SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of Etsy

Etsy reviews

378 reviews
31%
Categories: Art, Crafts, Gifts
55 Washington St., 5th Floor
Brooklyn, NY 11201, USA
Tel: +1.7188557955
press@etsy.com
This business is not yet responding to reviews on SiteJabber. If this is your business claim it here.

378 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Review Highlights

niconal

We have loved everything we've ordered and received great customer service from all sellers on this site. (in 53 reviews)

athenae

(so no seller can steal your money without a punishment, and so no one does.)
(in 201 reviews)

tammys20

One shop was closed due to copyright issues while other shops sell the same items and are allowed to stay open. (in 139 reviews)

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

melindae2
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/29/15

From the excellent website photos, I expected beautiful jewelry. What I had not anticipated was the exquisite packaging. Every detail of the gift bag, gift-wrapped jewelry box, a label were particularly taseteful. Of course, upon opening these, the treasures were everything promised by the website.

Ask Melinda about Etsy
lg29
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/24/15

I place my order on a Friday from a particular seller and paid for faster delivery. That Monday she messages me saying she had no mailing address, which is impossible. After going back and forth, she cancelled my order without asking first, and I never received my product. VERY DISSATSFIED, WILL NEVER USE AGAIN.

Ask L about Etsy
jareda2
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/24/15

ALL T-SHIRTS ARE PROFESSIONALLY SCREEN PRINTED AND ARE ONLY$9!
THEY ALSO SELL SWEATSHIRTS,LONG SLEEVES,TANK TOPS, HOODIES AND AMERICAN APPAREL!

Ask Jared about Etsy
cecilem5
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/21/15

I ordered a pair of 1965 penny earrings and they were shipped immediately, the presentation box and care information were so helpful. The nicest pair of small earrings ( a gift from Blue Willow) came in the same shipment, which were perfect for my granddaughter's birthday next month. I highly recommend this artist and her prompt delivery. I give her 5 stars!

Ask Cecile about Etsy
patriciam56
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/12/15

I'm very pleased with the service super quick and exactly what I wanted. Can't wait to start mailing my invitations

Ask Patricia about Etsy
tracyc43
4 reviews
2 helpful votes
4/6/15

I absolutely love how this website has such a huge variety of creative goods! I also love that it encourages people to not only become entrepreneurs if they've ever thought about trying it, but that it also encourages people to buy locally and support individual artists.

As someone who has a shop on Etsy (Atomik Cupcake Designs), I do find that Etsy can be somewhat costly when you're first starting up. It costs 20 cents per listing on Etsy, and they stay up for four months or until the item is purchased, at which point it can be renewed for the same price. The site also takes a small percentage of the profit from your item, so it's good to know all this and plan accordingly. However, it is a great website to get your product out there because Etsy is relatively popular, and there is real potential for success if you have the right products and a little elbow grease!

Ask Tracy about Etsy
lucil36
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/4/15

Couldnt have asked for any better then this! Great customer service! Very nice and friendly! And got my invitation sooner then expected! Happy customer!

Ask LuCi about Etsy
jak715
11 reviews
5 helpful votes
4/1/15

I love to support artists, small boutiques, hobbyists and others who pursue their dreams backed up by skill and talent. That describes most of Etsy's stores. I've only been disappointed once and that was resolved to my satisfaction.

There are a number of vintage/antique stores that are run by knowledgeable shop owners and there are some that are just junk stores. I love the arts and like to support clever, talented artisans in many mediums. If the store look professional, delivers quality and good service - and the majority of them do - it is a great place to shop.

I don't like box stores or stores where you can buy the same rendition of something everyone else has. I like things that are unique. While Etsy has some stores that sell XXX rated items, you have the option in your account settings to keep those items from showing up on a search. I've spoken to some shop owners who are, let's say uneducated in the ways of courtesy and customer service but they have been few and far between. I can always use my dollar somewhere else and I do.

My home and garden are filled with examples of mosaics, charming birdhouses, art, crafts and fun vintage discoveries. My closet holds some rockin clothes I would never find anywhere but in a small boutique or Rodeo Drive. Jewelry!! Don't get me started - beautiful, quality, unique pieces. Collectibles. Skilled craftsmen with cool ideas for working with leather, metal, wood and other elements. Artisans rock my world.

I prefer Etsy over eBay for many items because they are concentrated and presented beautifully in specialized shops. You don't have to go through tons of listings or wait for auctions to end or have to guess about the seller. Etsy has several places you can read about the seller that gives you clues into how they think, what inspires their design or how dedicated they are to their craft.

I worry occasionally that Etsy may change and become too open to the world market. Recently they added manufacturers who can offer things at a bigger discount and are not true to their original promise of being a site for artisans. Shame on them - manufacturers are NOT artisans, they mass produce and use and abuse resources to bring cheaper products to the public at the cost of the environment. So I am skeptically keeping an eagle eye on the direction Etsy is taking in the future especially now that they will be on the stock exchange.

The only way a consumer can have even a tiny bit of control over what is brought into the public market is to vote with their dollar. Their spending power is all important in predicting what kind of market will thrive and the impact it will have on the resources we all share. I am a frequent buyer who has spent on an average of $7500 a year give or take a little for six years. I buy with a conscience when I shop and I encourage my friends and family to do the same.

Tip for consumers: Read, read, read. Every store has given the seller the ability to write about themselves and their commitment to their craft and their customers. Smart sellers get professional help in setting up their shops so that the shop banner, policies, pricing, presentation and descriptions fully represent their beliefs and their approach. Look for those things you want, but don't neglect a casual search through the thousands of other things. Etsy provides a cool option for buyers to keep favorite ite

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Sally about Etsy
hollyrosee
6 reviews
5 helpful votes
4/1/15

I tired to order "handmade parasol" from https://www.etsy.com/shop/TenebraeSancta I received a conformation email and then waited for my package and I waited...and I waited but it just never came I contacted her and she said she didn't know what had happened so she would make another one and ship it out which I thought was very suspicious, why would you not look into it if you had put all that work into it. So she said that she sent it out, by this time the etsy guidelines stating the returning and contacting of the customer service time frame had passed. Over 6wks later and it still didn't come. I contacted customer service and they were SO helpful. They told me it had never actual been shipped out so even though it was past the date of getting my refund they contacted the shop owner and I got all of my money back! It was almost a $100 so I was really freaking out this lady had run off with it. The woman I spoke to was very patient with me and understanding. Great customer service.

As for the website. I LOVE IT. You can find so many creative items you would never find anywhere else. I found a vintage nightmare before Christmas tee and fell in love with it. Theblackcatcloset is one of my favorite shops I've order from her a few times. Lovely vintage goth Jewlery. There is something for everyone. There are just some really shady shops, you have to be careful.

Tip for consumers: Make sure you check out the sellers reviews and sales before you make purchase.

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
Ask Tiny about Etsy
denisev5
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/1/15

I have had 4 sales on my Etsy shop. I would consider it a success since it is a new shop. I have of the 4 sales had to refund 2 because of problems dealing with check out. This last time I got a message that my item sold but that I did not receive the money. How can that even happen? I emailed customer service to ask just that and got no reply. The customer really wanted the item and needed it right away so I finally had them send me the money via Paypal and shipped them the item. Now I will probably get a ban but looks like Etsy is fairly a joke anyway.

Tip for consumers: I would suggest finding another shop or at least a back up.

Service
Value
Ask Denise about Etsy
paulinec12
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/19/15

Due to misguided information and rude and unprofessional behaviour of SHERATON on the falls Management team. During my stay on February 14th 2015 my family and I booked two rooms for two days. In addition, we received two breakfast vouchers per day that can be used during our stay, however I have been billed for breakfast where I used two breakfast vouchers per day. I called SHERATON on the falls to explain that the bill presented to me must be discharged since I presented breakfast vouchers to the restaurant staff for free breakfast. A call was then returned by the assistant general manager who had informed me that there will be no refund because " I should know better ". From my previous visits to SHERATON on the falls, there has been several changes made with their services, but I strongly believe that it is not up to me to know everything that is being changed at the Sheraton and if I was given two vouchers per day from the front deck attendant, they are the ones who should know better since its their responsibility to give out the right information. explaining to the assistant general manager that it wasn't fair to be billed for breakfast that I had vouchers for, the assistant general manager went even further and said that he will cancel all my upcoming stays at the Sheraton on the falls because I am not satisfied with their services. It is to my understanding that recurring customers are to be treated with more care as they are the ones who are constantly attending the hotel and speaks highly about the services that is being received. With the rude and unprofessional behaviour of the assistant general manager, I feel that I am not being treated as a customer especially since he is trying to neglect a valued customer by telling me he is going to cancelled all my upcoming stays with Sheraton on the falls. The staff at Sheraton on the falls need to be properly trained on knowing the changes so incidents like this one won't occur and if mistakes like this continue to happen, the staff are the one who should be held accountable and not the customer. To continue the assistant general manager should also rethink his strategy with dealing with customer since I str felt he was trying to expel me as a customer. once again, I do appreciate the service that Sheraton on the falls have given my family, but if I have to pay for breakfast that I hav received free vouchers for and treated like a I valued person then I do not feel comfortable to ever return to the Sheraton on the falls.

Tip for consumers: Be very careful to check credit card statement

Service
Value
Ask pauline about Etsy
wonge4
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
3/19/15

It was exactly what I asked for! The details on the dress are amazing. It looks exactly like the picture. They did a great job at getting the dress to me in a timely manner.

Ask Wong about Etsy
senais
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/17/15

I ordered five different things from five different sellers. Two of the items (the expensive ones) didn't look anything at all like the pictures that were posted online. And one item was never shipped. That's basically stealing. I'm currently having a hard time getting anyone to help with a refund. Don't waste your time or money!

Tip for consumers: Stay Away!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Senai about Etsy
honeste
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/16/15

This is the first time I ever encountered this problem!!! I bought an item from VACHETA on etsy but I did not recieve my item! There were a few 5 stars reviews so I thought it was a good seller. At least that's what I thought! At the time my order was supposed to arrive, it didn't! I was a bit confused, thinking there might be a delay in immigrations or customs. The next day, I went on the VACHETA shop and looked at the reviews. And LO AND BEHOLD! The item I bought is reviewed on the day it supposed to arrive!!!! I'm also not Korean!!!! But the last few words are in korean. I did not review the item as I was the only one that knows I bought the item. I'm very furious and filed a report to etsy. Hope they can respond soon.

Ask Honest about Etsy
franw4
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/16/15

I recently purchased some leather goods from Lockaloos Leather and I love each one. I purchased the I pad cover, key fob and mouse pad and they are so pretty. All the pieces I purchased are so well made, so soft and smell so good. I give this craftsman a 5 stars rating!!! I will surely purchase more items from Lockaloos Leather in the near future. Thank you!!!

Tip for consumers: You won't be disappointed! You can not beat the shipping charge, I've never seen it so low on any other site! It shipped out in less than 5 days and was the easiest site I've ever used to order anything on line!!! 100 per cent pleased all the way around!!

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Ask Fran about Etsy
shirleym32
7 reviews
16 helpful votes
3/15/15

I love to sell on Etsy. They are so helpful and it is so easy. The fees are affordable and the shops look great. There are great groups to help promote your shop. It is a delight to be part of the Etsy community.

I also love buying there all the great handmade items and old vintage items in all the different stores. Just overall a great place.

Tip for consumers: Know you are buying from different individuals and some in different countries. Read the descriptions, ask questions and enjoy buying on Etsy.

If you are selling you will love it, give it a try, it is a great place to sell.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Shirley about Etsy
reznam
1 review
7 helpful votes
3/14/15

Terrible site. The Etsy support team SUCKS. My shop was suspended for inaccurate/false reasons since DECEMBER 2014 and they will not write back to my emails. They ignore me on Twitter @Etsyhelp. NO HELP AT ALL. You cannot be a business owner or be successful with this site if all they do is close real handmade shops and keep the mass product shops up. The Etsy admins have the power over artisans that have a shop on the site. They promote about becoming entrepreneurs and building your own business . But how can any of us do that if there is no help? We spent a lot of time, money and dedication to our shops and for them to just go around and shut stores down for false reasons they will not take accountable for is just heart breaking. These Etsy Admins have the power to destroy or help build our future, our lives are based on there decisions to have us live our dream.
You can go to the office in brooklyn and they will lie to you and tell you they can't help you there when you SEE the admins walking in.

Tip for consumers: Do not sell on this site if your an artisan, It has happened to me and many others.

Service
Ask Rezna about Etsy
jenc16
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/14/15

I purchased a watch from DOWOODwatch for my partner for Christmas. It arrived damaged, and was cheaply made. I contacted the seller and was told to ship it back and that I would get a full refund. I have done this, and am now out of pocket for the watch, additional shipping and the seller is not responding. I tried to report the seller, who seems to no longer be on the website. I can't even get Etsy on the phone. Anyone who is thinking about buying from them should have a look at the laundry list of complaints about them on the Better Business Bureau website. If you plan to buy from them, just be aware that you may be on your own if the product isn't what you think it is.

Ask Jen about Etsy
normal1
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
3/12/15

Etsy can be a very profitable site to sell on but beware as there are some serious pitfalls.

I would advise any seller to have a fall back plan as Etsy can be very unforgiving if you break one of their rules. They are very arbitrary in applying them as they will let off some shops (eg for reselling) but penalize others for just one non vintage item which mistakenly creeps in.

If you search Google you will see that Etsy has a very bad reputation for this.

Another negative is that their forums are run in a very unprofessional way by semi literate "hipsters" who can often misunderstand words and phrases used in other cultures. Then the writer gets banned from the forums for a period, or even premanently for the kinds of petty infringements which would not even be infringements on other forums. Moreover this means you cannot even post in the "bugs" section or on the Etsy blog - both of which can be a real disadvantage in running your business.

All these online sites have their petty spineless snitches but snitching is a fine art on Etsy. These creatures are given to much power and credence and often operate in groups to take down shops of sellers who are competitors. In some ways its like a cross between Nazi Germany and Soviet Russia.

Having said all this its possible to make good money on Etsy if you have a unique product on which you can make a good margin. Just dont get involved in the politics of the site.

The ratings I have given below are for Etsy as a site, since it is a platform for independent sellers.

Tip for consumers: My advice would be not to post in the forums or get too involved with other sellers. Just keep to the rules, keep your head down and run your own business.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Norma about Etsy
paulag12
7 reviews
2 helpful votes
3/9/15

This is a great site to find just about anything and also very unique, handmade gifts. Even furniture. I like the rustic look, trunk tables, etc. And there are several "shop owners" that make anything you want. Sometimes the shipping is more than the product when it comes to furniture, but not always.

Ask Paula about Etsy
sherryb15
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/3/15

Ordered a wreath from HollyWoodNVines, order was shipped with missing LSU plague. Was not informed of the problem. Called the day I received it & was promised that they would rectify the problem, never happened, called 3 more times no answer. E-mailed & again was promised a plague was in the mail. Never happened. Got in touch with Etsy
insisted I 'open a case" Unable to open a case since I cannot send a photo of said wreath. As I have gifted the wreath. Really disappointed. Will never buy from Etsy again. Poor service.

Tip for consumers: Don't buy from Etsy, they will not resolve problems if you can't send a photo,

Ask sherry about Etsy
breannar2
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
3/3/15

I've had a shop on etsy for years now and have purchased from there for even longer. It has it's ups n downs.
If you just look at it as a platform to get your small biz running....a cheap starting place. It's wonderful. New sellers DO have a bit of a learning curve...got to learn photography, SEO, how to promote yourself but this is all things a new seller anywhere will have to learn.
Etsy started my company ( untamedrose.com ) out and gave me a chance to grow. For that I will always be thankful. BUT They are also really bad at all the "extra" stuffs they promise like "support" "getting hold of them" "education" So dont "rely" on them for such.

Lot of the reviews here really are about the wrong company........there are tons of great sellers/companies on etsy....and some really Blah ones to down right scams. Buyer beware as always check That companies reviews, read the listing, and ask Q's. A good seller will have no problem answering them. :)

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Breanna about Etsy
gerardov1
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/28/15

Esty took my money refused to give money to merchant and now they refuse to refund me my money there theives

Ask Gerardo about Etsy
sunnyf1
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/28/15

Every buyer I've bought from has beautiful packaging and my favorite items come from Etsy. If you are unsure about a seller, check their individual ratings and reviews. Otherwise, highly recommend. There are many reasons to support small businesses and buy vintage :)

Tip for consumers: Contact your buyer and check their reviews.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Sunny about Etsy
astak1
1 review
6 helpful votes
2/18/15

No protection against fraud. I bought a necklace for one of my bridesmaids from "Sharies." The necklace came broken, and when I returned it she was rude bordering on cruel and she:
1) denied it was broken
2) Told me that it was my fault if the necklace was broken because she posted an image of it
3) Told me that I did not know how the clasp worked and that's why I thought it was broken
4) Told me if it was broken, the mistake happened in shipping
5) Told me there was no possibility of returns and I should have thought of that before I bought a necklace from her
6) Told me I had no recourse for reporting internet fraud because she clearly states on her Etsy page that she accepts NO RETURNS
I can see why

Tip for consumers: Don't buy from "Sharies" because they sell you broken jewelry and you can't return it

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Ask Asta about Etsy
patriciah31
3 reviews
8 helpful votes
2/18/15

At times, I have kept a shop on etsy.com and have used etsy.com for unique purchases for years but their more recent customer service is appalling. With the addition of their new app, they are refusing to allow customers to choose how they will pay for items. They REQUIRE the use of Pay Pal if you have a Pay Pal account. Since this is 2015 and I am residing in the USA, I have the RIGHT to pay how I wish. In addition, there is nowhere on the etsy site that allows one to provide them with feedback or to ask them questions. This is a current national trend and it signals consumers that the company has become too concentrated on GREED. Finally, much like ebay, the sellers on etsy.com charge exceedingly high shipping fees to disguise the true price of their items, a dishonest and unethical trick at best. Most people use etsy.com because it is a way for artists to market their goods without high fees and overhead. This turn toward the dark side SHOULD cause artists and concerned others to look elsewhere.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Ask Patricia about Etsy
ls53
4 reviews
0 helpful votes
2/18/15

This has become my go-to for nearly all gifts and fun self-purchases. They seem to have everything imaginable under the sun, and you feel like you're supporting a humyn being rather than some monstrosity aka corporation.

Ask L about Etsy
maryb156
1 review
5 helpful votes
2/18/15

Etsy support team members should really get themselves jobs elsewhere as they are champions with being slow, ignorant and poorly trained. But if this is what the Etsy management wants, then they have reached the goal. My messages take weeks of not months to respond, never contain anything helping and in 100% it is brushing me off their laziest shoulder. Shame on you, guys, and may you have the same attitude from everyone when you need help.

Tip for consumers: since I am not able to influence the support level I cannot advise of anything better but being aware and trying to stay away from it, it really sucks.

Service
Ask Mary about Etsy
cindyb41
7 reviews
0 helpful votes
2/10/15

I've read some pretty terrible reviews for Etsy, but luckily I have not experienced any issues. Just ordered something for a friend and asked if it could be sent a few days before their est. shipping date. The seller was very sweet and I got my item WAY faster than expected. Love Etsy.

Ask Cindy about Etsy
sues50
12 reviews
11 helpful votes
2/1/15

I have been a seller on this site for over a year now. I think it's a great community and I have nothing but good things to say as both a seller and as a buyer of Etsy products!

Tip for consumers: Make sure you are clear as to what you are buying. If the Seller does not have a clear photo of the item you wish to purchase ask for her/him to provide you with one. Also ask about the size of the item if the Seller has not disclosed this in her listing. You should also never pay more than what the actual shipping cost is to the Seller. Ask if you will be reimbursed for shipping overages if the shipping quote turns out to be less than expected.

Ask Sue about Etsy
hillaryp
1 review
11 helpful votes
2/1/15

Please read my seller review. I have sadly been a seller on Etsy since 2012. They have taken over $4000 in seller fees and continue to bill me for a closed shop. They have something called "Direct Checkout". This is where a buyer will pay me and Etsy holds the money for 5 working days. This is an escrow company that just makes money on our money. There is an 877 number to call that rang for over 17 minutes. No live chat, no actual human answering phones. Stay away!

Tip for consumers: Stay away from Etsy.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Hillary about Etsy
richylh
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/21/15

Etsy is hard to review overall as you are buying from individual people,so like anything you get some good,some bad and some in between. I did have 2 items that were never shipped and their shop was shut down. I filed a claim through paypal, was refunded the money. You can get some great stuff but you have to do your homework. Read the reviews,I don't buy from people with under 100 reviews unless I have previously bought things from them before,check their join dates,really look at the pictures,if there is only 1 I usually won't buy from them. Read the descriptions and the store policies. Overall I really enjoy Etsy and have found some great and unique things but you need to do your research to make sure you're buying from someone legit.

Tip for consumers: Always read reviews before buying!

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Ask Richyl about Etsy
jenniferd46
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/18/15

This website is hard to give a full review on seeing as its shipping from the stores themselves. But for me I have been lucky to get the good ones. My orders come within a timely matter and the whole process is just wonderful. I think that it is a grest website.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Ask Jennifer about Etsy
cindyd17
1 review
24 helpful votes
1/16/15

What Etsy did to me: I had a very lucrative shop with 100% positive feedback, selling herbal supplies such as tinctures and herbal smoke blends. I had spent over 2 years building my shop up, promoting Etsy, and working on orders night and day to deliver excellent service. I took out a business loan to help build my business/Etsy shop.

Than, out of the blue one day they shut my shop down with zero explanation. After tons of emails, they have NO customer service/seller service phone number, I got a response telling me that "herbal items with medical claims" were now "prohibited". WHAT?! There are TONS of sellers selling tinctures claiming all sorts of medical problems things their tinctures are for, there are TONS of sellers selling herbal smokes and now vapors!

After spending several weeks going back and forth they finally told me they would reopen my shop if I took out all "phrasing of medical claims". So, of course, I agreed, my income was instantly gone and we were suffering a great hardship financially! Once all my listings had been revised they took their sweet time reinstating my shop but it was too late, the damage was done! All of my listings and photos had to be redone, the time it took for everything to be done sent my customers elsewhere and my shop was DONE! I was unable to make payments on my business loan, it fell into collections, my sales and income dropped by 75%, my other bills also fell behind and went into collections and we finally had to file bankruptcy!

My Etsy shop was singled out and shut down on the basis of "selling prohibited items" while TONS of other shops were and still are allowed to remain open selling so called "prohibited" items. I have reported many of these shops and items to Etsy yet these shops and items remain!

Etsy stole my life, my income and my credit! After I spent 2 years doing nothing but paying them high fees and promoting them! These "people" at Etsy are unconscionable. They are unfair, there "policies" only apply to some, not all. They do what ever they want to whom ever they want with ZERO regard for their sellers!

I HATE Etsy! They SICKEN me! I would love nothing more than a class action lawsuit to be brought against them!

If you are thinking of opening a shop, BEWARE! Don't make the same mistake I did....making Etsy your sole site...open your own website as well...that way if they decide to arbitrarily shut down your shop one day out of the blue with ZERO warning or explanation you won't be screwed out of your sole source of income.

My experience was a few years ago, when it was still possible to open an Etsy shop and expect it to do reasonably well selling "handmade", "handcrafted" , "organic" items. As of 2015 Etsy is nothing more than a heavy promoter of cheap Chinese imports being touted as "handmade". There are simply too many products diluting the site...fat chance your handmade item will ever be seen! The site is now completely "bastardized". DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY PROMOTING ETSY! USE YOUR MONEY TO BUILD YOUR OWN WEBSITE AND PROMOTE YOURSELF!!!!!!!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Cindy about Etsy
robinn15
1 review
5 helpful votes
1/12/15

Don't purchase from merchant retronana. She elects to not track her packages and refuses to compensate for lost packages or to show proof that it has been sent.

Tip for consumers: Read all the fine prints and reviews first. Also know that if you leave a review the seller can reply and you will not be able to respond.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Ask robin about Etsy
mainel
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/8/15

I only purchase from this website when I come across something I really want to buy, e.g. book merchandise (I'm a bookworm). I've had about three experiences with different sellers. The first 2 sellers were polite and helpful, and my items arrived as promised. The last seller I dealt with, was quite abrupt (he replied curtly and I felt annoyed with him) and I felt quite uneasy about making a purchase from him so I backed out of the deal as politely as I could.

Given the fact that this is a marketplace, I would say that not all sellers are bad. But there are plenty of scammers around too. You should be extremely careful about who you purchase from.

Tip for consumers: If you ever purchase from this website, please do research on the seller's credibility (although it's difficult to, because I'm not sure if the bad reviews get posted). Also, I saw a lot of items that were ridiculously overpriced (at least 4-5 times more expensive), so please make sure proper research is made, so you don't get ripped off. If you get scammed, chances are Etsy would be absolutely useless when you ask them for help. Plus, use PayPal.

Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Maine about Etsy
jaimef7
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/7/15

I've mostly had good experiences with Etsy. However, I'd definitely be careful. I've had 2 semi-bad experiences. I always recommend reading their descriptions, to see it they sound knowledgeable, and check their credentials. I also check their reviews, & you might even want to e-mail former customers. Obviously, at website like Etsy, people making handmade crafts will vary in skill. Never trust a product that only has 1 photo of it, or a jeweler that can't identify the gemstones they used. Always communicate with the seller before buying their products, and ask them questions. That said, most of my dealings with Etsy have been good. Also, 1 of the 2 sellers that I was semi-disappointed with, they were happy to give me a refund. Sometimes products look better in the photo, sometimes they look better in person.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Jaime about Etsy
ricqw
1 review
9 helpful votes
1/5/15

WHAT CUSTOMER SERVICE? HOW CAN THIS COMPANY POSSIBLE SCALE WHEN THERE IS NO, REPEAT NO CUSTOMER SUPPORT.....

Tip for consumers: cavet emptor

Service
Value
Shipping
Ask ricq about Etsy
janies8
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/5/15

My first order was from Mentis 1987 And not what i was expecting, Description on product said it was sterling silver Not true. The chain was silver but the pendant is not ,don't buy from this person they are not selling what they advertise

Tip for consumers: don't buy any silver products from from this people,Only the chain was silver

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Ask janie about Etsy
karenh60
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/2/15

Buyer Beware, worst online experience ever. Lindsey from Etsy Modernmama sent a $300 Christmas order to the wrong address, when asked to assist to fix the problem she shifted all the blame to me the customer which is very unfortunate. The idea of the product is good, quality is ok but the service, shipping QA, refunds and value are not worth the purchase.

Tip for consumers: Buyer beware, customer service is more than lacking.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Karen about Etsy
marshk
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/2/15

They just ripped me off. I purchased 3 cards of Lady Ellen hair clips. They charged me $12.00 plus shipping and only sent me one card. Only 8 hair clips on a card. I tried to complain to them and they wouldn't even accept my complaint. This is a real rip off. I can't even contact them. Don't ever use this website.

Tip for consumers: Don't use this website.

Ask Marsh about Etsy
annah57
1 review
11 helpful votes
12/28/14

I've been selling on etsy a long time. My sales have been terrible no one can find my listings. When you look for something handmade its mixed with the vintage. I've spent a lot of time trying to figure it out. I advertised to bump up my products so someone would find them . I sold 1 thing at Christmas and they are returning it. I see others with products that aren't as good as mine for more money. Clearly there is a pecking order I'm real sick of it . The site is very disorganized. their listing categories suck they don't listen and aren't doing anything to make it better. BTW I make my living online but can't seem to sell much on etsy

Tip for consumers: bring your patience with you.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Anna about Etsy
angiel10
1 review
7 helpful votes
12/26/14

I really liked an item and wanted to buy it. For 2 days I tried to use their payment process, PayPal, but it was not working. You can not contact Etsy. The email that I sent, asking for help, was answered with the suggestion to “contact the seller”. I did and after 4 days, agreed to send a Money Order to the seller. You can guess the rest of the story. The seller took the $377.00, cancelled his Etsy account and his cell phone number. Etsy said they couldn’t help me because I had not used PayPal…..but Etsy, I tried for 4 days!!!! Etsy has ignored the entire issue and was not willing to give any forwarding info or any help so that I could try to re-coup my money. It has been reported to the police. There is no support for the buyer. Beware!

Tip for consumers: Be careful. If their PayPal does not work, keep shopping anywhere except Etsy!!!

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
Ask Angie about Etsy
debl7
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/23/14

I am a seller on Etsy for the last 4 months. Just recently was contacted by their product integrity department saying I need to change my gift baskets despite the fact they are the same as hundreds of other sellers. They are saying my baskets are not handmade despite the fact I hand make every basket. No gift basket has all handmade items items in in especially food items and I have seen plenty of sellers on there doing the same thing. I believe it is selective persecution although I do believe it is a good sight for getting your product sold. Sellers beware this can happen and I have seen other reviews about this. No gift basket is totally handmade and trying to get a seller to change things in their gift baskets is limiting their business creativeness. Allowing everyone to sell things not totally handmade but targeting certain ones is unfair so sellers beware in the Gift Basket category.

An update to the review 4/22/15.
I recently did a search on Etsy of gift baskets and have found some that were filled with items not handmade. I went back and cautiously added items to my gift baskets and reposting the photos. Well, as of 4/22/15 my store has now been closed permanently for selling filled gift baskets like everyone else. An empty basket does not sell and is just a decorated basket not a gift basket. Apparently Etsy is strict with some sellers and not others so sellers of Gift Baskets beware!!! You will not be selling gift baskets on there just decorated baskets. Sell at your own risk on there!!! There are plenty of other non discriminating sites that will allow you to be creative with your gift baskets. Etsy is not the only site to sell and certainly not the fairest having forgotten what made them as big as they are - "the little businesses". I'm sure they would not close a shop making them big money percentages so unless you have more than Gift Baskets I would definitely think twice about selling on there!

Tip for consumers: Sellers of gift baskets heads up you may encounter this problem from Etsy

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Deb about Etsy
at399
6 reviews
5 helpful votes
12/20/14

I buy things there all the time,so far it has been good.Only once did I not have a good exchange with someone who took money and I never heard from him again.But it was only a small amount so I will chalk that one up to learning a lesson.But other wise good site.

Tip for consumers: Try it for yourself.Just be careful.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask a about Etsy
brendonm12
6 reviews
15 helpful votes
12/17/14

This website is hard to rate, as everything on it is handmade and very unique. That being said, I have ordered from them 3 times, trying to be fair. I have had 2 horrendous experiences and one uneventfully average time. The sellers for the most part are quick to ship, once I was VERY upset because an image of something I bought was radically different from what I received (color, size, weight etc) only to message the seller and NEVER getting any answer. I cannot trash the whole website I may have just had a couple bad experiences. I will still look around from time to time, might buy something else I like but for now, MEH

Tip for consumers: Just be sure to read and REREAD everything posted about the item BEFORE you buy it, to avoid any mishaps.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Brendon about Etsy
jayj35
1 review
6 helpful votes
12/15/14

Believe it or not if you thought ebay has alot of fake / counterfeit merchandise than stay off of est.com. Just do a search of "cc" brooch, pin, ribbon, bracelet, earrings, even REPLICA and you will see tons of counterfeit Chanel merchandise. I have tried reported these counterfeit items through the "report item" button on etsy and even writing to etsy's supposed marketing integrity department but etsy REFUSES to remove any counterfeit merchandise on their site. Since the sale of counterfeit merchandise is illegal and etsy REFUSES to remove these items, etsy should be held culpable. Shame on you etsy.com

Ask Jay about Etsy
jerrys41
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
12/15/14

They do not honor scheduled order shipment dates. I am 5 weeks into a placed order with no ship date yet despite several broken promises.

Tip for consumers: Do not use this site or trust this shipper

Service
Shipping
Ask Jerry about Etsy
nigelt6
1 review
5 helpful votes
12/14/14

Be VERY careful about using this website!
We found product description (earrings) misleading in that an antique was strongly implied but what was received was cheap modern. Similar things are available almost anywhere. We paid GBP £36 but US parcel carried customs declaration value (by sender) of USD $9.99 which is approx max GBP£7 at current exchange rate.
Attempted to return goods (as is our right under UK Distance Selling), but no reply to email.
US supplier had originally made preposterous claim that the nature of the goods meant no return would be possible. Because ETSY has what purports to be a UK website (and thus, registration), and because we were paying in GBP£, we stupidly assumed ETSY UK would properly abide by Distance Selling customs.
...should have known better.
The goods we want to return are absolutely unused and pristine in every detail in original unmarked packaging. Goods are fit for resale without contest.

We have ZERO RESPONSE to attempted communications.
For ourselves, we shall NEVER deal with ETSY again....and suggest you think twice.

Tip for consumers: Be very careful!

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Ask Nigel about Etsy
shyt
2 reviews
11 helpful votes
12/5/14

I ordered and paid for my item promply, after a week I sent numerous messages to the seller in regards to when my item would be sent, after another week they responded that they were sorry about the delay and would send it, after almost a third c week he or she finally sent it but the tracking number is still in the same area after another 5 days! Iron icky the seller is no longer a seller and etsy wants me to try and work it out with the seller! Well I'm still being redirected to a seller that no longer exist! No money and no irem!!!

Tip for consumers: Be prepared to have an awesome ride on a Faris wheel!!!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Ask shy about Etsy

4 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Etsy staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
Q: Hi, I just found the etsy website n was curious if anyone knew from experience how etsy WALLSKINS r...?
3/3/13
Answer
bernardinav
A: I'm not sure what u mean by authentic? I wouldn't recommend Etsy anyway, I didn't get the article agreed upon, sent it back but the seller refused to refund though she initially agreed it might be a mistake, and no help at all from Etsy. Just lots and lots of e-mails.
2 days ago
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
Q: are the products authentic on etsy?
3 days ago
Answer
tracyq3
A: I would have to say no, with LOTS of exceptions. In the past few years Etsy has allowed business to claim handmade if it meets certain criteria. I often see many items that claim to be handmade but I have seen them on Alibaba being sold in bulk. That being said I look very closely and have purchased some wonderfu items from great sellers. The biggest problem with Etsy is that they no longer protect customers from fraud (they say they are not liable) but in doing that lots and lots or resellers and counterfeit items have saturated Etsy' s marketplace. I would never buy anything "vintage" there. What I have seen you are getting thrift store rejects or modern fake. Buyer beware! Investigate all vendors carefully!!
3 days ago
Helpful answer
2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
Questions? Get answers from the Etsy staff and other consumers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • From where do products ship?

8 Photos for Etsy

From reviewers

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Etsy?
Post Review