop process. Since I am disabled I get to see first runs wiothout the hassles I encounter when I go out. All in all, I like this service.

rainerr
New Reviewer
6/9/11

I am using filmous for more than a year and have never seen any problems. Downloads are available for some time after purchasing, if you use a good download manager (several work great) you will have no problems at all. Filmous offers different qualtities of a movie, so you know what you will get in advance !

km13
New Reviewer
4/13/11

"If" one can download the files, upon opening them one will discover they are "corrupted!"

As such, my recommendation is to NOT waste your time or money with filmous.com.

pf3
New Reviewer
2/12/11

Forgotten my password, they don't have a helpdesk that works or an automated reminder service, so i've lost my money. The film I did manage to download was really good though........

sebastienb
New Reviewer
12/30/10

Some early reviews are reporting problems but I used Filmous.com for all of 2010 and loved it. I had no problems with my credit card, did not receive any spam, Email support is slow but it works, I got refunded for every movies or TV shows that had problems. For downloading, remember: a movie is a BIG download, it's not easy; a reliable and high bandwidth is required. I recommend FlashGet (recommended by Filmous) as a download manager; it is not the fastest but I got the best results ( 90% success rate). Schedule your downloads outside peek entertainment hours to avoid problems. Do not download from work, it not fair for your employer and coworkers. I used a Pioneer CD/DVD player with DIVx capability and USB key and our family just loves it. Their movies selection is very extensive; some friends just can't believe I get movies you can't rent anywhere. Internet movie purchases is just beginning, it's not easy but the rewards are well worth the price and efforts. Byebye DVD rental store!

chantalm
New Reviewer
9/24/10

I have been trying to get my money out of filmous since January of this year. I've never been able to download anything watchable from them, and - despite assurances that my money (initially paid to Movieberry, then transferred to Filmous) would be refunded - I've had neither response nor refund from them.

dougc2
New Reviewer
9/6/10

I was reluctant to send money to Filmous (Movieberry) because of the bad reviews, and so many of them. I tried other sites that were all hype. IE 80,000 movies. They turned out to be old movies, like you would find at Walmart in the $1.00 bins. The Filmous Site kept drawing me back because of their excellent website and navigation. Low cost movies, in a number of formats. The previews are free, and the information is as complete as IMDB, but it's their own. Most movies have viewer comments and a neat feature is Karma where they kick back a little money in exchange for your review.
After about 3 month I finally bit the bullet and Joined with my Credit Card. I would have done this earlier if they had Paypal. A very clean transaction and a joining bonus. For 29.95 I got another $20.00 added to my online accrual. To my surprise I found that the Ipod size movies ($1.00) play full screen with good quality and even copy OK to DVD's.

I am well pleased with Filmous product and service.

In my opinion there is no way a DVD should cost $20 or $30 after the multi-million dollar release in the movie theatres. That's just Greedy!

pieterb
New Reviewer
8/6/10

Filmous - No problems with the actual downloading of movies etc but their payment site leaves a lot to be desired. Tried with 3 different credit cards at least 100 times. called each bank to find out if anything is wrong and was told no. Plenty of money on each card yet, each time my payment is refused. I've given up. Their loss, not mine.

Sort it Filmous or loose more business

jacksparrowf
New Reviewer
7/28/10

Am shocked to read of other peoples comments. Never had a problem downloading any of the films. Any complaints about the quality of the film, Filmous have always refunded me immediately without any hassle. Never been over charged on my credit card, so all in all a really good experience and good customer service. Company is actually in Cypress, not Russia.

benjaminh
New Reviewer
5/14/10

I am suprised by other reviewers comments and feel compelled to write, as the comments do not match the experience I have had. Joined Filmous over a year ago, as had become addicted to Breaking bad the TV show and couldn't find it anywhere. I had a bit of trouble downloading, but soon sorted this out by downloading ............(can't remember the name), which got rid of the breaks and also downloaded the programme that Filmous recommended for watching . They were a bit of work to set up and work out, especially as I am no techno expert, but neither of them cost anything and I now have trouble free viewing and downloading. Had a bit of trouble connecting to the website at one point, which was sorted out after I contacted Filmous, be email (a few days wait) and a refund was given, as their fault, not mine. At this point no unaccounted money has been taken from my card, however I am using a secure credit card, with special code that has to be used when funds are taken, so don't envisage that happening. I beleive this website is in Russia somewhere and I am in Sydney, so with the great distance between us, pretty good really.

kont
New Reviewer
3/24/10

Allegedly they give you unlimited downloads for 1 or 3 weeks. I paid and they took all my money; tried to contact them, no one answered. I didn't get the refund. I would avoid FILMOUS.COM and MOVIEBERRY.COM. Bunch of crooks, that is least I can say.

mudddr
New Reviewer
2/20/10

Filmous.com sucks! They have been charging my credit card long after the account was closed & now I have to cancel my credit card in order to stop the monthly charges! Stay away from filmous.com & movieberry.com, they are operated by the same Russian outfit. Filmous.com & Movieberry.com will both take your money & give little in return. Most of their files are low quality and many that they offer can NOT BE DOWNLOADED- but you will be charged anyway! Customer service does not exist at Filmous.com or Movieberry.com.
stay FAR AWAY!!! movieberry, movieberry.com, filmous, filmous.com, movie downloads

tomg3
New Reviewer
1/14/10

I've used this site to download movies for quite some time now. Often times, I've downloaded movies that have not yet been released to DVD. In all cases, I Have been very pleased with the result. I consider the quality of the downloaded movies excellent. Now, I do not watch the movies on the computer. I use a program called Convert X to DVD to burn a DVD of the downloaded movie and watch it on my TV. The only criticism I have is about the movie's soundtrack. It's perfectly clear and understandable, but it's not encoded in Dolby Surround; it's simply an MP3 format. In the last two days I have not been able to download from the site because as they describe it "technical errors" have shut down their server. They claim that they expect to be back in business on Jan. 15. For those of you who have trouble downloading from the site, try a good download manager. I use Flashget.

kellij
New Reviewer
1/5/10

This site is terrible! I learned about it through MP3Fiesta, which I have used for years (previously AllofMP3.com) with great sucess so I had high hopes for Filmous. Stupidly I purchased a membership for 70 US dollars. I have tried multiple times and have yet to be able to download a movie. Over the past three to four days the download does not even start. I continue to get a "server temporarily unavailable" message. I have sent multiple emails over the past several weeks to their tech support and have yet to get even one response. For $70 couldn't they at least respond to me? Steer clear of this site. It is garbage. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!

codyr
New Reviewer
1/4/10

You can rarely actually fully download a movie off of this website
! Every time I go to download a movie it only gets so far and then their server kills the download. I know, I know, all you techie whiz farts are thinking hey, this nim-whit probably doesn't know how to use his computer, or maybe he has an unreliable internet connection. Well, here's some news for ya, the site is crap, and I know computers like a niller wafer. Moral of the story, put that plastic back in your wallet and take some gosh darn advice from someone who knows a crap about crap.

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business